We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cocktails, role play is a bit forced”

Evans & Peel Detective Agency
Ranked #1,769 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: South Kensington
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cocktails, role play is a bit forced”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Went here for a few cocktails with friends.

The 'role play' (you have to act as if you want the detective agency to solve a case you have come up with) was a bit short lived and forced.

After being taken to our table, we had a couple of cocktails. I went for an orange cocktail with butter (!) in it. It was excellent (tasted like marmalade on toast!).

Only downside is that it was VERY hot inside (we were sat by the entrance). We were all dripping with sweat and had to use the menus to fan ourselves (this was in the middle of the recent 'heatwave') and the ventilation was lacking. The waiter moved us to a new table when another group left, and this table was much cooler.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewliin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    81
    31
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All about the venue not the food”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

The theme to this restaurant really works, great ambiance and atmosphere. Sadly the food was disappointing, tasteless and pre made, we ordered a choc brownie for pudding and came out frozen. I would recommend this venue for cocktails and a giggle!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthLondonTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookville, Ohio
Level Contributor
83 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great night out!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We just left Evans & Peel and are quite happy we made an appointment there on our vacation to London. Our entry was fully questioned upon entry, bringing on the full experience. Once inside, the drinks and service were great. It took a whole to find the drinks we preferred, and in the end, our favorites were the Rainforest Shrub and Gin and Tiki. We tried both the shredded pork nachos and beef sliders upon recommendation, the sliders being much favoured. This is a great place the first time and a second time bringing unknowing guests. A must-try!

Helpful?
Thank Robbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A fabulous "find"”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Having booked an appointment online and given our "case", we eventually found the front door and rang the bell.
We confirmed our appointment, the door opened and we made our way downstairs where we were met by the glamourous receptionist. She did really well making amusing references to our case, then allowed us through the secret doorway.
We could only stay for one drink as we had a different dinner reservation, however our G-Minus (gin without the tonic!) were great and the bread/oil was lovely.
Everything about the place is in keeping - the waiters and their braces, the background music. And lovely knowing that you are part of a secret club... there is no way that anyone there has just decided to come into the bar.
Fantastic concept - just wish we had been able to stay for longer.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda_fifeFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
117 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Different night out!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Took my boyfriend for his birthday, good atmosphere and nice cocktails (unusual ones); staff were good fun and polite but once they got busy service was slow (30 mins between asking for the bill and being able to pay it). Food was ok but pricey for what it was, but you are paying for your surroundings I guess. In summary it was a good cocktail bar with a twist, I'd go back but just for drinks not for food

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenM1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Evans & Peel Detective Agency also viewed

 

Been to Evans & Peel Detective Agency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing