We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,782)
Filter reviews
3,782 results
Traveller rating
1,519
1,789
369
69
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,519
1,789
369
69
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjubilee linesouth banklondon eyetube stationtate modernborough marketfree wifiminute walkcomfortable bedwalking distanceexcellent locationearly checkconvenient locationbusiness tripbig benshort staytea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
1,449 - 1,454 of 3,782 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here for New Years Eve, and couldn't have been happier with the hotel. Firstly, it was in a great location, it is a stones through away from Southwark tube station and was about a 15 minute walk to the Embankment for the fireworks.

The hotel itself is very clean and well looked after. The lobby/bar/restaurant area is very nice, it is comfortable and relaxing - definitely much better than my experiences staying budget chains such as Travelodge. On check in the staff were extremely friendly and helpful - they explained how to get to our room and answered any of the questions that we had.

Our room was similar to our experiences of the entrance area - it was extremely clean and well maintained. The en-suite was spotless and the room - including the bedding looked brand new. On New Years Day, we enjoyed breakfast in the hotel which was fantastic! The choice is brilliant and what we both had was very tasty.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, and will definitely be booking for NYE this year! Look no further if you want an enjoyable hotel stay in London!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Assistant General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Dear Matt, thank you very much for having given us a 5 out of 5 ! I was extremely pleased to see that you have found our hotel well looked after and our team helpful and friendly. We hope to have a chance to have you staying with us again in 2014 !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

just come back from London new years celebrations, staying at this hotel, what a great location from waterloo station less than 10 mins walk , room first class very clean , bright, spacious, bed very comfortable, all the staff very polite and helpful, breakfast excellent . we had drinks at the bar and found that they were cheaper than the pubs out side the hotel. next time we are in London we will not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: we had room 1212 very quite
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Assistant General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

I was glad to see that you have enjoyed the New Year celebrations in London and in our property ! Thank you very much for having taken the time to comment your stay here. We hope to have a chance to welcome you again in the near future !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ibis London B, Assistant General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The hotel is great and is located a few meters from Southwark Station and Blackfirar train station. The rooms are very clean and with a lot of space. The breakfast, which was not included, is very good. I recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielTeobaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Assistant General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Thank you so much for this 5 out of 5 and this great review following your stay in the ibis London Blackfriars ! I'm really happy to see that you have enjoyed staying with us !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I loved this hotel but got a bit frustrated by the small room and bathroom as I was there for 10 nights. There was no space for two full sized cases and the bathroom solution is novel but noisy and cramped.

Efficient and early check in was appreciated. Room on an upper level faced a side street and very very quiet. I didn't hear a door bang or anything from other rooms. Fantastic sound proofing which I didn't expect in a budget hotel. No clothes iron in the room which was annoying.

The bathroom reminded me of being on a boat! It was fine but a but cramped. The complimentary 'all in one' soap on the sink wasn't filled at any point during our stay which was a bit cheeky. Housekeeping was also a bit stingy with loo roll and only left one spare even if the current roll was practically empty. Had to call for extra a few times. Requests for extra pillows and towels were all promptly responded to.

The location was amazing. Being just outside the heart of town, the restaurants and pubs around it felt less touristy and there was a lot to choose from. The Cut, just behind the hotel had everything you need including a supermarket, cash points, pubs, restaurants and much more. Fantastic for access to Waterloo as well as the South Bank.

Very good value hotel. Would stay there again as I loved how quiet the room was and the location.

Room Tip: Try to get one which doesn't face the main road.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ziva D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Assistant General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Thank you so much for having provided us with such a detailed feedback following your stay in hotel. I have taken on board your remark with regards to our barhroom amenities. I was really pleased to read that you have appreciated our value for price paid. Thank you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews