We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want a tour around London that you won't forget, go with John Steel.”

Tour de Force London
Ranked #171 of 692 Tours in London
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“If you want a tour around London that you won't forget, go with John Steel.”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

John Steel is the epitome of everything you could possibly want in a tour guide. What he doesn't know is not worth knowing. He is charismatic, fascinating to listen to and commands attention with a voice both authoritative and lyrical. Our tour with him was a treat.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank radralwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A brilliant and informative tour guide.”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

John took our group of about 50 people on a 10k charity fund-raising walk around the City and East End of London. He was an enthusiastic, well-informed guide with a mine of information about Jewish London as well as general knowledge about life in London through the ages. He brought everything to life through his insight and interesting observations. He appealed to all ages of those in the group and I would highly recommend him as a tour guide.
Judy W.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JMWax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic informative and enthusiastic guide. John Steele.”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Highly interesting and informative tour of the City and East end of London.
John was mine of information answering tirelessly our endless questions with enthusiasm
and knowledge .
Looking forward to taking another of his tours with a group of friends . A totally different way to spend an evening in our home town .

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Antioclockwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tour around Jewish East End of London”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

John Steele was our guide for the evening. With a group of around 30 people, I did a 10k walk around the City and the Jewish East End of London. John brought all the sights to life, with his passionate love of history of the area, we could imagine how the people of the time lived their lives. I would highly recommend John as a tour guide. He knowledge is amazing, and he is so enthusiastic, he kept me enthralled for the whole 4 hours of our walk. I look forward to taking my family next time!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Israel Relief Charity Meir Panim Soup Walk in East End”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

John Steele was the guide for a 10k sponsored charity walk through Jewish East End London.

The atmosphere was abuzz with excitement as the participants set off to explore an area rich in Jewish history, where of course there were a number of soup kitchens at the turn of the last century feeding thousands of Jews every day, including the famous Jewish Soup Kitchen For The Poor in Brune Street, Spitalfields.

The walk also took in sights such as London’s oldest Ashkenazi Synagogue, Sandys Row, Brick Lane, the site of Bloom’s restaurant (now a Burger King branch) and concluded at Bevis Marks, Britain’s oldest synagogue.

John was the most fantastic guide his knowledge of the area and the Jewish history was very impressive with all of the participants learning new things about their own heritage. This coupled with John's enthusiastic delivery made for an unforgettable experience. We had amazing feedback mainly about John!

Yael Schlagman, MANNA Meir Panim UK Campaigns Director

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Yael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tour de Force London also viewed

 

Been to Tour de Force London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing