We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ottis Gibbs”

The Old Queens Head
Ranked #64 of 1,284 Nightlife in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Old Queens Head offers a spectacular setting with its bespoke chandeliers and its 16th Century fireplaces. It is also a live performance venue and plays host to world class bands and DJs.The venue has a Karaoke Room with a dress up box, booze button and the playlist is constantly updated.In the week the kitchen offers a simple and tasty pub menu and at weekends there is brunch or on Sundays a roast.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ottis Gibbs”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We went to see Ottis at the The Old Queens Head on Tuesday evening (22/7/14) What a wonderful performer, his voice is truly amazing. He is such a sincere man, his song speak volumes about the man he is. If you ever get the opportunity to see the great singer life, don't miss it.
The Venue itself was very pleasant they could do with a few more stool around the place, but other than that a great evening.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank marnold2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    22
    6
    3
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rude staff”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We booked the karaoke room. When we got there they said we couldn't go up yet as they hadn't finished getting it ready, when we were allowed up they were still getting the karaoke machine started. As the first song came on we realised that one mic was very quiet and the other didn't work at all, two members of staff tried to get them working, then we were handed them back and they left, unfortunately they still didnt work, we called them back, the staff member that came back seemed annoyed to have to try and fix the mics again. We were given 2 bottles of prosecco for the trouble, then they took these away as they realised they couldn't charge us for the karaoke (why get our backs up anymore? What would two bottles cost them, a few quid?). We should have had room service but this was now not allowed even though we were on the 3rd floor with no bar- why not make some money off us, there were 15 of us!! Then got chucked out early as they had another booking!!! So obviously they were happy to fob some other poor people off with broken mics, which made me think they had been broken a while.There were no replacement mics and the music catalogue was poor. We were treated like we were a problem, the waitress was like a stroppy teenager who hadn't learnt how to smile yet.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank keb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great for a drink, rubbish as a venue”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

i've been a few times for drinks and it's got a good lively atmosphere but enough of the decor to keep the pub-feeling. they run events upstairs and we went for a comedy night which turned out to be quite stressful, downstairs was a pub quiz which started just before the comedy (upstairs) but we were not allowed upstairs until they had finishes prepping the room (we have no idea what they were prepping as the only different from usual was a plastic banner which had been blu-taked to the mantle). so there was a sizeable huddle of us waiting to go upstairs and just basically in the way of everyone doing the pub quiz. we were then told we could not take food or order upstairs even though we were told we could, and on previous occasions we have been able to. so awkward start, and many, including us, left early to get dinner, by which time it was 10pm. also drink prices on the slightly higher end of the scale for a pub

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank VickyL87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“new years was terrible”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Paid 20 GBP to go on new years. The venue is dated, the speakers were of terrible quality and the DJs were average. Don't waste your time or money on going to this place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ianoflynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A real beast of a boozer”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I've visited The Old Queen's Head many times and rate it as one of the best pubs in London for the 25-35 crowd. There's so much going on and the venue's success is warranted. I wouldn't say that there is any one particular thing that is specifically amazing, but it attracts the right custom base and everything about it is done well. On quieter nights, service is the right mix of banter and professionalism, and on busy nights the staff knuckle down and get things done as quickly as possible. There's a decent range of drinks and the food is good. The upstairs room is a great venue for both private parties and events that The Old Queens Head put on themselves. Definitely check it out if you're that end of town.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Queens Head also viewed

 

Been to The Old Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing