We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ibis Blackfriars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ranked #245 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Write a Review

3,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,277
    1,508
    299
    52
    26
See reviews for
623
1,410
169
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
106 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We spent one night here before boarding a cruise ship. The hotel is South of the Thames about a half a block from Southwark station on the Jubilee line. It is a "no frills" hotel but is quite comfortable and would be a fine place to hang your hat as you explore London. There is a small restaurant/breakfast area/bar in the back lobby. Rooms are very clean with nice bathrooms and are furnished in a spartan, but comfortable fashion. The bed and linens were very nice. After breakfast at Terry's Cafe, we walked the neighborhood and had great views of the London Eye and Big Ben from the nearby bridges. Front desk staff are nice and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
I’m so glad that you had an enjoyable time during your stay at ibis London Blackfriars. I hope we can welcome you back to the property in the near future.

Kind regards,
Frederic Le Bras,
Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
371 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We just enjoyed a stay at this conveniently located hotel. It is right by the Southward underground station so travelling from anywhere in the city including Heathrow airport is a breeze. Several top attractions are within easy walking distance. The rooms are adequately sized for a UK hotel and very well planned out for space efficiency. The room was spotless -- which is important to me. All staff members were friendly and helpful. We appreciated the free Wifi. Rates are fair in the expensive London market. Many shops and restaurants nearby. There is a Tesco express right around the corner which has a decent selection of fruit, vegetables, sandwiches, drinks etc. We would certainly stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bkjjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the ibis London Blackfriars again very soon.

Kind regards,
Frederic Le Bras,
Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I had a really pleasant stay at the Ibis Blackfriars. My room was clean and comfortable and had everything I needed for a nights stay. All the staff I encountered were very polite, friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again next time i'm in London and would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank DonF81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to ibis London Blackfriars very soon.

Kind regards,
Frederic Le Bras
Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We booked this hotel as we were seeing a show and wanted to spend the weekend in London. Firstly it is situated walking distance from Blackfriars train station and even closer there was Southwark tube station. The hotel is on the South bankside so if like us you enjoy walking the embankment and having a drink along there this hotel is perfect.

We checked in on line so when we arrived we were given our room card straight away, check in was 12 noon, perfect to drop stuff off and enjoy London. The first impression was a good one, the décor very modern and appealing and the whole hotel was very clean, looked new.

Our room was very modern, comfortable bed, clean bathroom and welcoming.

We used the bar in the evening on our return, very nice and the staff were very friendly. Breakfast runs till 12, although we went at 9.30, come 10 it was very busy and people were having to wait to be seated. The range of food provided catered for everyone and the presentation was good.

We would recommend this hotel and would use again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit. . We look forward to welcoming you back at ibis London Blackfriars.

Kind regards,
Frederic Le Bras
Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My son and I shared a two twin and my two daughters shared a two twin room. The rooms were very clean and exactly as pictured on the hotel website. Hotel staff were very helpful, courteous and professional. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejb0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
So glad you had an enjoyable time at ibis London Blackfriars! We very much appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Frederic Le Bras
Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel from 2-6 July 2014. It was the last time I will stay at this brand of hotel. First the good items that warranted any stars. The hotel was clean and well located to the Southwark tube station and the bed was comfortable. That's it. Now the rest, the room is tiny, my wife and I were tripping over each other and there was almost no storage space for out bags or clothes. There was no mini fridge a small set of shelves and only a few hangers. Then there was the "bathroom". This was this odd little pod that was essentially a round fiberglass chamber with no space in the shower for toiletries and no hand towels. The towels that were there could have been used as 100 grit sandpaper. The pod was also tiny. I am 6ft tall and could not put my arms up with the door closed. This was rated a 3star hotel on Booking.com, I can not see how that is justified, Tripadvisors 2 star rating is Even generous.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank docjct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
I am sorry that the standard sizes of the room were not at your expectation.
Ibis is a standardise brand with the same size and facilities for all bedrooms.
We appreciate all feedback and will look at the point raise in order to address them where and when applicable.

Best regards,
Frederic Le Bras
Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#179 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
Whitechapel
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
#329 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,827 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
#234 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,902 reviews
Southbank
The Mad Hatter Hotel
The Mad Hatter Hotel
#211 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London Blackfriars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Blackfriars

Property: Ibis London Blackfriars
Address: 49 Blackfriars Road, London SE1 8NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis London Blackfriars 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With free Wi-Fi throughout, a 24 hour reception and a 24 hour meal and drinks menu, the Ibis London Blackfriars offers modern rooms in central London. Just 5 minutes’ walk from Waterloo Station, the Tate Modern is within 10 minutes on foot.Each bedroom comes with an en suite bathroom, a flat-screen TV and an iPod dock. All rooms have city views and come with ironing facilities and free toiletries.Fogg’s restaurant at the Ibis London Blackfriars serves modern and creative meals throughout the day, with Continental and cooked breakfasts available each morning. The area is also dotted with gastro-pubs and chic restaurants, as well as many bars and eateries located along the banks of the Thames.The London Eye and Big Ben are within a 20-minute walk, while 10 minutes on the Jubilee line from Waterloo to Bond Street Tube Station provides access to the shops of Oxford Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ibis London Blackfriars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing