We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in a fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ranked #253 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Decent hotel in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

If you are looking for a comfortable hotel near the southbank then definitely consider this one. It's much in keeping with all of the chain hotels - all the rooms are identical, the shower room is a plastic tub but it is clean and modern. The staff were friendly at the desk and breakfast was good, although a little bit pricey at £9. Make the most of the location though and just walk everywhere- keep in mind it is closer to southwark station than blackfriars and the young vic is less than 5 minutes walk from here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.

Kind regards,
Frederic Le Bras
Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,301
    1,538
    306
    55
    26
See reviews for
632
1,447
173
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here on 2nd & 3rd of July. The hotel is really close to the tube (Jubilee) and the Thames and London eye which was really convenient for us as we were doing a lot of sight seeing and also visiting the O2 (which is also in the Jubilee line) for Monty Python. The staff were friendly and the room very clean. Breakfast was buffet style and the choice was excellent. We didn't eat at night but we did use the bar which was very welcoming. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penfold63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to ibis London Blackfriars very soon.

Kind regards,
Frederic Le Bras
Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I liked staying at Ibis London Blackfriars.
Good employers, nice restaurant, sensational music.
Beautiful hotel with a special location.
I walked to the river side and viewed the Big Ben, Tower Bridge and other atractions like Trafalgar Square, Picadilly Circus, Buckingham Palace, Green Park, Hyde Park, Saint James Park, Regent's Park, etc...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Luis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the ibis London Blackfriars again very soon.

Kind regards,
Frederic Le Bras
Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at Ibis London Blackfriars for two nights in June 2014. We chose this hotel primarily because of its proximity to Waterloo Station where we were catching a train for Weymouth in a few days time. We have stayed in Ibis hotels in a number of cities and have always found them to be clean and friendly accommodation at a great price, and the Ibis Blackfriars lived up to that reputation. The Reception staff were particularly good - very friendly and helpful.
Waterloo Station is a 10 minute walk away, there is a good pub on the opposite corner, and the Blackfriars Hotel, about a 15 minute walk, offers great food (if you don't want to eat in at the hotel itself). Very close too to a Tube station.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at ibis London Blackfriars.

Kind regards,
Frederic Le Bras
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Ibis do nothing fancy but in this hotel they do it ok. It's a good central ( brilliant for South Bank) location that is clear and tidy.

Has very few touches to turn your stay into anything special but for a place to sleep the night you can find worst.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at ibis London Blackfriars. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.

Kind regards,
Frederic Le Bras
Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here while visiting London with friends on vacation. The hotel is modern and clean. The rooms are quite small but very comfortable and functional. The bar area is great for evening drinks and is where they serve a great breakfast. The hotel is walking distance from the Thames, the London Eye and a very short stroll from the underground. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank markkellaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
I’m so glad that you had an enjoyable time during your stay at ibis London Blackfriars. I hope we can welcome you back to the property in the near future.

Kind regards,
Frederic Le Bras
Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
#331 of 1,067 in London
3,875 reviews
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#176 of 1,067 in London
2,141 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
#232 of 1,067 in London
1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London Blackfriars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Blackfriars

Property: Ibis London Blackfriars
Address: 49 Blackfriars Road, London SE1 8NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis London Blackfriars 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With free Wi-Fi throughout, a 24 hour reception and a 24 hour meal and drinks menu, the Ibis London Blackfriars offers modern rooms in central London. Just 5 minutes’ walk from Waterloo Station, the Tate Modern is within 10 minutes on foot.Each bedroom comes with an en suite bathroom, a flat-screen TV and an iPod dock. All rooms have city views and come with ironing facilities and free toiletries.Fogg’s restaurant at the Ibis London Blackfriars serves modern and creative meals throughout the day, with Continental and cooked breakfasts available each morning. The area is also dotted with gastro-pubs and chic restaurants, as well as many bars and eateries located along the banks of the Thames.The London Eye and Big Ben are within a 20-minute walk, while 10 minutes on the Jubilee line from Waterloo to Bond Street Tube Station provides access to the shops of Oxford Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis London Blackfriars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing