We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet and clean hostel.”
Review of RestUp London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
RestUp London
Ranked #448 of 860 Speciality Lodging in London
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“quiet and clean hostel.”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I had been there alone in a private room for one night at this hostel.
They gave me a double bed room with private bathroom to stay.This is quite nice and large bed for me to sleep in.(Although is a far distant from the tube station....)There is elephant and castle shopping centre by walking for 15 mins (as i walk really slow and relax to get there).There are some city renting bicycle along the street.That area is quiet and I think is a housing area.It's better for you the check the bus to get here by the way(if you have large luggage with you, because it went sucks that i took a large luggage with me taking the tube and i got lost for so many times..........it's crazyyyyyy!!!!!!!!!!!!!)
i remember that there is a 114bus??? reaching between victoria to elephant and castle...you can check if you wish ti stay here,

i heard a alarm noise that night when i am sleeping...at around 12:00,but i am so tired and go to sleep again.....and i turn out save the next morning..hahaaaaa= =,,i actually dunno what's going on.....................................
!!!

PS:there are no hair dryer for the hostel!!!!!
bring your own if you really need that.

there are some hand dryer in the shared bathroom..(i used those to dry my hairrr...!!)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eggeggwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    138
    146
    98
    84
See reviews for
44
86
89
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We went there in haste as we were not being able to secure lodging otherwise. They have secured payment which won over another place around the same price, which is cheap by london standards. It is well located in a quiet neighborhood and you can get to the good stuff in a 40 minute walk, to save the steep underground fare. Last time I went to london I was in Piccadilly backpackers which was by a mile a better location as you practically dived into westminster. It is also important to notice that we added a few years to the age average of the guests, which might or mightn't be less picky.

The Good:
- The building is impressive and beautiful
- The common areas (except bathrooms and toilets) are clean
- They have a cafeteria
- Very good coffe shop and kebab across the street
- Not far away from waterloo, traffalgar square, piccadilly and beyond
- Adequate bedding and matress with sha


The bad
- Faulty showers that didn't drain
- Lack of toilet paper
- General untidiness and odor in showers and toilets
- 2 pounds not retunable for a 24 hr locker
- 10 pound (refoundable) deposit per key
- 14 people dorm which is far from private

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldtraveler1002
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is by far one of the better hostels I have stayed in anywhere in the world.
It is new, has weather was great, there was a fantastic outside space with grass to seat on, they even had a bbq going with burgers and sausages to buy ( thought that was great).
The rooms were decent, very clean, mine also had en suite shower and toilet which is an almost unheard of luxury in a hostel. Great chill out area including a room with a big TV, pool table and lots of comfortable sofas. The hostel was busy but staff were still very friendly and helpful.
Location was good too, close distance to Elephant and Castle tube station ( zone 1) also loads of buses to anywhere in London just outside the hostel.
I really enjoyed the stay and really recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtraveler1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Shared a quad room with sink and shower. Nice looking reception and dining area. Beds were comfortable, but the room was a little dusty and could have been cleaner. Staff didn't seem very helpful. Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittyempire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The shower was so dirty none of us could use it, and I have travelled South East Asia so I don't have stupidly high standards!
Our window wouldn't shut which given the constant shouting from directly outside was not ideal.
You have to pay £5 to use a towel, each!
One of the bed sheets had what looked like a large blood stain on it.
The vending machine stole our money and staff just shrugged and laughed.
The room was so small that we could not all be off the bed at the same time. It was so claustrophobic, you couldn't fit any luggage in and there was no room to manoeuvre. There was no ventilation at all which meant that with that many people in the room it was unbearable. The tiny window did nothing.
The noise went on until 5am, which was fine, but it then started again at 7am.
I think we could have coped had it been dirt cheap, but we paid £81 for this when we could have got a reasonable hotel room for less if we had travelled a little, in future we would always do that. This seemed like an easy option but totally backfired.
Perhaps if you are a hardened traveller then this is OK but for us it is definitely somewhere we will never return!
2 showers later and I still feel dirty. I wish I had taken photos but I just couldn't get out quick enough!
Also it is not easy to get back here at night from lots of places, we had the option of 3 nightbuses or a £50 taxi.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013

the rooms were basic but fine. The staff were really helpful and friendly. But the toilets and shower rooms were awful- cleaned with only water which just made it muddy. The showers and loos were never cleaned whilst we were there. resulting in faeces etc being in the loo and bins regularly. For the price we could have got a cleaner apartment between us! The placement of the hostel was very handy for seeing London though.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iona m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2013

we had very amazing time, they had very big garden ,and we had barbecue,

very central, brand new tv room ,left , hot showers,

it will be perfect for back packers for few nights, friendly staff,

i have stayed in London in many hostels, it is one of the best ,and they are few in central London

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#703 of 1,069 in London
137 reviews
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#40 of 860 in London
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
St Christopher's Village London Bridge
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#62 of 860 in London
2,043 reviews
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#39 of 860 in London
2,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RestUp London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RestUp London

Property: RestUp London
Address: 172 New Kent Road | Driscoll House, London SE1 4YT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #448 of 860 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — RestUp London 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REST UP hostel in London has been established within Driscoll House, a unique pre-WWI baroque style listed building, unlike any other in the surrounding suburb of Elephant & Castle. We have a century old history of being a hostel, a claim that we are very proud of, originally just for women and children however now open to all. With an original exterior, the interior has been brought up to date with modern common areas perfect for relaxing and zoning out of reality and into the cyber world with our FREE WIFI. Our TV room and terrace are both great places to enjoy some snacks and laze around in the brightly coloured chairs/ bean bags and soak up the sunlight (on the rare occasions when London’s weather decides to shine). English not your mother tongue? That’s not a problem! We have multi-lingual staff that are here to help you. A hostel unlike any other hostel; with the hustle and bustle of central London on our doorstep complimented by the great array of guests within (young and old from all around the world) as well as friendly staff and delicious meals available throughout the day it’s the perfect place to make new friends, relax and REST UP at Driscoll House Hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your RestUp London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing