We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st Class!”
Review of South Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
South Place Hotel
Ranked #42 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1st Class!”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Overall just a top notch hotel.We stayed in the Suite - awesome facilities including a "scary" but fantastic glass bath. Staff were all super friendly and helpful. We were completely blown away by our lovely dinner upstairs. Brilliant fresh food, delicious, done without fuss and with a focus on good flavour, topped off with discreet and attentive service – what more can I say! We didn’t want to leave to go to the party we’d come to town for!!

In our jobs, my husband and I get to “enjoy” all sorts of fab places to eat and stay all round the world and we also endure plenty of places that think they are good and only disappoint – staying at South Place really was right up there in the places we’d love to come back to whether to eat with friends, entertain clients for lunch or dinner or just come with our own family to stay.

Roll on a repeat visit :-)

Room Tip: treat yourself to the Suite with the glass bath - you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Maggie G,

Thank you so much for your lovely words, I was so pleased to read that you had such a great time when you stayed, and were able to try the delicious food in Angler.

I hope to see you at the hotel again very soon.

Warm regards,
Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    778
    142
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
95
471
42
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful find this hotel was! From the initial greeting of the courteous doorman to the warm farewell from the receptionist at check-out, we thoroughly enjoyed all the trappings that South Place had to offer.

Throughout our stay nothing was too much trouble. Bourack on concierge we found particularly helpful in explaining all of the gadgets and gizmos in the room (which as a gadget freak I found most impressive).

If staying again we would definitely have tried "The Angler" which has recently been awarded its first Michelin star. The attention to detail is flawless; quite simply, you'll have to go a long way to find a better run hotel than this........(is there one out there???!!!)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Adam W,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback, I thrilled to read your kind words, and were the rest of the team.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.

Warm regards,
Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We chose this hotel because we received warm recommendations about it and it has been like love at the first sight. The hotel is super design, the bar reminded me clockwork orange, the rooms were super high tech with bang & olufsen tv, superb bathroom...The mini bar was full of rare products and the staff was so friendly and helpful. We came for tourism so the location in the City is not the best you can get if you want to walk but thanks to London bus system, everything is so easy, wherever you are. I'll never stay in another hotel in London, this one was just perfect. Oh and there is a room, where you can find a billard, a tv and some refreshments and you feel just like home in it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klashman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Klashman,

Thank you very much for your lovely review, I was delighted to learn that your stay here was so great.

Although the hotel is not located in the traditional tourist district transport links are great in the area and we are just a short underground ride away from the West End. We are also very close to attractions such as the Monument and the Tower of London, and are a short walk from vibrant and lively areas such as Spitalfields, Shoreditch and the East End. Our Concierge team are always happy to help with sightseeing suggestions or travel queries.

I hope we will see you at the hotel again soon.

Warm regards,
Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
248 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed at the South Place again following our visit in July 2013, and thoroughly enjoyed the visit. The staff at the hotel are lovely and incredibly friendly, providing a level of service which is akin to the stature of the establishment.

We stayed in a double deluxe room and were wowed again by the design, practicality, spaciousness and luxury of the room. The only minor complaint is the wall panel controls, which have been noted by other guests. They can be hard to navigate, and its best not to touch the door controls for fear, as in our case, that the busy light is turned on and your room is never cleaned! More direction in this case should probably be provided.

We also took the opportunity to try out the members bar on the 1st floor. The space is incredible - it houses a pool table, football table, record player and mini library which make it a perfect place to bring guests. On both the Friday and Saturday night mind, it was completely empty which is a real shame.

As per July, we would recommend the South Place and look forward to coming again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Luke W,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback, we really appreciate it, and I was thrilled to read that you had such a great time on your return visit. Our team takes great pride in providing each guest with consistently great service and were delighted to read your kind words.

I have asked our Front Office Manager to re-train his team to ensure all the controls are fully explained upon check in so that guests are aware of how sensitive they can be.

We are also working on a calendar of events for guests and Club members at weekends which I hope you will be able to explore when you stay with us next time.

Warn regards,
Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Having, until recently, lived in London all my life I'm still getting used to visiting the city as a 'tourist' and staying in hotels but having discovered the South Place Hotel that chore has now become markedly easier.

Stylish and 'trendy' without being too in your face about it, South Place reminded me of some of the more interesting Manhattan Hotels i've been lucky enough to check out. The staff were very helpful and the rooms were great, looked great, had a nice big bed and even better a lovely big bath, lots of little features, often with a nice twist, that showed an attention to detail.

The only problem I had was with the lighting system that resembles something from Star Trek, looks awesome until you stumble around in the middle of the night turning everything on because you're a drunk idiot and can't figure it out (i'll concede this is more a user problem than anything the hotel should be down voted for...).

Sadly we didn't get to eat in Michelin starred fish bar but grabbed a quick meal in the ground floor restaurant and that did us just fine. The ground floor bar was pretty cool as well, nice place to start a night and there was very good music too from the DJs, not something you'd normally expect to say about a hotel.

It's in a great location too, within walking distance or a short cab ride of most of London's generally more interesting places, Borough Market, Spitalfields/Brick Lane, Dalston etc. So lots to see and do whilst you're staying there. Anyway fully recommended, will definitely stay there again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank johnpower L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear johnpower L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback. I was thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and were able to try 3 South Place and the bar. Music is a hugely important part of the hotel and I’m so pleased that you liked it.

It is a shame that you were not able to try Angler, but I hope that we will be able to remedy that upon your next visit to the hotel.

Warm regards,
Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yichang, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

It was my first time staying in South Place Hotel and it was fabulous!First of all, the location of the hotel is absolutely great,very convenient as it is 2 min walk from Liverpool Street tube station down a straight road. I have not had the pleasure to dine at the hotel so cannot comment on the food there. I can comment on the rooms though and ours was fantastic!It was the most basic of rooms the hotel offers and yet it felt luxurious,with extremely comfy and large bed, beautiful,soft,fresh linen, huge tv with movies on demand, mood lighting and electric blinds. The marble bathroom with installed speakers so you can hear what's playing on tv, and a walk-in shower was absolutely amazing.The staff were very polite and explained about all the dining options, bars,etc. We were extremely happy with our stay at this hotel and recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iness18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Iness18,

Thank you so much for your kind words, I was delighted to read that your stay was so enjoyable.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon and that you can try our restaurants and bars on this occasion.

Warm regards,
Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Spotless, large room and bath tub, modern, quiet hotel.

One thing to note if you book with a debit card they take £100 deposit from you upon arrival in case you use anything from the mini bar - it is immediately credited back into your account upon departure. When I was booking I did not notice anything on the website mentioning this. Other than this could not fault the hotel. Was a lovely stay and the receptionists were friendly, chatty/helpful and surprisingly laid back..

Cleanliness is a massive thing in any hotel I stay in and I have to say this is probably one of the cleanest/well kept hotels I've stayed in. Didn't use the sauna (or realise it was free upon booking) but was told upon arrival it was 24 hour and we were welcome to use it at any time free of charge. Would definitely return.

Location is ideal. Great stay at the South Place!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Claire D,

Thank you very much for your kind words, I was delighted to read that you had a lovely time when you stayed at the hotel.

The £100 deposit is a standard charge which applies to all guests and is common throughout the hotel industry. Payments can be taken from a credit or debit card and are refunded fully upon checkout. Following your feedback we are adding information about the deposit to our website in the rate policies section, as well as the booking confirmation emails so guests are aware of this prior to booking and checking in.

I do hope we will see you again at South Place Hotel soon.

Warm regards,
Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#44 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#52 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,339 reviews
City of London
Andaz London Liverpool Street
Marylebone
The Arch London
The Arch London
#20 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Place Hotel

Property: South Place Hotel
Address: 3 South Place, London EC2M 2AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — South Place Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Place is an 80-bedroom, luxury hotel in the City of London, just minutes away from Moorgate and Liverpool Street stations. The first hotel from restaurateurs D&D London, South Place Hotel features Conran-designed interiors, 2 restaurants (one of which, the Angler, was recently awarded a Michellin star), 3 bars and 5 private dining and meeting rooms. The hotel is alive with the buzz of local London neighbourhoods, including Silicon Roundabout at Old Street; the creative communities of Spitalfields, Shoreditch and Hoxton, as well as the chic and sharp energy of the Square Mile. The staff are young and vibrant, passionate about ensuring guests have a warm welcome and a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your South Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing