We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GreenwichJuly 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich
Ranked #167 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Colin E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Janine W, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,169 - 1,175 of 1,797 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Arnold V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Janine W, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Janine W, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed for six nights and found this a veery good base. I was on my own and felt safe n the neighbourhood. The hotel is near to the DLR. My room was quiet.. Bed very comfortable. Good free wifi. Very helpful staff. Breakfast good value.i wil use this hotel agin when I am in London

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ciao_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine W, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your kind words. This will definitely be passed on to the team. It is always a pleasure to receive such comments and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again.
Best regards,
Bruna Vila Verde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This was better than expected. Check in was efficient and friendly. We were incorrectly assigned two dbl rooms and these were quickly changed to twins. One room was nicer than the other (019) with big windows overlooking the adjacent park. The other I would describe as a standard 4* business hotel room. Fittings were all in good order, my only criticism of the design is the use of sliding bathroom glass doors which lack privacy.
We ate in the bar in the evening. Food was slightly above average, prices were as expected. Bar staff were friendly and helpful. The bar is very attractive, with good furnishing and a nice intimate atmosphere.
Breakfast was good value at 10GBP. Good quality buffet and other items to order, but not extra cost. Again very good staff.
Hotel Parking should be pre booked at extra cost, is secure but expensive. There is little alternative as heavy parking restrictions in this area.
We used the hotel to visit the O2. Be advised this is not walking distance (neither is Greenwich Park really) and cost c£10 each way by taxi.
Overall, a very nice hotel in an unpromising part of London which we would recommend if you need to be in this area. It is not a suitable choice if you want easy access to Heathrow or Gatwick Airports, but would be suitable for Stansted.

Room Tip: Room 019 Ground Floor big windows overlooking park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alanbus h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine W, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your kind words.
It is always a pleasure to know our teams have left a long lasting positive impression in our guests and your comments will be passed on to them.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,
Bruna Vila Verde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Be advised, unless you intend to hang around the Greenwich area, and this is the reason for your travel, do not book this hotel. Or, do, if you simply love hanging out on the DLR. No point in wasting your time getting public transport from LHR to this place, do spend your money on a private car hire in order to arrive before you must leave. The staff was....aloof and somewhat awkward, bar did not stock what you should be able to expect in a four star hotel. While cosmetically it may look like four stars, my so called double room was at best a single, and without a window except for a small dog-door sized thing with a view to nothing at all unless you were 7 ft tall. Oh, and the staff first refused to accept a package for me, causing it to be returned, and then did not deliver a package to a driver after my departure, on both occasions the drivers tried several times unsuccessfully, both causing loss of money and a wedding outfit. Will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: Do get a room with an actual WINDOW
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iDuck85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine W, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure London Greenwich.
I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure London Greenwich and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.
Yours sincerely,
Bruna Vila Verde
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I booked a twin bedded superior room for one night, and specifically requested easy access, near to lift, a fan in the room. This was confirmed in writing and later by telephone.
I was allocated a room on the 9th floor, that required access by TWO lifts and a hoist! There was a double bed ( not suitably for grandfather and grandson) . The room was very cramped, and I was unable to move into the desk area due to physical problems that I had explained on the telephone. There was only one easy chair. I was initially told that the hotel was full, but then shown a twin , standard, room on the ground floor, which I accepted.
I was told that no fans were available, and that reservations would "say anything to get a booking" without checking. This was untrue, as I had spoken to the hotel itself. The air conditioning was not working, and the promised repair did not happen.
The dinner had a menu that appeared to be brought in, frozen, and reheated. Really not satisfactory.
At breakfast I requested tomato juice, which arrived later when I was eating a cafeteria style bacon and eggs. At £15 I expect a served breakfast.
I had been pressured into buying a par park ticket , which was unnecessary as I had a disabled badge, and there are plenty of spaces just outside. I tried to explain this, but was told that overnight parking was difficult!
I left early to go to an appointment, but the invoice later given to my grandson added dinner as an additional charge, even though I had been given a DBB rate. When I subsequently send an email to the hotel this was cancelled, but I await my credit card account with interest.
No manager was available. I would have expected a letter of apology, but none has been received.
I have tried to find address or contact details on the net, but have not been able to do so.
Really, not to be recommended.

Room Tip: Not bother, as you will get something other than your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank priesthorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine W, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your feedback.
I have already replied to your comments through our Olakala application.
Please let me know if there's anything else I can assist you with.
Bruna Vila Verde
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Greenwich
InterContinental London - The O2
The Westbridge Hotel
#99 of 1,076 in London
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Sunborn London
Sunborn London
#154 of 1,076 in London
2,794 reviews
Greenwich
De Vere Devonport House
De Vere Devonport House
#400 of 1,076 in London
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich

Address: Catherine Grove, London SE10 8FR, England (Formerly Mercure London Greenwich)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £83 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Royal Greenwich, DoubleTree By Hilton London Greenwich is just a 15 minute walk from the Cutty Sark, Maritime Museum and near the O2 Arena. Close to Canary Wharf, Excel Exhibition Centre and with great transport links to Central London, this London Hotel is easily accessible via the DLR from Greenwich station and is near to Greenwich Market and the observatory. This 4* hotel offers free wi-fi in all bedrooms, the restaurant and bar. Use of the hotel gym is free for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Prestigia, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing