We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A comfortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich
Ranked #187 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We recently stopped here for 3 nights. We had never been to Greenwich so fancied a change, it was a nice base for our stay and we had a good look around. We used the thames clipper boat to get to other parts of London together with the tube. The staff were welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable if slightly small. We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that. The only niggle we had was the shower screen it wasnt long enough so the floor was drenched after a shower and like others have mentioned whilst I did like the quirky writing on the door, I do love my husband but we didn't particularly like being able to see each other on the toilet!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurajanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest, It is great to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff welcoming. We have noted your comments regarding the shower and bathroom door and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    774
    498
    140
    63
    22
See reviews for
198
723
75
238
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed here over Easter weekend. Two rooms for three nights. Great hotel, well appointed, very clean, lovely rooms, comfortable beds, professional staff and a reasonably good location in a quiet residential area and just minutes away from the local DLR station.

The breakfast was amazing and nothing was too much trouble for the very friendly and professional staff. And the breakfast, if booked in advance was only £10, was phenomenal value for money.

The one issue for us was the fact that we were located over the air conditioning units to the rear of the building which were mind blowingly noisy!

We would definitely stay again, but would specifically request a higher floor room or one at the front of the building.

Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the air conditioning units!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Herfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review and recommendation. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the positive feedback on our breakfast team. We look forward to welcoming you again soon hopefully and will be happy to assign you a quiet room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The hotel and the room is amazing, and here is why.
The hotel is well kept, clean and has a feeling of "new". The bed was really comfortable and the technology is well up to date. We could control the AC from the television, big plus since it needed to be cooler when we wanted to sleep. Internet is free.
The Roomservice was very nice, we had thai curry, pecan pie and chicken pesto sandwich, all very good.
Here comes the buts:
Designer shower was amazing, good preassure but the showercabin allowed most water to get on the bathroomfloor.
Designerglassed sliding bathroomdoor is interesting, but might as well have it open since it didnt close, 1 inch gaps on both sides, so if you havnt been to the toilet together before, you will after this.
Not very soundproof from the hallway, we could hear everyone that walked past.
I would recommend to not take the breakfast since service was a bit insecure, got tea that wasnt really warm, not fully stocked buffé, but alot of variety.
It was hard finding an outlet to charge phone, unless we wanted to pull out a lamp. We found one.

We are coming back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarroEriksson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. It is fantastic to read that you had a good stay with us and liked the hotel and the room with its in-room technology. I am however sorry to read that you were not impressed with all the features and we have taken such on board. We are truly delighted to read that you will be back and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed at the Mercure for 9 nights. We booked a standard room with a double bed and when we arrived we were suitably impressed by the quality of the reception area as well as the bar and restaurant. The staff were all very friendly and we were made to feel quite welcome. Our room was on the fifth floor with a nice view of the small park below. The room was adequate in size, well designed and furnished. There were the standard appliances that you would expect from any good hotel - television, iron, hair dryer, electric kettle as well as bottled water, coffee, tea and biscuits. The following day we noticed that the room had been cleaned, the coffee and tea had been replenished but the biscuits were not. We put this down to an oversight and said nothing about it. The next day we went out at 7:00 AM and did not get back in till 8:00 PM. We were looking forward to a nice cup of tea and biscuits but again the biscuits were missing so I went down to the desk to ask if I could get some. I was informed that they could not because only housekeeping had access to the biscuits. They apologised and assured me that they would talk to housekeeping so that this would not happen again.

Next day, after another long day, we came back to the room and, once again, found the biscuits had not been replenished. I rang reception, explained the situation but this time I made it known that I was not happy. Again the receptionist apologised and assured me that she would rectify the situation. About 5 minutes later, I received a phone call from the manager and he explained to me that because I had booked a standard room, I was not entitled to coffee and tea making facilities and that the only reason I had them was that the room had been prepared as a “Privilege” room. He then went on to tell me that regardless of that he would ensure that we would be given biscuits for the remainder of our stay.

You would think that would be the end of the story but it’s not. The next day (and every day till I left), even after the manager himself promised that everything would be set right, the biscuits were still not supplied.

Small thing - but it’s the small things that make the difference.

As an aside, I was amazed to think that a standard room in a supposedly 4 star hotel would not include coffee and tea making facilities so I went back to the Mercure web site (http://www.mercure.com/gb/hotel-8634-mercure-london-greenwich/room.shtml) to check room descriptions.

This is what I found.

Standard Room with double bed
Designed with style & comfort. Flat screen TV with latest technology including AC temperature control & Multi Media, WiFi, Work Desk, DD Phone & Voicemail, T/C facilities, Laptop Safe, Iron & Board, Toiletries & Hairdryer

Privilege Room with 1 Queen bed
Designed with Style & comfort. Flat screen TV with latest technology incl AC temperature control & Multi Media, WiFi, Work Desk, DD Phone & Voicemail, T/C facilities, Laptop Safe, Iron & Board, Toiletries & Hairdryer

So it seems that I was given the wrong information either deliberately or inadvertently. Either way, it does not reflect well on the management.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share such comprehensive feedback about your stay. I am really glad to read that you found our staff to be friendly and welcoming and that your overall stay was enjoyable. I am so sorry to read that we failed to replenish the biscuits after you had requested for it and I will have a word with the housekeeping team. I am also sorry for the confusion caused with regards to amenities and l would like to inform you that we only provide biscuits in our privilege rooms. We are however happy to arrange for biscuits upon request. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed for three nights in a standard room.

The good
The staff are very helpful and friendly
The room was very good with excellent shower and comfortable bed
The quality of the furnishing was high
Breakfast is very good which lots of choice from healthy to meals that will keep you going all day

The bad
The only let down was the evening meal. I chose steak pie and mash and regretted it. It cost 50% more than at a pub or restaurant close by but the quality and sloppiness of the cooking was beyond belief. The pie was a packet pie or average quality and the mashed potato was instant potato. I complained to the waiter who said he would tell the chef but the waiter did not offer any redress. This complaint is justified because many visitors will be visiting London for the first time and do not deserve this poor standard.

What would have been five stars for this hotel is downgraded to three stars because of the very poor performance of the evening meal. If this hotel can improve the evening meals it will deserve five stars. All the chef needs to do if visit a few local pubs and restaurants to see how to prepare these dishes and then improve on this in order the justify the higher price charged.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. Great to hear you liked the hotel and thank you for recognising our team. I am disappointed to read that you were not satisfied with your meal and I will speak to chef regarding his pie. I can confirm that we do not use instant mashed potatoes but 100% frozen potatoes and the feedback we got so far from our guests was only positive. I am sorry to learn that after raising the issue with the waiter no satisfactory acknowledgement or resolution was achieved. I have relayed your feedback to the Food & Beverage manager who will ensure that the appropriate corrective actions will be taken. We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again and that you get a chance to try out some of the other delicious dishes on offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed here for 4 days to be further away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Never been to London before, we found it surprisingly very accesible and a short 20 minute ride to the city (via Greenwich underground tube station) yet far away enough to experience a peaceful and quiet suburb. The double room was very spacious (much to my surprise as the hotel website photo made it look smaller), clean and comfortable. Hotel decor elegant and staff were very polite and helpful. I would recommend this hotel again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your high recommendation. It really means a lot that you have identified the team as polite and helpful. We are also glad that you like the hotel and were able to benefit from the hotels convenient location for central London. We hope to welcome you back really soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, UK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at this Mercure last week in order to be reasonably close to the O2 arena.
We'd searched for a deal for a while and my wife struck lucky on lastminute.com
I've stayed in a few Mercures over the years and know the brand. This hotel either through it's 'newness' or the building does exude a very good ambience and delivers quality above the brand!

The room we had was quite large for the London proximity as well as being thoroughly well appointed. It literally had everything we needed.
The room was clean and tidy with a large bathroom, complete with massive shower.
The only slight drawback to our room was the slight noise coming from the AC units at the back of the hotel so maybe it's better to ask for a room at the front overlooking the square.

The staff were excellent, very helpful and efficient.
The location is also very good for exploring London too as it's within a short walk of Deptford DLR station.

When going to the O2 in future we will be searching for a deal in this place.

Room Tip: Choose rooms at the front overlooking the square. Higher floor is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lozzmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for you kind review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found our rooms to be a good size for London. We recognise that when the hotel is fully booked the air conditioning units are more likely to make a humming noise. We are currently looking into this and hope to have a remedy for it soon. Always check the Mercure website for the best deals and the earlier you book the cheaper it will be. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Greenwich
InterContinental London - The O2
The Westbridge Hotel
#100 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
#235 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
East End / East London
Sunborn London
Sunborn London
#147 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,350 reviews
Greenwich
Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich
Address: Catherine Grove, London SE10 8FR, England (Formerly Mercure London Greenwich)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Royal Greenwich, the Greenwich Hotel London is just a 15 minute walk from the Cutty Sark, Maritime Museum and near the O2 Arena. Close to Canary Wharf, Excel Exhibition Centre and with great transport links to Central London, this London Hotel is easily accessible via the DLR from Greenwich station and is near to Greenwich Market and the observatory. This 4* hotel offers free wi-fi in all bedrooms, the restaurant and bar. Use of the hotel gym is free for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing