We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean hotell with good value for money.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis London Blackfriars

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ranked #239 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean hotell with good value for money.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

The hotell is new and has a sober design. The Tom was simple but OK. Cabin like plastic toilets. Situated perfect with a very short walk to underground and rail. I miss a cooler in the room. Free WiFi available.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Vallgata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,241
    1,448
    288
    50
    26
See reviews for
603
1,352
166
431
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stylish lobby and reception with helpful staff speaking several languages. Brand new Ibis rooms with all you expect from economy hotel. Room in higher floors have London Eye & Big Ben views. Breakfast buffet is rich, food tasty, just to find a place to sit is a challenge. The hotel was pretty busy and the staff was not enough speed to clean up all the tables. The location is superb, just few steps from tube station Southwark and 10 minutes walking to Tate Modern. Free Wifi is working quite fast. We would definitely use this hotel again for our next stay in London.

Room Tip: Room 923 with view to London Eye!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nada M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to ibis London Blackfriars again very soon.
Kind regards,
Damien LERCHUNDI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wooloomooloo
Level Contributor
383 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

This almost new hotel (completed for the London 2012 Olympics) is superb - I had a room on the top floor, with a view towards the city and the London Eye, and although the rooms are 'predictable' Ibis-style, this is not necessarily a bad thing in London, where you can still pay a lot for appalling and variable quality. The beds are very comfortable, and the rooms well-stocked. The downstairs bar-restaurant was excellent, and I found the check-in process to be unproblematic and friendly. Excellent location in the Southwark area, close to the tube (Jubilee Line), the river, and a shortish walk to Borough Market. Highly recommended!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank dr_iggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back at ibis London Blackfriars.
Kind regards,
Damien LERCHUNDI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I arrived on the night of a tube strike. The hotel should be straightforward to get to (1 minute from Southwark station) but the tube driver chose not to open the doors at Southwark. Instead he went on to London Bridge. So I had a late night walk back to the Hotel. The foyer and ground floor bar/food area is bright and lively (in a good way). The reception staff were excellent and very friendly. I have an Ibis Business card and the room was probably one of the quietest I've had in a London hotel (I don't know if the Card has anything to do with it - the card doesn't give you much of a discount on room rate in practice BTW .. probably 5% at best on what's on offer).

The room was spotless and was one of the modern designs with laminate wooden floors and an ensuite "pod".

The breakfast was excellent with a full choice of fresh produce and fruit at the buffet. Again, the morning staff were very helpful and attentive.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whatulookinat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at ibis London Blackfriars.
Kind regards,
Damien LERCHUNDI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago one night on business. Very convenient for access to City (across Millennium Bridge) to St Paul's.

Also it's a 2min walk from Southwark tube (access to Canary Wharf, Green Park) and a 10min walk from Waterloo station. In terms of access it's perfect.

Room was adequate although soap / shampoo etc all in one dispenser. It's not a 4* calibre but perfectly fine.

I paid GBP 120 on a prepay rate I arranged a few months back.

I'd recommend this for no frills and clean hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p0lak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to ibis London Blackfriars very soon.
Kind regards,
Damien LERCHUNDI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
212 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Great hotel for city stay- and Ideal for work in Blackfriars- Rooms are clean and quiet with comfortable beds. No safe in the room which surprised me. Staff were very helpful and courteous- easy to get cabs and close to the tubes and overland.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DubaiBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at ibis London Blackfriars. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.
Kind regards,
Damien LERCHUNDI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#194 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Whitechapel
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
#335 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,731 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
#218 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#105 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London Blackfriars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Blackfriars

Property: Ibis London Blackfriars
Address: 49 Blackfriars Road, London SE1 8NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis London Blackfriars 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With free Wi-Fi throughout, a 24 hour reception and a 24 hour meal and drinks menu, the Ibis London Blackfriars offers modern rooms in central London. Just 5 minutes’ walk from Waterloo Station, the Tate Modern is within 10 minutes on foot.Each bedroom comes with an en suite bathroom, a flat-screen TV and an iPod dock. All rooms have city views and come with ironing facilities and free toiletries.Fogg’s restaurant at the Ibis London Blackfriars serves modern and creative meals throughout the day, with Continental and cooked breakfasts available each morning. The area is also dotted with gastro-pubs and chic restaurants, as well as many bars and eateries located along the banks of the Thames.The London Eye and Big Ben are within a 20-minute walk, while 10 minutes on the Jubilee line from Waterloo to Bond Street Tube Station provides access to the shops of Oxford Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis London Blackfriars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing