We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this hotel!”
Review of South Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
South Place Hotel
Ranked #40 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Love this hotel!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I had the pleasure to stay at the hotel for five days and I enjoyed my experience very much! Everything at this hotel is top notch: new, very chic and modern, and extremely comfortable. In the hotel industry lingo, this is a high quality product! There are many hotel options in London, international chain or boutique/independent. I stayed in a few different ones, and I find South Place is truly a good balance between price and value and a high quality hotel. The room is exquisite in a modern, chic yet comfortable way (and very clean, roomy and bright; and you get free and reliable wi-fi!). The staffs are very helpful and friendly. The location is at the heart of financial district and right across the street from Mark & Spencer store where you can buy pre-made food, beverages, and fresh fruits and produce. That is a big convenience! I also want to mention that the the hotel is owned by a famous restaurant group in London. The restaurant is a Michelin starred on the roof top. I really regret not having the opportunity to try it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aquavit28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Aquavit28,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.

Your comments are very kind and I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future when you can try Angler.

Warm regards,

Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    780
    142
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
95
472
43
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Beautiful, new ,modern hotel. Great location- 2 mins to Moorgate and 3-4 mins to Liverpool street. Our room was very quiet, spacious.Good minibar! Spacious, beautiful bathrooms,with huge bathtub and double shower heads.Room was well thought out,with lots of plugs ec. Four of us travelling- older kids in a room with two twin beds and ourselves in a king, we had asked for connecting room, and was convenient as we were at the end of a corridor with a huge door which blocked of the end of the corridor so we could prop open the doors to the rooms, they gave us wedges for the doors. It made for a very spacious space, my only criticism of this is that whilst it was a locked door, with its own keypad etc, this outer door was not a solid door- it was two hinged doors pulled together- I could pull it open whilst locked which I found odd. This meant we slept with our actual bedroom doors shut and shut them when out, which was ok for us as our kids are 20 and 14 but with young children I would have been worried.I think it should be an easy fix and is my only criticism. Staff were very friendly /helpful, food excellent but quite expensive.
Overall, I love this hotel and would definitely look to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear lazigirl

Many thanks for taking the time to pass on your comments.

I was thrilled to read you loved the hotel and that your family had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for bringing to my attention the issue you experienced with the interconnecting doors. The doors can be locked securely by means of a floor bolt system on the smaller leaf. I have addressed this issue with the relevant departments to ensure that all staff are reminded how to lock the interconnecting doors securely to avoid any future problems.

I very much hope to get the chance to welcome you back to South Place in the very near future.

Best regards,

Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at the South Place Hotel for 2 nights over July 4th. The design of the hotel is gorgeous. When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly and welcoming staff. Check in was quick and easy, we were then escorted to our room by Oliver who gave us a tour of the hotel and our room amenities. Can I just say...WOW. We were very impressed with all of the modern touches and loved our room. The only downside was the construction which our room was facing since our window was directly across from the construction site. However, the blackout shades worked pretty well for blocking out some of the noise and we were up and out so early that it really didn't bother us that much. By the time we got back to our room it was done for the day. Note: definitely request a room facing the back of the hotel if you plan on relaxing in your room during the day. We ate lunch and splurged on room service one night from the restaurant, delicious. We had drinks at the bar and listed to the DJ, met a few friendly locals, very enjoyable. The staff assisted with guiding my husband and I on London sights, again Oliver was amazing help here. And, the most important part, the hotel is a quick walk to either Moorgate or Liverpool train stations. It was perfect, we weren't in the middle of all the touristy stuff (the hotel is in a business area) but it was so convenient to get around that it really didn't matter. I would definitely stay here again. The service was impeccable. Don't hesitate...book it!

Room Tip: If you book while the construction is going on, request a room in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsb070712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear mrsb070712

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am so glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Warm regards

Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel itself was nicely designed. The rooms were relatively large and extremely comfortable.

The only thing that holds me back from giving the hotel a 5 rating is the building works that were happening over the road. They started relatively early in the morning and continued over the weekend. While this hopefully won't be an issue forever, it did take away from what was an otherwise very pleasant stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LostInLaMancha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear LostInLaMancha,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am delighted to read you had a pleasant stay with us and liked the design of the hotel.

I am sorry to read your stay was disrupted by the construction work currently taking place close to the hotel. Following your complaint we spoke with the site manager to remind him of their commitments and to ensure disturbances to our guests are being kept to a minimum. Weekend working is extremely rare and limited to Saturdays only.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Warm regards,

Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My sister and I booked a twin room using the Splendia website. We received an email from the hotel confirming we had booked our room. When we arrived we were told we had been allocated a double room and there were no twin rooms available for us. The hotel checked our reservation which just confirmed that we had booked "a room." They were very accommodating and gave us a room with a huge double bed so we did have plenty of space. I would like to say this was a one off error either by Splendia or by the hotel, but when we were checking in there was a woman with her teenage son who was experiencing exactly the same problem.. and I'm not sure how they got on sharing a bed!
Honestly the hotel and the staff were all lovely, but as I say double check your reservation before you go.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NipIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seagrove
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Overall loved the hotel very much. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Always greeted or bid you farwell and happy to help with anything you needed. Room is very contemporary, but very nice. TV sound is played in the bathroom, heated towel rack, power shade to black out window, press a button and lights turn off and floor lighting comes on.

Opportunity for improvement: Wish there were a bit more lighting in the room, could be a bit dim at night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamsAndMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear GrahamsAndMore,

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted to read you loved the hotel and enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband stayed here on a recent trip to London over the holidays. The rooms were very comfortable - nice beds and lovely bath amenities. The decor is super stylish and modern - which we love. Great location being so close to the Liverpool station so that you can get on the tube to go anywhere in the city. The staff gave us an amazing restaurant recommendation in Shoreditch - Dishoom. It was our favorite meal of our trip! I think this must be the best hotel for the price that we have ever stayed at. We will definitely return to stay here on our next trip to London!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klindenbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear klindenbaum,

Thank you for your kind review.

I am pleased to read you had such an enjoyable stay with us and you loved the interior design.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to London.

Warm regards,

Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#44 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,842 reviews
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#52 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,347 reviews
City of London
Andaz London Liverpool Street
Marylebone
The Arch London
The Arch London
#20 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Place Hotel

Property: South Place Hotel
Address: 3 South Place, London EC2M 2AF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — South Place Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Place is an 80-bedroom, luxury hotel in the City of London, just minutes away from Moorgate and Liverpool Street stations. The first hotel from restaurateurs D&D London, South Place Hotel features Conran-designed interiors, 2 restaurants (one of which, the Angler, was recently awarded a Michellin star), 3 bars and 5 private dining and meeting rooms. The hotel is alive with the buzz of local London neighbourhoods, including Silicon Roundabout at Old Street; the creative communities of Spitalfields, Shoreditch and Hoxton, as well as the chic and sharp energy of the Square Mile. The staff are young and vibrant, passionate about ensuring guests have a warm welcome and a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your South Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing