We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, but let down by reception staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ranked #273 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I regularly stay at this hotel on business it is 5 minutes away from one building I work out of and 10 from the other so it is ideally situated. The rooms are modern, basic yet comfortable. The bar area is comfortable and reasonably priced but on my last couple of trips I have found the reception staff a little harsh and un-helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Assistant General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thank you very much for your comment and for your loyalty to our hotel. I am deeply sorry to read that we have not been entirely meeting lately your expectations. Be assured that I will share this comment with our team since this is not the type of service that we aim to provide in the ibis London Blackfriars. I hope you will still give us the opportunity to welcome you in the near future !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,279 - 1,285 of 3,488 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

Visit was for business however, if I was tourist on a budget this hotel would be suffice as well. The hotel reception is modern and welcoming, it is about 80yards away from the Underground station on Southwark so access to central London is very easy and there is also a bus stop pretty much outside. The staff were friendly the rooms were finished nicely and were immaculately clean, I was on the 13th floor and could see over to the Southbank which was impressive in the dark. The lifts to each floor require a key so security is good for any nervous people. I would recommend this for business and pleasure as a good hotel for what you pay.

Room Tip: Room on the north side on 13th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Assistant General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Harry, thank you very much for your comment and for having highlighted that you would happily stay with us both on business or for leisure ! I hope we will have the chance to welcome you back soon with us !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank RebelliousUno
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ibis London B, Assistant General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 January 2014

the hotel was nice and clean . Rooms bit small but very functional and well desinged . The check in staff was friendly. Breakfast was good .The hotel is modern and contemporary . Very close to the tube station . Nice neighbourhood with a few restaurants and supermarket

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medsBom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Assistant General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

I was really happy to see that you have had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. Thank you very much for your nice comments. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you soon in the ibis London Blackfriars !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Sally K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ibis London B, Assistant General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Situated just 2 mins. from the underground (Jubilee line - Waterloo Station - Green Park - Oxford Street) and 10 mins. walk from the Embankment. Friendly modern reception leads to open plan lounge, bar and breakfast area. Clean, functional, modest size rooms with tea/coffee facilities, satellite TV and particularly comfortable bed. Bright bathroom unit - showers only. No security box. Excellent hot or continental breakfast served until 11 am. Will go again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Assistant General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Ann, thank you so much for this 5 out of 5 ! I am really glad to hear that you have enjoyed the design of our hotel and the practicality of our location ! I am also taking this opportunity to mention that we do have some safe deposit boxes available for free at the reception should you ever need one. Looking forward to welcome you back !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Great hotel and very central. We stayed for 2 nights and we was very lucky to get a room on the 11th floor with a view of The Eye. We walked everywhere only takes 15 minutes to Leicester Square etc. our room was spotless and comfortable. Free WiFi. Excellent early check in 1200hrs Bar reasonably priced for London and full breakfast £8.95. We've never paid these prices before for a hotel but hey it was New Year and London, it was expensive but the same price as other hotels in Docklands where you need to travel about 6 miles, so well worth it. London was packed for the New Year Celebrations and roads, bridges and tubes closed off so we was dead lucky to watch fireworks from our room. Brill! So a Big Thank You for our room with the view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 11th floor for views, book in early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsataylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Assistant General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

I was really pleased to hear that we have participated in making your New Year celebrations so pleasant and enjoyable. It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to have you soon staying with us again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
#313 of 1,076 in London
4,142 reviews
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#122 of 1,076 in London
2,456 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Earls Court
Ibis London Earls Court
#451 of 1,076 in London
4,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
#264 of 1,076 in London
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London Blackfriars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Blackfriars

Address: 49 Blackfriars Road, London SE1 8NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £65 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis London Blackfriars 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With free Wi-Fi throughout, a 24 hour reception and a 24 hour meal and drinks menu, the Ibis London Blackfriars offers modern rooms in central London. Just 5 minutes’ walk from Waterloo Station, the Tate Modern is within 10 minutes on foot.Each bedroom comes with an en suite bathroom, a flat-screen TV and an iPod dock. All rooms have city views and come with ironing facilities and free toiletries.Fogg’s restaurant at the Ibis London Blackfriars serves modern and creative meals throughout the day, with Continental and cooked breakfasts available each morning. The area is also dotted with gastro-pubs and chic restaurants, as well as many bars and eateries located along the banks of the Thames.The London Eye and Big Ben are within a 20-minute walk, while 10 minutes on the Jubilee line from Waterloo to Bond Street Tube Station provides access to the shops of Oxford Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis London Blackfriars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing