We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lyceum Tavern

Lyceum Tavern
Ranked #3,767 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Trafalgar Square / Embankment
NC
Level Contributor
123 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

This pub is a great find on the Strand in London, especially considering the prices of many restaurants in this area. On a recent trip to London, and staying in this area, my spouse and I went here for supper our last night in town. Surprisingly, there were a few tables available upstairs. You go to a table yourself, look over the menu, then go to the bartender to place your order. What a great place to relax with a beer, and wait for your food to be served to you. We both had the steak and ale pie, with accompanying vegetables. It's not food from the Ritz, but it's great pub food. Too, the ambience is very comfortable. Upstairs there are two windows overlooking the Strand. Just a great place to get out of the hectic street noise and traffic, and enjoy hearty food and a wonderful ale.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TakesTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    84
    29
    7
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great pub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

My sister brought me here on a recent visit to London and I have to say, I absolutely love the place! The landlord and landlady are such a good laugh and very friendly and the rest of the staff were lovely too. I had a brie, spinach and cranberry wellington to eat which was delicious as well as filling. I even went to have the same meal again before travelling home. The choice of beers were great - we sampled several (!) and they were all very tasty. The prices were similar to what I'd pay for things in Cardiff so I thought everything was excellent value for money with being in London. I can't wait to come back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank princess_valo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Leeds local prices in London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

As a Samuel Smith pub they charge pretty much the same prices as we get in our Samuel Smith pub in Morley near Leeds. Staff were very friendly and quickly brought our food - once reminded however! We brought the rest of the family later in the evening as we liked it so much.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TudorLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Excellent prices, excellent beer and excellent food! im from portugal so everything in london, to me, seems too expensive.. until i find this pub!! great price/quality

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice typical English pub!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Good find, we were staying nearby. Busy London pub, very reasonably priced wine & beer, refreshing change from the other pubs nearby in Covent Garden that seem to charge what they like for average wine & beer.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johnchristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lyceum Tavern also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Lyceum Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing