We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun friendly, great service”

Jamie's Italian Covent Garden
Ranked #1,814 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$11 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
Description: JAMIE'S ITALIAN COVENT GARDEN A partnership between Jamie Oliver and his Italian mentor, chef Gennaro Contaldo, Jamie's Italian has won thousands of fans for its delicious and affordable food since launching their first restaurant in Oxford in May 2008. The Jamie's Italian menu is based on dishes you'd find people eating all over Italy, made with care but delivered without fuss. The family-friendly restaurants are all about serving up rustic, Italian food made using the best possible ingredients, plus fresh pasta that's made on-site every day, and an award-winning children's menu, too. Jamie's Italian Covent Garden, right in the heart of central London, is perfectly located for the West End's theatre-goers, weekend shoppers, tourists and locals alike. The restaurant is small but perfectly formed, and always buzzing with activity - make sure you stop by and soak up the atmosphere while tucking into some delicious food and a cocktail or two. They open up the outdoor space in the summer too, which is perfect for relaxed lunches and al fresco dinners when the weather's fine.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun friendly, great service”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Great vibe, fun, friendly, good service, excellent authentic Italian food, could purchase Jamie Oliver goodies, loved it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank skintonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,078
    1,219
    741
    367
    219
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
129 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food - pricey though”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We had a family of 6. This is a restaurant that does cater to children. Food came very quickly. It was very good and well presented.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Just had dinner there before the theatre. While the theatre was horrid the meal was great.

The waiter was Italian, which add to the ambiance, and the food, the presentation, and the service was great.

We started with sharing a crab avocado bruschetta presented on one of their planks. Pretty good. Followed this up with another plank of marinated vegetables with cheese and bruschetta. Very nice.

We then had our main dishes with Barb having Pork Belly and I had Lamb. Both were excellent. Presentation was atypical with my lamb chops and accoutrements all on another wooden plank. Also some deep fried corn bread which was quite rich. Barb's was on a normal ceramic plate.

All quite good.

On the negative side, the lamb was a bit fatty, but intentionally so. While the fat obviously added to the flavour it made it a tad messy to eat. And, it was a tad cramped but most restaurants are in London.

Fun place to go. I'll be back next time I'm in London. But it was busy. I made a reservation online which I would strongly recommend as it is in a very busy area for tourists.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank racton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice food - long waiting time”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Visited Jamies Italien restaurant - prebooked time slot one month ahead. Good location in Covent Garden, get inside and you smell quality food. The family of 5 got seated and ordered quickly, but then the waiting started. Beverages were ok, starters arrived after 30+ min, but It took more than one hour from we were seated till the main course were served (Jamie burger, super salad and some pastas).
Despite the friendly service and well tasting food - it feels more like a quality food factory than true restaurant with lots of waiting Jamie fans.

Helpful?
Thank JakobT-DK
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“walked away”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Walked by the roped off outdoor seating area on a very hot day (19 July), there were some empty tables so we asked the waiter, he said we had to enter via the front. We did this and asked about a table outside for two only to be told they only had tables for four people so we walked away and took our custom elsewhere. Would not return to a Jamie's restaurant on principle.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jamie's Italian Covent Garden also viewed

 

Been to Jamie's Italian Covent Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing