We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Service, Staff & Food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich
Ranked #190 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb Service, Staff & Food!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Booked a Privilege Room for one overnight stay for a theatre trip, and particularly wanted to be near Greenwich, and found ourselves on the 9th Floor with impressive panorama of the city. Room very well planned with modern decor and extremely comfortable bed (5*), also not much noise to disturb being on 9th floor! Whilst the surrounding area appears a bit neglected, every aspect of our stay was fantastic and we received some of the best customer service we had ever encountered. Reception, bar, breakfast and dinner waiting staff could not be faulted and were welcoming, professional, efficient and friendly. Other chains could learn so much from this team, and if this is indicative of Mercure training then I will be a long & loyal customer henceforth. Special mention must be made of the food which was beautifully presented, great quality and utterly delicious! If the hotel management monitors these reviews then we hope that our sincere thanks and appreciation is passed on to your staff as they are a credit to the organisation. Many, many thanks.

Room Tip: Request an upper floor if you want a quieter night but only if you have a head for heights! Privileg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AugustaRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine W, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your kind words. These will be certainly passed on to our teams.
We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Thank you very much.
Best regards,
Bruna Vila Verde
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    836
    529
    144
    68
    26
See reviews for
220
773
80
257
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great room, modern furniture, very clean and fresh. Room cleaning of a high standard. Also very quiet at night. Wide views from the west side of the building across london, and only 10 minutes train journey from London Bridge station.

Someone else has already said this here on Tripadvisor, but it's worth repeating: get your cheap snacks from the Tesco supermarket around the corner.

10-15 pounds for breakfast is too much to pay - you can get cheaper elsewhere!

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor. 5th floor on the west (river) side has a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TevredenLeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine W, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words.

We hope you've had a delightful experience on this stay and many more to come.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Bruna Vila Verde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just stayed here to meet some friends nearby. Got a fantastic deal. It can be a bit noisy (ground floor facing car park) but is in a lovely safe area. Easy to walk to from DLR. Love the quirky shower room and bed very comfy indeed. The best thing about this hotel is the staff. Very attentive without being overbearing. Didn't do breakfast. Great value for money. Although I am familiar with London a bit more info about surrounding area and hotel facilities would be welcome for those on a first trip. First stay at a Mercure and won't be last. Well done to all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine W, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments.

Your feedback about our team will certainly be passed on.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Bruna Vila Verde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We went to the hotel for dinner with friends.The bar area was relaxing and very airy, plenty of seating and a lovely atmosphere. Brilliant service.
In the restaurant again a lovely atmosphere with a very good varied menu.The food was first class with polite and competent staff.Would definately recommend and return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simone027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine W, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. This will certainly be passed on the bar and restaurant team.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Bruna Vila Verde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
127 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Our group of nurses book an annual summer trip culminating in champagne cream tea in various locations of interest. Having researched a cream tea in greenwhich, this hotel was selected. We booked a few months in advance stating the restaurant as preference having been given the choice. On arrival yesterday we were seated in a lounge, on armchairs surrounding a large coffee table, totally unsuitable to eat a cream tea on laps. We complained and were told there was another function in the restaurant, even though we had booked months in advance. Eventually we were placed in a small conference room, something we are used to in our work capacity, not something we were wanting on our day off but the only option. From there on the tea experience became a complete shambles. Cold tea was served without milk or food, left to get cold. The champagne arrived only after requesting as per booking. Our booking was for 3.30pm and we were still waiting for food at 4.15pm. We had time limitations as a coach was picking us up. After complaining again and again a brilliant waiter, Fredriuque came to save the day, at long last. He organised the rest of tea as needed. The actual food was tasty and we did enjoy the champagne.
We have been doing this for over 10 yrs and this was the most chaotic and badly organised cream tea we have ever experienced. We were given 1 bottle of champagne and proseco as compensation. On paying the bill our deposit was forgotten and we were over charged for 1 extra person, this was rectified after we brought it to their attention. Even though we have said poor service the waiter Fredrique was very good as was his female helper.
As a group we had enjoyed our day in greenwhich and didn't let this spoil our day. The hotel itself looked lovely, modern and clean. We will put this down to an experience, hopefully not to be repeated.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPDLEIGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine W, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Greenwich.

I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations and for that please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

I can confirm your comments are being taken very seriously and are currently being investigated to prevent future occurrence. On the positive side, I can assure you I will pass on your praise to our Fedrerico.

We very much appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure London Greenwich and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Regards,
Bruna Vila Verde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel was situated in a side street on the outskirts of Greenwich. I had ore booked the hotel because the star rating and description was what I wanted. The first room were placed in had a view of a brick wall despite the hotel description stating stunning views. After first night I complained so they did give me another room with a view but not of the river.

Room was alright but did not have a fridge which I would expect in a modern four star rated hotel. Hotel air condition was often arctic at times. We could adjust this in the room but there was no option of opening a window. In the bar and breakfast room the temperature was certainly extremely chilly. Drinks were expensive at £9 for a Campari and soda.

On the positive side the staff were very pleasant and tried to be helpful, however, I would not go back there or recommend it as a place to stay.

Room Tip: Check the view options before accepting a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine W, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments. I am gutted your experience did not meet your expectations and for that please accept my apologies.

I can assure you your feedback is being taken very seriously to avoid future occurrence.

I hope you will give us the chance to welcome you back in the future and provide you with an hassle free experience.

Best regards,
Bruna Vila Verde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We live in London and i had booked a surprise night for us here, specifically for my partner as a pre-Father's day surprise/night off from our newborn baby. I had requested a room on a high floor - didn't get it, oh well.

Check in was smooth, although I was surprised to have £50 debited off a card for security reasons (having just checked my bank balance to see if it's been returned, it doesn't actually look as if the £50 was ever taken). We'd forgotten our phone charger but reception were able to loan us one for our stay which was great.

We stayed on the night of the first England game in the World Cup and the game was being shown in a conference room for guests, which was a nice touch. We couldn't be be bothered to go out to dinner, so dined in the restuarant. We were the only guests in there, which was nice..and quite romantic.

We were very pleased with our room - the bed was very comfy and the bathroom clean and spacious. I really don't have any complaints - well just a tiny one. I had enquired about a late check out and was told incorrect information, which was annoying. That aside, It was a lovely night away for us and we'll certainly return in the near future. The hotel is lovely and a hidden gem in London.

Room Tip: Stock up on munchies/food at the Tesco Express across the road to save money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caramel_x30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine W, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure London Greenwich.

We truly appreciate your kind words and your concerns will certainly be addressed to the relevant departments.

We very much appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back.

Regards,
Bruna Vila Verde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Greenwich
InterContinental London - The O2
The Westbridge Hotel
#102 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
#236 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich
Address: Catherine Grove, London SE10 8FR, England (Formerly Mercure London Greenwich)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Royal Greenwich, DoubleTree By Hilton London Greenwich is just a 15 minute walk from the Cutty Sark, Maritime Museum and near the O2 Arena. Close to Canary Wharf, Excel Exhibition Centre and with great transport links to Central London, this London Hotel is easily accessible via the DLR from Greenwich station and is near to Greenwich Market and the observatory. This 4* hotel offers free wi-fi in all bedrooms, the restaurant and bar. Use of the hotel gym is free for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing