We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
London Premier Walking Tours
Save
Review Highlights
Fabulous Underground Treasure Hunt

We participated in an Underground Treasure Hunt as a group of 7 friends. We had an absolute blast... read more

Reviewed 14 October 2018
Loulou174
,
London, United Kingdom
Friends day out

7 of us did the treasure hunt on Saturday and really enjoyed it. I liked that you see parts of the... read more

Reviewed 17 September 2018
wflintstone
,
Leeds
via mobile
Read all 234 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around London
from US$18.50
More Info
from US$32.00
More Info
from US$43.70
More Info
from US$88.20
More Info
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
183
37
6
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
37
6
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews treasure hunt jack the ripper tour cryptic clues prize giving london treasure green park station great fun tube map subject matter taking photos birthday present few hours challenges cliffs master knowledge facts
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2016

My wife and I went on the underground treasure hunt. We were given it as a voucher.

First of all they don't set a good impression - it's a very unprofessional webpage

comic sans, multiple colours, bold, underline, highlighting different colours, clipart directly out of Word 1997, the list of dates is very hard to read - no idea why this isn't in a calendar or something sensible. It's very hard to read the whole thing.

They have a hotmail.co.uk email address... and it auto replies with a 'Holiday reply' subject (even though they're not on holiday) email with another bunch of crazy formatted information.

When we finally made the booking via email, manually, had to go back and forward to find an available date, as that is the only way, we got another crazy formatted email with colours, fonts, bold/italic/underline everywhere, and lots of information in brackets for some reason, whole paragraphs. Too much information, and not clear enough.

We arrived 15 minutes early, got all the questions on yet another multi coloured multi font multi formatted multi font-size all-centred document.

They clearly need some branding and communication cleanup.

The man spoke very fast, but we understood him, don't think people from abroad would though.

The actual quiz to get to the right stations, or right part of a station, do require some local knowledge, or UK knowledge generally. One question was what is East Midlands English for a boring person, no googling would help, it turns out they meant Square, as in Leicester Square station. Square has nothing to do with East Midlands English, everyone refers to Square as boring.. so that got us very confused for a long time; but I guess that's quizzes for you!

Finding things in the stations and agent alex thing was fun, taking photos of strangers doing things - of which is about 1/4 of the questions - was a bit daunting, and if you're an introvert you're probably not going to enjoy that bit.

If you're out to actually win, good luck, as you're up against the types who go form quiz night to quiz night. The prizes were the tacky cheap London tourist pens, tea towels, coasters, keyrings; but I was expecting that as I guess the price didn't matter as it was more the experience. Although most people that were there were English / from London so not sure what they were going to do with it all.

I would say go in a big group to make it more fun.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LPWT, Manager at London Premier Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2016

Dear Christian,

Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review. We do value all feed back and use it to ever improve our events.

Your review does focus a lot on which font we use etc which we feel is very peripheral to the Treasure Hunt experience itself, however we will take the time to address all of your points.

We are of course disappointed that The London Underground Treasure Hunt did not meet your expectations, but your perception of it is very different to thousands of people who have greatly enjoyed it over the last 4 years, and this enjoyment is reflected in the glowing reviews of it that can be seen on all pages of our Trip Advisor reviews.

At the end of the Treasure Hunt you came on, teams were spontaneously applauding each other as the results were being announced and prizes were being handed out, and a number of teams came forward and thanked the Master of The Hunt for a great experience and shook his hand. This happens on all Treasure Hunts that we have ever done.

I will cover the actual Treasure Hunt points you made first, and then the font and email etc points that you made second.

The clue you described *was* the most difficult of the 9 challenges teams had to solve and even when teams found Leicester Square tube station there were still 3 or 4 more stages to solve to find the end object, which was an historical London object just outside of the station.

But the clue was not exactly as you stated, it was "find the station that describes a boring person from the East Midlands of England". The clue was solvable, but yes it was difficult. Of the 9 challenges about 3 are relatively easy, 3 are a bit tricky, 2 tricky and 1 very tricky. About 20% of teams solved The Leicester Square challenge, which is about what we would expect.

We agree with you that a team without anyone in it from the UK may find one or two of the challenges more difficult, but this is tempered by teams being allowed to Google information on their phones. But we have had teams from Spain, Italy, France, Russia, USA, Australia and many other countries previously win the Treasure Hunt, as well as numerous teams who are from various parts of the UK, who are non Londoners.

The reason why about 1/4 of the challenges are interactive and not clue or location driven is to even things out for non Londoners, to provide a variety of challenges rather than just have clue based challenges, and to make it so that the Treasure Hunt champions need to have a variety of skills and strengths to triumph. This formula of a mixture of types of clues and challenges within each Treasure Hunt has worked very well and has been greatly enjoyed by Treasure Hunters.

As you saw, we even give very nice bonus prizes specifically for one of the interactive challenges, which means that sometimes a team will maybe not score highly overall but will still go away with a top prize for the bonus interactive challenge that they excelled in.

Regarding the prizes we award. What you said is not accurate. The prizes are not cheap and tacky. All teams won a minimum of a London drinks coaster set and a novelty Keep Calm in London shot glass (approx value £4). The top 10 teams in addition to this won an official London Underground Key Ring (also worth £4)

The top 4 teams won all of this plus large prize bags which included the tea towels you mentioned, but these were also official London Underground Tea Towels not cheap at all, as well as London Underground Mugs and T-Shirts and a variety of other gifts such as branded purses and much more.

We spend hundreds of pounds on prizes for every week's Treasure Hunt and teams are pretty amazed at the volume, variety and quality of prizes that we give. We could give far, far less prizes and the event would still be excellent, but we want every team to leave with prizes and the top 4 to receive a big volume of nice prizes. Sure, about 50% of teams are Londoners, so with this in mind a lot of the prizes are practical and cool, as well as being London Underground and London themed.

The London ballpoint pen you mentioned is not one of the prizes, it is a complimentary pen given to teams at the start so that they can make notes if they wish on their clue sheets, although it does have a value of about £1.

All kinds of people of all different types of problem solving and quizzing abilities take part and the scores at the end reflect this, with a wide variety of scores. We are not attracting loads of professional quizzers as you put it, because the Treasure Hunt is primarily about having fun as well as challenging yourself, and at the same time seeing some famous and intriguing things in London.

The Master of The Hunt does talk relatively quickly at the start, he has to because lots of teams are arriving at the same time, but all he is doing is briefly introducing the event and outlining 3 key points which are in the Treasure Hunt clue sheets that he hands out. You can start the Treasure Hunt without even listening to him as it is all in the clue sheets, but it is nice to welcome teams when they arrive and to give them a short overview of the event to relax them into the event.

In respect of your points about our web site, confirmation emails and the clue sheets.

Of course we can always improve our web site and we do have a brand new web site that we are launching soon that is much more high tech and does have a calendar based bookings system. However our current web site is pretty good and we feel you are being very harsh in your critique of it. The Treasure Hunt page does have a lot of info packed into it, so the separation of blocks of info using different colours is deliberate as is the use of the Comic Sans Serif font, which is in tune with the Treasure Hunt being a fun and entertaining event.

You are wrong about the images on our web site. All of the images we use are purchased from world wide professional image provider agencies.

You also take issue with the auto responder email that replies instantly to all emails we receive. It does not say we are on holiday, it says thank you for your reply and we endeavour to reply within 24 hours to all emails. Yes you are correct that often we reply within a few hours or even a few minutes, but when we are very busy a reply can take a day so it is reassuring for the person emailing to know that their enquiry is being dealt with and not ignored.

Many much larger companies than ours do not automatically acknowledge emails, nor do they reply within 24 hours. We do both and are proud of and have been complimented on our high levels of customer service.

There is a limited amount of space on each Treasure Hunt and we are adding more slots now to allow for this, so yes a date can occasionally be sold out, but as you said we responded quickly to you and offered you many alternative dates, which you then chose from.

Similarly, our booking confirmation email which you stated you feel has too much information, is something that customers greatly appreciate, as it contains everything from exact event meeting point details, including images of the meeting place, right through to advice on travel and what the Treasure Hunt entails.

You are right to say that we do all of our own printing. We use professional quality printers and thick quality paper to print on. It would be highly impractical for us to outsource our printing because every week the Treasure Hunt has different clues from a variety of 300+ that we have devised and are adding to all of the time, and because we do not make a decision on the exact make up of the Treasure Hunt clues until 72 hours before the event, if we outsourced printing and it came back with errors there would not be enough time for us to send it back for re-printing.

We produce high print quality with no errors on good quality thick paper, and again we do use our own style of colours and layout quite deliberately, to show a clear visual separation between the various challenges on the clue sheets and to highlight important rules and pointers for certain clues.

**The reply we are typing now has been typed in distinct paragraphs, but it may come out when posted as one big paragraph as this is what can sometimes happen when we post a reply to a review.**

Coming back to the Treasure Hunt itself, you said that you did enjoy aspects of the clues and challenges and we are pleased to hear this, and also that you felt that having a bigger team size may be more enjoyable.

This is a fair point and we do have team sizes of 2 people right through to 7 people taking part as some people prefer a bigger team. It all depends really on personal preference. From a winning of the top prizes point of view we have had team of all sizes, including a team of just 1 person!, winning the event.

We thank you again for writing the review and greatly appreciate your feed back and wish you a great summer.

Kind regards,

Scott
London Premier Walking Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2016 via mobile

A fantastic way to spend a few evening hours in London. After arriving at Green Park Station and being given our initiation pack of clues we set off for two hours working our way around various locations following the clues and solving the puzzles. A well worked out experience, that not only tests the grey matter it also a really fun time.
Watch out for the crafty Agents who will try and scupper your chances, luckily for us we didn't encounter any but were well prepared if we did.
Using the tube system in zone one and weather permitting local areas above ground this is the perfect experience if you're looking for something a little bit different or a team building activity!

A fantastic few hours, if a little tiring mainly due to my teams will to win and the weather being glorious on the day. There were 25 teams competing on our day and all came away with at least a small prize for competing with the top four teams winning the 'big' prizes. Even if you are in a team of one or two you have a chance of competing against the larger sides as you are given a handicap at the beginning depending on team size to help your points total at the end! We had 8 challenges, and without giving too much away, ranged from locations to other photo challenges that are to be undertaken whilst on the trains!

A great little find!

Date of experience: May 2016
2  Thank mancalledsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016 via mobile

We did the London Tube Treasure hunt in a team of 2 and absolutely loved it. Amazing treasure hunt for both Londoners and tourists/visitors alike. Everything was set up so well, there was a decent number of other competitors, the clues had a great range of difficulty and it included a good variety of challenges.

Was such a fun night, including the prize/award ceremony at the end, and since they have a whole bunch of different sets of clues and treasure hunts I'd like to 100% do it again or recommend to anyone as a must do whilst in London! Thanks for a fantastic night!

Date of experience: April 2016
2  Thank attornoalmondo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

I love a walking tour as I find they take me to places I wouldn't normally frequent and this Jack the Ripper tour did just that.
The booking process was so simple and, although we booked at the very last minute, communication was A1 and everything confirmed very quickly. The price was amazing considering this was to be nearly a three hour tour!
Although there was some disruption on the underground the weekend we did this tour, the tour guide made sure she waited an extra few minutes before starting the walk, to wait for a few late comers. She even made a couple of phone calls to locate people, which impressed me greatly.
We enjoyed the tour very much and it certainly took us off the usual beaten path of London that we visit. The time flew by, the commentary was interesting, the pictures were as gruesome (as promised!) and on the whole, it was a very enjoyable few hours. The walk it's self wasn't challenging and would easily be accessible to all. A great way to see parts of London and to pass a few hours!

Date of experience: March 2016
1  Thank Caro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2016

Had a Brilliant walking tour with Adam from Battlefield Journey walking tours yesterday. The weather was sunny and dry so our walk from The Tower of London to Canary Wharf was made even better. Adam was very knowledgable and entertaining - will definitely do another one at some stage in the future with him. Thank you

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank maureen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews