We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an hotel with caracter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Chippenham Hotel
Ranked #447 of 554 London B&B and Inns
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“an hotel with caracter”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

it is not the most luxurious hotel. The room was very minimal. Size wise and interior (Ikea rules)
But it was easy to get around (get familiar with the public transportation)
And the fact that the main business of the hotel is the sports bar, with genuine classic design, and un formal service, made it worth it. Value for money, in London (you pay less you get less).....

Room Tip: Location in London makes it much easier, but cost it.... Plan ahead and you will get better offers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    6
    2
    13
See reviews for
1
6
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

went in this pub with a few mates to watch the England game on the big screen on the 6 sept 2013 , this is a pub in London, when we got there the Ireland game was on, no irish people in da pub, all English people, took 10 mins to get served, when I asked y the irish game was on and not the English game. the boy behind the bar told me the landlord is irish, and he wants the irish game on, even tho not a single irish person was in the pub, so a piece of advice to u all don't go to this pub if your English, your not wanted, they will take your cash, but u cant watch any English games in a London pub, im sure this pub is in London?????? go down the road to the red squirrel a much better pub

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Ok first of all I cannot call this place a hotel. I would describe it as a pub with some below average rooms on top of it.

Bad points:
1. Dirty. Bathroom especially was poorly cleaned. There was hair in the shower and the toilet was not clean.

2. Poorly maintained. The bathroom light plus the bed lampshade did not work. The switch for the water geyser was a piece or two of string hanging out in the bathroom. The door does not lock properly from inside giving you a weak sense oF security.

3. Very uncomfortable and noisy bed.

4. You WILL hear music in your room till 2330 hrs and after that you will hear people talking quite loudly. Struggled quite a lot to get a goodnight sleep even though I was not staying there for the weekend.

5. Window in the room WITHOUT curtains leading to the main corridor which is left brightly lit all night hence your room is quite well lit at night and you are potentially exposed. moreover it makes it hard to sleep.

6. Reception. Ok this does not exist. The "reception" is a pub. When you go in you are greeted like "hello mate checking in?? This way.." and you go on the pub thing as if you are buying a pintof beer and the somewhat unkempt bar tender hands you in the key.

7. Unprofessional. You do not fill any forms when you check in (illegal?). In the morning there is no one in reception and you exit the place via a weird passage through the back of the pub. Everything seems to be made half heartedly and the place looks as if it was a brothel changed to an accommodation above a pub.

8. Rough area. The area is not the best. This coupled with the very poor standars of the accommodation on top of the pub (remember it's not a hotel), makes you feel insecure.

9. Breakfast is advertised 0730-1030 but I was told its 0830.

Good points

1. Cheap. But not worth the cheapness.

_-------

I would not recommend this place to anyone and should not be selling such poor service.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MBatchelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stayed at the Chippenham in May 2013, it was a nice little hotel above a pub. The facilities etc. were a little basic, however this was the cheapest hotel I found in London, so you pay for what you get. All in all, I was very happy with my stay, rooms were clean/tidy, staff at the pub were very helpful. Continel breakfast was a little basic, but again was included with the price and was nice enough. If youre looking for a nice cheap hotel towards central london then i would highly recommend the Chippenham.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S_Quincey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel two nights. the hotel is upstairs and there is an enghish pub who have the some name. I liked very much all of this place and also the manager whose name is Becky. And I want also spend some words for Danielle, the beautiful carribean girl who works in the pub. I hope to return soon in this beautiful place.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mauromaiuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miyagi Prefecture, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Although I booked into a bed and breakfast, the breakfast time was late for me so I couldn't eat breakfast!
What was worse, a cup was stained with lip stick and a pot bath mat were dirty,too.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayuyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
The Colonnade London
The Colonnade London
#302 of 1,068 in London
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chippenham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chippenham Hotel

Property: The Chippenham Hotel
Address: 207 Shirland Road | Maida Hill, London W9 2EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #447 of 554 B&Bs / Inns in London
Hotel Class:2 star — The Chippenham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chippenham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing