We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay in a london Ibis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ranked #244 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Somerset england
Level Contributor
166 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“First stay in a london Ibis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

First impression is great, new trendy building, warm welcome, check in was pleasant and no waiting around, stayed with a couple of mates while in London to see the Black Sabbath concert at the O2 arena. Tube station is 2 min walk from the hotel door, there is also a nice pub across the road, which does also sell meals. There is also a Nandows across the road, but it doesn’t stay open very late.
Not much else in the area that we could see, its a ten min walk up the road to the river and some nice walks along the south bank etc.
Great breakfast, nice room all clean and tidy, it delivered for us.
Would definitely use again if staying over in London.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike424u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Assistant General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you so much for having awarded us with a 5 out of 5. I am pleased to see that you have enjoyed your weekend in London and that you are considering staying with us again ! See you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,262
    1,483
    295
    50
    26
See reviews for
617
1,383
169
440
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

A great location for me, with a 5 mins walk to where I work and a 2 minute walk to Southwark tube and a 5 minute walk to Blackfriars station. Very friendly and helpful staff, Very modern decoration and apparently built in 2012 so in good order. It's a normal Ibis so it has the usual plastic bathroom cubicle, which I don't mind, and the open wardrobe, with no drawers or enclosed storage, of which I am not a fan. Air conditioning, free WiFi and full Freeview TV channels so no issues there. I didn't drive so I can't comment on parking and didn't eat in restaurant. There is no room service, although you can phone your order and they will call when it's ready so you can pick it up yourself. Overall, a great stay at a reasonable price for the centre of London. I will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HostMania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Assistant General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
I was really pleased to read that you have enjoyed staying in the ibis London Blackfriars and that you have found our location convenient. Thank you very much for your comment. We hope to have a chance to welcome you back soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

The first good thing about this hotel, apart from the funky and stylish entrance/bar area, is that the staff are really cheery and efficient. They wear sneakers rather than the usual more formal hotel attire and this gives the place a friendly, sensible (ie they can move about quickly!) and buzzy feel. The rooms though are rather more average, with no tea/coffee facilities and not wonderfully comfortable beds/pillows. Even with a reduction in the price the room cost £147 with no breakfast (although breakfast seemed to be reasonably priced, £8.95 I think), and I would have been very happy to stay here for no more than around £100 for the room alone. So I would recommend this hotel and I would also stay at it again if the rather price was better.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loveyumfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Assistant General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you so much for this extremely positive review ! I am really pleased to see that you have enjoyed the design of our hotel and the efficiency of our team ! I hope we will have the chance to welcome you again in the near future !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

A relatively modern but very basic hotel with only the essentials available. Small rooms, limited storage space, shelves for storage instead of drawers. It was a relatively inexpensive, clean, friendly, safe hotel and a good location for my purposes near the Southwark station. Everything felt prefab. The floor moved and creaked when you walked especially the bathroom as if you were in a mobile home. No wash cloths. Certainly this is a budget chain, so if price is your main concern, you might want to consider this.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheldonHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Assistant General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you very much for having taken the time to comment your stay with us. Thank you as well for acknowledging our value for price paid. I hope we will have the chance to welcome you again in the future !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Usually my reviews are very specific but I must recommend this hotel.

Amazing staff. 1 minute walk from Southwark station. Shops everywhere. Tell me what more you would ask for In the heart of London.

Rooms are cosy, with an extra pillow too! Great nights sleep.
I will definitely coming back

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KourtneyKang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Assistant General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Kourtney, thank you very much for this extremely positive review. I was really pleased to discover that you have truly enjoyed staying with us and I hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulloxhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

The good - excellent South Bank (just) location, less than 100m from both Blackfriars Bridge and Southwark Tube station.

However, for over £150/night room only, the Ibis is just far too basic and really offers nothing more than a Travelodge.

It looks like the place has been recently modernised, from an ugly 70s building, with pebble-dashed room interiors. So, lots of curved wood and white, and an all-in-one moulded pod shower room (tiny), but not even a waste paper bin and definitely no room to swing a cat if you have one. Nothing particularly wrong with it and if it was at the Travelodge price level, I would probably think it was fine, but......

The only reason we stayed here was proximity to our Christmas party venue and the fact that we had lots of Accor group loyalty vouchers to use.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Assistant General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you very much for having taken the time to comment your stay with us. To follow up on your remark, our hotel was actually build up very recently and opened just one year ago. I am glad to see that you have found our location convenient !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#182 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
Whitechapel
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
#335 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,795 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
#233 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,880 reviews
Southbank
The Mad Hatter Hotel
The Mad Hatter Hotel
#204 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London Blackfriars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Blackfriars

Property: Ibis London Blackfriars
Address: 49 Blackfriars Road, London SE1 8NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis London Blackfriars 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With free Wi-Fi throughout, a 24 hour reception and a 24 hour meal and drinks menu, the Ibis London Blackfriars offers modern rooms in central London. Just 5 minutes’ walk from Waterloo Station, the Tate Modern is within 10 minutes on foot.Each bedroom comes with an en suite bathroom, a flat-screen TV and an iPod dock. All rooms have city views and come with ironing facilities and free toiletries.Fogg’s restaurant at the Ibis London Blackfriars serves modern and creative meals throughout the day, with Continental and cooked breakfasts available each morning. The area is also dotted with gastro-pubs and chic restaurants, as well as many bars and eateries located along the banks of the Thames.The London Eye and Big Ben are within a 20-minute walk, while 10 minutes on the Jubilee line from Waterloo to Bond Street Tube Station provides access to the shops of Oxford Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis London Blackfriars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing