We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service and good option close to Greenwich”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich
Ranked #164 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and could not fault the cleanliness, refurb and quality of customer service. Was nice to see the staff so genuinely happy and like each other. As other shave mentioned the connecting bathroom door is a tad see through and does not really close properly which wasn't a huge issue for us but would understandably be for some.

We chose to have breakfast pre booked for 10pound but while again the customer service was great the quality of food wasn't.

Greenwich is a lovely spot. It is about a 10-15 min walk to the village but right near the train. Just be wary walking back late at night as we discovered the surrounding area can feel a little iffy then.

A great option to visit Greenwich on a tighter budget.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PetaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is fantastic that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the team to be genuinely happy. I have noted your comments with regards to the bathroom door and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,830)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,248 - 1,254 of 1,830 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

A very modern hotel with really lovely staff. Very comfy beds and it was spotlessly clean. The food was excellent and reasonably priced considering we were staying in London but the only downside was its location. It is described as being in Greenwich and within easy walking distance of Cutty Sark but this is not true because it is actually two more stops on the DLR to Deptford Bridge from there. The surrounding area is not very pleasant with lots of businesses empty and quite a bit of building work going on behind the hotel which was a bit noisy but maybe when this is completed it will make the area nicer to stay in. I would've liked to stay again another time but I think the location would put me off which is a shame.

Room Tip: Choose a room high up to see excellent views of London Eye and The Shard when lit up at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phyl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am sorry to read that you were not too keen on the hotels location but glad you did like the hotel and found the team lovely. The Cutty Sark is around a 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel and we hope you decide to stay with us again should you be in the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is about 8 minutes walk from the centre of Greenwich or you can catch the 177 bus (this is useful if it is raining about 3/4 stops). The check in and check out process was efficient, for breakfast a wide choice of food is offered unfortunately we had problems we ordered porridge and eggs Benedict which did not arrive, we asked for them to be followed up and both items were delivered together, the staff were apologetic and offered to keep one of them warm, we decided to keep both of them and ate the eggs Benedict followed by the porridge. The hotel is clean, the rooms are clean and comfortable. In the evening we went back into Greenwich and ate at the Rimminton Grill. (Near the bus stop) remember to get off the bus at cafe rouge for the centre.
Location is perfect for visiting all the tourist attractions in Greenwich, we arrived by boat travelling on the Thames from Westminster bridge on the direct river boat, this was well worth it there was commentary on the boat the journey was 40 minutes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your 5 star review, it really is much appreciated and I am pleased to read that you had a good stay with us. Glad you could benefit from the hotels convenient location for central London and Greenwich and arriving by boat is a nice way to see London from a different perspective. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a perfect choice for a short stay in Greenwich. The hotel is spotlessly clean, with rooms of a good size (for London standards) and is very stylish. It's location also means that is very quiet. We couldn't fault the staff during our stay, everyone was very attentive and had great attention to detail. I tried to pre-arrange an early check-in (by about 1 hour and a half), but unfortunately this could not be guaranteed which was a shame, but due to traffic we arrived later than planned anyway.

Our room had a view of the London Eye, which was a nice bonus and the breakfast was really good value for money. Ensure you pre-arrange a parking space as parking is very limited.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view! Pre-arrange parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pajtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for having chosen us for your last stay in Greenwich and for taking the time to post your kind comments on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The staff:
Excellent address, the staff was efficient and helped us with our reservation (we had a problem to pay with our credit card) to find a solution. Thus they were always friendly and available for us.

The room:
The room was perfectly clean, and tea and cookies were at hand every morning. The bathroom was nice and modern.

The bar:
The bar had some great cocktails (perfect for arriving and departure) and even snacks late at night for late arrivals.

Location:
The only drawback was the location, during day it's not a real issue, but at night the underground wasn't passing in this region. So we had to take the taxi, if coming back late at night.

For short, the hotel is really excellent in every aspect for London but it's a bit out of the center.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christophe_Lap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted that the team made you feel welcome and that you enjoyed your stay even though you were not too keen on the hotels location. We very much hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel is lovely, the decor in the public areas and the rooms all appears new and everything is very clean. The staff are extremely polite and friendly and the service at breakfast was excellent, probably the best staff I have ever experienced in a UK hotel. The hotel is very quiet and the beds very comfy. The only downside is the location, this is not what I would expect when the location is described as Greenwich. The hotel is nearer to Deptford Bridge station and the walk from the station is not pretty. There is one Indian restaurant nearby but not a lot else in the way of bars or restaurants. However, if you are not bothered about the immediate location of the hotel then I can't recommend it highly enough, excellent value and superb staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind comments and we are pleased you had an enjoyable visit. I am delighted that you have identified the team as “the best staff experienced in the UK”. You definitely made the team feel very proud and special! Even though you were not too keen on the hotels location, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

good hotel for a short visit to london, staff lovely, room clean and tidy. All essentials available in the room - water, shampoo, soap, hairdryer etc. Quiet hotel and even quieter room! comfortable bed and light room.
5 minutes walk from deptford bridge - brilliant access to london central.
cant comment on food as didnt eat there - personal preference.

Room Tip: 214 was a very quiet room with 2 windows to lighten u pthe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah_sutcliffe_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon hopefully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbridge Hotel
#99 of 1,077 in London
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich
De Vere Devonport House
De Vere Devonport House
#399 of 1,077 in London
1,438 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich

Address: Catherine Grove, London SE10 8FR, England (Formerly Mercure London Greenwich)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £75 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Royal Greenwich, DoubleTree By Hilton London Greenwich is just a 15 minute walk from the Cutty Sark, Maritime Museum and near the O2 Arena. Close to Canary Wharf, Excel Exhibition Centre and with great transport links to Central London, this London Hotel is easily accessible via the DLR from Greenwich station and is near to Greenwich Market and the observatory. This 4* hotel offers free wi-fi in all bedrooms, the restaurant and bar. Use of the hotel gym is free for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing