We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
South Place Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$421
US$240
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$320
Hilton
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$231
US$213
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$204
US$163
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$414
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$249
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Rhodes Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Park Grand London Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Tower(London)(Great Value!)
US$244
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,107)
Filter reviews
1,107 results
Traveller rating
897
163
27
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
897
163
27
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsangler restaurantblack out blindsmoorgate tube stationgames roombang olufsenblackout blindshuge bathroom serviceliverpool streetlittle touchesfavourite london hotelhigh techrooftop barmini barthe ground floormood lightingamazing hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
710 - 715 of 1,107 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Genuinely impressed with the South Place Hotel. Booked last minute and we were not disappointed.

Great size room, excellent facilities and extremely comfortable bed. Bathroom and shower outstanding!

The staff are very attentive and there is a great atmosphere in the bars within the hotel which are obviously popular with non residents.

Truly reminded me of The Bryant Park hotel in NYC.... Similar style and vibe in addition to exceptional staff which is unusual for London!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank LondonVictoria78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear LondonVictoria78,

Thank you for writing such a positive review.

I was so happy to read you had an enjoyable stay with us and were able to try out our bars.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Warm regards,

Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We have visited south place on 3 occasions. The staff are fantastic and extremely helpful. The service is second to none. The rooms are immaculate and the technology within the room, eg. The lighting, the blinds, the sound system etc, is really sophisticated. We stayed in one of their standard rooms and the bathroom is unbelievable. The bath is huge!!! Robes and slippers are provided which is a nice touch. 2 out of the 3 visits, we have stayed for brunch and been extremely impressed. I have never been somewhere where the staff are so attentive. It is quite expensive, so we save it for a treat, but it is worth every penny!! We will be back.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank JHM4684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear JHM4684,

Thank you for taking time to write a review.

I am so pleased to read that you have enjoyed the hotel so much. Guest satisfaction is most important to us and the entire team appreciates your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your fourth stay with us in the future.

Warm regards,

Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous hotel - really reminded me of Thomsons in New York - amazing room and bathroom, lovely lobby & bar and staff were lovely. Loved their brand and communications - the little 5k running route leaflet is such a good idea. Only downside is not the most attractive views out of window and there is construction across the road at moment. But that's the only negative - and I'm pretty fussy. Plus when I asked about the construction they found me another room without me asking for it and were very sweet about it. Highly
Recommend.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Betty80800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Betty80800,

Thank you writing a review.

I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the running map useful.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Warm regards,

Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Amidst the cranes and commotion, South Place Hotel hangs on the northern edge of the City. Access to most anything is very easy via the Moorgate and Liverpool tube stations. Or easily walk to St. Paul's, the Museum of London or find yourself invited to the street by walking into the lobbies of the many snazzy office tours that abound. (Why do they put huge fishtanks on the ground floor if they do not want you to take a look? Oh, well.) As for the hotel, it's terrif. It seems inclined toward those within the financial trade, but it's comfortable, well-tended, loaded with fancy electronics and a great place, we discovered, to watch the final match of the World Cup. (Reward yourself with a lobster roll in the bar. Outstanding.) But the key thing with this place are the people running it, who appear, to the person, to actually enjoy what they are doing and go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. Very impressed with this bunch, especially Paul, concierge-extraordinaire.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapertonGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear CapertonGC,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I have shared it with the entire team who were so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. I was delighted that you were able to explore the local area as well as the restaurants and bars in the hotel. We have some great London landmarks nearby.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Warm regards,

Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We spent 4 very comfortable nights in a South Place King Room: Stylish decor, well sized room with super king-bed and a beautiful black marble bathroom with the citrus scent of the James Heeley,St Clements toiletries.

Our room was very well appointed, lots of natural light from floor to ceiling windows, tea/coffee making facilities, touch panel lighting and good wi-fi. Great selection of magazines in room and interesting artwork throughout the building.

There is a good range of options for breakfast and Moorgate station is a 2 minute walk away, so the hotel is well located for exploring the city.

We enjoyed our stay at South Place very much.

Room Tip: King room is a good size, with natural light and has a deep bath.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oz_muse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear oz_muse,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave such a fantastic review.

I am so pleased you liked the hotel and had an enjoyable stay with us. Art and design is really important to us and we are really proud of our collaboration with the local artists who produced the artworks for the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Warm regards,

Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews