We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and tidy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis London Blackfriars

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ranked #238 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean and tidy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We just celebrated our silver anniversary and had a surprise trip to London.
The hotel was very clean and tidy and staff were friendly and helpful.
Lovely view of London from our room.
Breakfast was busy and a queue for the coffee machine as only one working. Good location as central for all amenities.
Good

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to ibis London Blackfriars very soon.

Kind regards,
Frederic Le Bras
Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,240
    1,448
    288
    50
    26
See reviews for
603
1,351
166
431
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Penarth South Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

My previous experience of the Ibis hotel chain has always been 'Ugh!' So imagine my surprise at this impressive looking, trendy, clean, well situated hotel.

Buffet breakfast, not a vending machine in sight, really friendly helpful staff and although basic rooms, still new looking and super clean.

Could even get a proper drink at a proper bar!

And of course, perfectly located on the Southbank near the Tate Modern and Southwark tube station less than a 5 minute walk away.

I hope this Ibis is the future for the rest of the Chain.


My only grumble..please supply better towels...not ones that are so thin you can read a newspaper through them!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Toopicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at ibis London Blackfriars. Please rest assured that I will take note of your commentsregarding out towels. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.

Kind regards,
Frederic Le Bras
Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have Just spent two days at this hotel for our 12th Wedding Anniversary and we enjoyed every minute.
All the staff we encountered was very polite, friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again next time I’m in London and would recommend it to my friends and family. Our room was very modern, comfortable bed, clean bathroom and welcoming, the Wi-Fi is free what more could you ask for, just great for exploring London
It very well placed pubs and theatres in the area; we had two marvellous meals at the Baltic restaurant just 200-meters from the Hotel. If you coming from St Pancreas Rail station take the Underground to Southwark, then when you get out of the station turn left and the Hotel is just 200-meteres up the road

Room Tip: Breakfast can be busy and you may have to wait either come down early or after 9:30am when it not so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Engineer350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
I’m so glad that you had an enjoyable time during your stay at ibis London Blackfriars for your 12th Wedding Anniversary. I hope we can welcome you back to the property in the near future.

Kind regards,
Frederic Le Bras
Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Spent one night at the Ibis Blackfriars and extremely happy with the stay. We had a double room which was plenty spacious enough, clean and cool considering it was such a humid day in London. Despite being in room 224, directly opposite the lifts, we didn't hear any other guests in the hall during our stay.

The hotel is perfectly located, just a 2 minute walk from Southwark tube station and very close to Waterloo. There's a handy Tesco Express just around the corner also.

We decided to have breakfast at the hotel which was a little pricey for us at £9 each but there was so much on offer - cereals, yoghurts, croissants, pains au chocolat, mini waffles, cold meats, cheeses, fruits, sausages, bacon, mini omelettes, beans, mushrooms, tomatoes, hash browns, bread (which you could toast) and tea/coffee/fruit juice. What more could you possibly want!?

Overall, excellent stay and will definitely use this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Frederic Le Bras,
Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#193 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
Whitechapel
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
#334 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,729 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
#217 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#105 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London Blackfriars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Blackfriars

Property: Ibis London Blackfriars
Address: 49 Blackfriars Road, London SE1 8NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis London Blackfriars 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With free Wi-Fi throughout, a 24 hour reception and a 24 hour meal and drinks menu, the Ibis London Blackfriars offers modern rooms in central London. Just 5 minutes’ walk from Waterloo Station, the Tate Modern is within 10 minutes on foot.Each bedroom comes with an en suite bathroom, a flat-screen TV and an iPod dock. All rooms have city views and come with ironing facilities and free toiletries.Fogg’s restaurant at the Ibis London Blackfriars serves modern and creative meals throughout the day, with Continental and cooked breakfasts available each morning. The area is also dotted with gastro-pubs and chic restaurants, as well as many bars and eateries located along the banks of the Thames.The London Eye and Big Ben are within a 20-minute walk, while 10 minutes on the Jubilee line from Waterloo to Bond Street Tube Station provides access to the shops of Oxford Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis London Blackfriars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing