We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel, location and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of South Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
South Place Hotel
Ranked #40 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, location and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

South Place Hotel is gorgeous with great service and a wonderful location. The staff could not have been more helpful, the food and cocktails were amazing and great value. Brilliant place to spend the weekend and visit the local sights like Borough Market etc. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelOption
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear TravelOption,

I was delighted to read your kind comments, and thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback. Our team were thrilled to learn that you had such a great time when you stayed.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon, whether for an overnight stay, or a visit to one of our restaurants or bars.

Warm regards,
Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    139
    22
    10
    3
See reviews for
90
462
42
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on-Sea, England
Level Contributor
155 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Visited as part of a group of 16 who were dining in a private room. The service was attentive and the food was wonderful. We were very well looked after at all times. I strongly recommend the scallops as a starter, this is a signature dish.

Dining room are named after characters from old spy films / tv series. So there is the Solo Room and the Kiriyakin Room (both "Man from UNCLE"), Peel Room, Steed Room and Purdey Room (Avengers) and the Le Chiffre Room (Bond).

The only odd thing is the private dining rooms are on the first floor while the toilets are on the ground floor.

Certainly one to consider if putting together a private function.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon_in_Legh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Simon_in_Legh,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write your comments. I was glad to read that you had an excellent time when you dined at the hotel and hope that we will see you here again soon.

Warm regards,
Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

From the first review I found for this hotel I fell in love and knew i had to book it! The hotel was amazingly beautiful. The bathroom was exceptional and a key selling point.

I would 100% book this hotel again!

The staff were friendly and helpful and recommended dinning options for the evening.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mamtaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Mamtaxx,

Thank you very much for your kind words, I was really pleased to read that you had such a great time when you stayed.

I hope we will see you at the hotel again soon, whether that is for an overnight stay or to visit one of our restaurants or bars.

Warm regards,
Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

My boyfriend took me to this hotel for valentines day and I was over the moon. The hotel is lovely and the staff were so friendly and welcoming.

The room was lush with a huge bath and marble style walls and falls. The lighting is also something I quite liked as it gave a nice romantic feeling to the room.

Ice was brought up to us minutes after we rang room service for it and they did't charge for it as well as glasses are ready waiting in the draw, layed out nicely.

I would definately recommend this hotel, absolutely brilliant place.

Room Tip: I imagine all the rooms were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Elena N,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback, I was so pleased to read that you chose South Place Hotel for a special occasion and has such a great time when you stayed.

I hope we will see you at the hotel again soon.

Warm regards,
Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

From the moment we arrived we were treated like VIPs. The wonderful front of house staff kept us entertained and treated us with absolute courtesy. Clearly they enjoy their jobs and were keen to engage in witty although respectful banter. Superb.

The room was lovely. Not massive. Not overly indulgent but perfect and ticked the boxes for us. Fabulous double bath and a super start to a romantic evening. We chose to stay and eat in the hotel and the food and service were great. ( we ate downstairs) Again we were made to feel important and as if nothing was too much trouble.

Would defenately recommend to anyone and everyone for w lovely sumptuous evening. Breakfast was lovely and whilst not the cheapest, it won top marks for us because of the ease of location and ambience. Free papers too.

Wonderful

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkBronte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dea UkBronte,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback. I was delighted to learn that you had such a nice time when you stayed at South Place Hotel and were able to explore the restaurants and bars.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.

Warm regards,
Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived for our nights stay, we knew we'd picked the right hotel. The reception reflects the overall style of the hotel and rooms; and the staff exceptionally helpful. Our hotel room was perfect. We stayed in the Eldon room and it exceeded all expectations; from the huge bath, double showers, stereo system, drinks, huge floating bed to lighting, TV and general design we were happy. I really couldn't recommend this place enough, and a stones throw from Liverpool Street Station.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sodyathen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Sodyathen,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at South Place Hotel so much.

I hope we see you at the hotel again very soon, whether that's for a hotel say or a visit to one of restaurants.

Warm regards,
Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

My girlfriend and I spent two days at this beautiful hotel. It was absolutely fantastic!
On arrival we were greeted by friendly Alex who gave the impression he is there to enhance our stay in any way possible. This is the type of service you receive at South Place Hotel.
Dining is superb, offering an extensive menu, prepared and served beautifully. I cannot praise the hotel and service enough.
I will be going back to South Place Hotel, no doubt about that, the next time I am in London!

Room Tip: Try the Angler Restaurant on the 7th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Linda C,

Thank you so much for your kind words. Our team takes great pride in the excellent service they provide to all of our guests, and they were thrilled to read your comments.

I hope we will see you at the hotel again very soon.

Warm regards,
Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#47 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#53 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,277 reviews
City of London
Andaz London Liverpool Street
Marylebone
The Arch London
The Arch London
#20 of 1,090 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Place Hotel

Property: South Place Hotel
Address: 3 South Place, London EC2M 2AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — South Place Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Place is an 80-bedroom, luxury hotel in the City of London, just minutes away from Moorgate and Liverpool Street stations. The first hotel from restaurateurs D&D London, South Place Hotel features Conran-designed interiors, 2 restaurants (one of which, the Angler, was recently awarded a Michellin star), 3 bars and 5 private dining and meeting rooms. The hotel is alive with the buzz of local London neighbourhoods, including Silicon Roundabout at Old Street; the creative communities of Spitalfields, Shoreditch and Hoxton, as well as the chic and sharp energy of the Square Mile. The staff are young and vibrant, passionate about ensuring guests have a warm welcome and a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your South Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing