We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'The Avenger' - think Emma Peel & John Steed - Christmas Party!!!”
Review of South Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
South Place Hotel
Ranked #42 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Always like to take the office somewhere special at the end of the year and I just knew South Place was going to be perfect. We booked the Peel Room, hence our theme, ladies in catsuits (well sort of) and the gents in bowlers. We never checked out the venue beforehand, just loved the pictures of the place. It was all we expected it to be! The staff were brilliant, helpful and patient. The room beautifully decorated with a beribboned lampshade of enormous proportions.

The menu three choices (plus vegetarian) was excellent. The steaks exquisite and the puds, well bliss. Then the cheese board, all were ecstatic.

The staff very kindly allowed us to repair to Le Chiffre (sitting room and pool table area) for our after dinner cocktails. The room is gorgeous, we loved the Casino Royale links and it is my favourite area in the hotel (have not seen the bedrooms yet!). Having said that en masse we were allowed to move freely around the hotel and enjoy it from the Angler Bar and Terrace, the secret garden on our floor, a bar area outside and perfect for smokers! No longer feel like a piranha!

Ending up in the bar on the ground floor for final cocktails - From Russia with Love was my particular downfall! The reception booked our cars home, swift and sure.

A brilliant night out for everyone, they are still talking about it at the office.. I will definitely be back for more.

Room Tip: Read the reviews!
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Thank you Tina for your wonderful review and sharing favourite details of your event, we're thrilled that you and your guests had such a good time. We hope you'll return for some more adventures and explorations of the hotel - perhaps next time we can tempt you up to Angler for a drink on the roof terrace?

Best wishes for 2013,

Sarah Buchanan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,024)
There are newer reviews for South Place Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

889 - 895 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2012

Stayed at South Place Hotel on Saturday night with my girlfriend to spend the weekend in London for our anniversary.

The hotel was what we expected and more! Easy to get to only being a two minute walk from Moregate tube station so was a great place to get around. The staff were incredibly friendly and the room was superb! Real modern feel, comfortable bed...the only negative I could find was that the TV remote wasn't very user friendly, struggling for any other negatives.. all in all great stay.

Value for money and would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

We are very pleased to read that you have had such a great stay here with us and your room and the service of our staff was to your satisfaction.

We can appreciate your frustration with the the TV remote. Our Front Desk team is now making sure that upon rooming the guests they are provided with a quick tutorial on the B&O remotes if they are not familiar. They are tricky, but we felt the quality of the televisions was worth it, and hope you found the same.

Thank you very much once again for your feedback.I hope to have you with us again in the future.

Best wishes,

Sarah Buchanan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Stayed here on saturday night, great location for bars/restaurants and city shops. Service in the hotel was efficient and friendly. Great bar and 'chill out' lounges. very comfy beds.
Highly recommend for meeting with friends for drinks and/or shopping/visiting london, as easy access to tube and buses and refreshing to be away from the touristy west end.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRR849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review, seems like your really took advantage of all South Place has to offer. Hope to see you back here soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

As I was going to a concert at the Barbican, this hotel seemed to be in a good location in order to minimise the need for public transport. It's close to Moorgate tube and a good walk from the river.
The check-in seemed to create a bit of work for the receptionist and I am not sure that I really understood why it had to take so long or why she needed to check and then recheck our booking.
However, we did eventually get into the room which I have to say was really well equipped with the exception of NO KETTLE. I know the idea is that we order tea or coffee via room service, but surely it isn't unreasonable to hope that if you want a cup of tea as soon as you wake, you don't have to ring for room service. For me it's more about the wait than anything.
The kettle mystery deepens when you realise that the room has a toaster. perhaps the person doing the research can enlighten me why this was deemed more essential. Just a thought- perhaps the person ordering the equipment didn't speak English and confused the words.....?
Breakfast on day one was served by a lovely Hungarian who went out of her way to talk us through our order. It sounded a whole lot better than it tasted.
Would I stay again? yes Would I bring my own kettle YES

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank queensquitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

We are grateful to read feedback from your stay at South Place, and delighted you would stay again.

As far as the toaster mystery goes, we have equipped each of our rooms with toasters for guests ordering breakfast delivered to their rooms. Rather than serving cold or damp toast, each room has its own Duralit toaster to provide fresh and hot toast - an essential component for a great breakfast.

We will however take your feedback on the kettle into serious consideration, and next time you stay please feel free to email reservations@southplacehotel.com with your request and we will be sure to the accomodations in your room upon arrival.

With best regards,

Sarah Buchanan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

The South Place hotel is sleek, modern, stylish and would be difficult to beat in central London. From the moment you enter the reception area you know you are going to experience something special. The staff are all exceptionally well trained to enhance this experience with a warm, friendly, 'nothing is too much trouble' attitude.

The lounge, bar, restaurant and corridors are beautifully designed in a way that make you feel as if you are staying in the house of a top designer rather than a London hotel. This theme continues into the bedroom and ensuite which both contain expensive, luxurious, modern fittings and furniture all tastefully complementing each other in shades of grey, white and black.

The room was large with such extravagances as a huge free-standing, metal framed mirror, Bang & Olufsen television, touch-button lighting and heating controls and a fabulously comfortable, king-sized bed. Although we didn't use the mini bar, its contents were far superior to the poor selection of wines, spirits and snacks usually found. In one cupboad there was even a Dualit toaster!

The bathroom had a wonderful, modern, double-ended bath tub, the largest shower area I've ever experienced in a hotel (with twin, rain head showers so that two can shower alongside each other), twin sinks and lovely lotions and potions!

For those who are disturbed by light during the night, there are blackout blinds (again controlled on the touch panel by the bed). However, the glow from the radio/music console did rather reduce the impact of these blinds!

This really is a superb hotel with quality modern decor and excellent staff.

So why have I given this review four stars rather than five?

Well a minor issue was that the sixth floor that we were on had only been opened up a week earlier. As a result there were a few teething problems such as the room key card not being completely reliable and some of the touch controls for the lights were not working.

However, this alone would not have caused me to take off a star. The reason for the loss is that there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the bedrooms! I rang reception and was told that this was not available in the rooms but tea and coffee could be ordered. This does destroy the ability to arrive back from an evening out, just kick off your clothes and relax or have a hot drink before getting up the next morning.

I am surprised that a hotel of this impeccable standard should omit this in-room facility.....and why have a toaster, which is quirky to say the least, and not have something as basic as tea/coffee making facilities? (I'm not even sure of the reason for the toaster - how many guests arrive with a loaf of bread ready for toasting?)

However, if you're happy to make do without the hot drinks in your room, you will find no fault with this fabulous hotel

Room Tip: Bring a loaf of bread and a kettle :)
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caesar63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Thank you for sharing the details of your stay, we're thrilled that you had a positive experience at South Place. Most importantly, thank you for your constructive feedback about tea and coffee making facilities.

We are continually refining our product and the omission of an in room kettle has certainly been contentious, and is currently under review. In the meantime, prior to your next stay, please email reservations@southplacehotel.com and we will ensure that there are tea making facilities in your room upon your arrival.

We look forward to welcoming you back to South Place.

Kind regards,

Sarah Buchanan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I decided to book this hotel (from a booking website) because well placed from a station where taking a train the day after (Liverpool Station).
The hotel was an agreeable surprice: modern luxury design; nice room with all conforts, good breakfast but above all I found nice attendance by all people at reception.
The hotel is not really in downtown but not so far from it by metro.
Price affordable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPcairate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

We're delighted that you decided to take a chance on us and that you had a pleasant stay. Please do come back and visit us soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah Buchanan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Meeting rooms wonderful natural light comfort and great layout. Staff just so attentive - attention to detail. Wonderful food. Nothing too much trouble. Just so good to find customer service at its best in town.
Bedrooms simply perfect too.
Don't change !

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angiejess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Thank you for such encouraging and positive feedback, we hope to welcome you back very soon!

Kind regards,

Sarah Buchanan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#46 of 1,072 in London
1,967 reviews
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Andaz London Liverpool Street
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#58 of 1,072 in London
3,567 reviews
Spitalfields
Batty Langley's
Batty Langley's
#50 of 1,072 in London
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Place Hotel

Address: 3 South Place, London EC2M 2AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £178 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — South Place Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Place is an 80-bedroom, luxury hotel in the City of London, just minutes away from Moorgate and Liverpool Street stations. The first hotel from restaurateurs D&D London, South Place Hotel features Conran-designed interiors, 2 restaurants (one of which, the Angler, was recently awarded a Michellin star), 3 bars and 5 private dining and meeting rooms. The hotel is alive with the buzz of local London neighbourhoods, including Silicon Roundabout at Old Street; the creative communities of Spitalfields, Shoreditch and Hoxton, as well as the chic and sharp energy of the Square Mile. The staff are young and vibrant, passionate about ensuring guests have a warm welcome and a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your South Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing