We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but comfortable and priceworthy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ranked #259 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 10 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Birgitta H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ibis London B, Front Office at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,018 - 1,024 of 3,381 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

First off: do not expect luxury. What you get for relatively little money (compared to other, always expensive london properties) is a simple, rather small room with a comfortable bed and a shower room in a kind of corner cabin. Materiels used are of the cheaper kind, but everything is new and impeccably clean. The breakfast/bar area downstairs is stylish. Breakfast is fine for the price you pay (9£), but finding a seat can be difficult if you come at breakfast "rush hour". Staff is very friendly, location excellent: tube station 3' walk, thames and its boardwalk under 10', same for tate modern. If i travelled on the same budget again, i would return to ibis blackfriars without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monicakatharina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Front Office at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at ibis London Blackfriars.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Threechildren123
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ibis London B, Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I would definately recommend, Southwark station round the corner, very clean, friendly efficient staff and great service(on booking and during stay), good wi fi service(not slow), wide selection of food items at breakfast and food was always fresh and tasty. Breakfast was very busy during the weekend but probably due to the fact that we visited during a busy period. Will visit again !

Room Tip: The family room we booked was not very big but it was very comfortable. We read other reviews and re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank askjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit. . We look forward to welcoming you back at ibis London Blackfriars..

Kind regards,
Frederic Le Bras
Assistant General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of our mini moon, the hotel is situated 10 minutes from most things you need. Check in was fine reception was very helpful. Room was clean enough. I paid extra to have a panoramic view of London ... What a joke!! It was a panoramic view of a load of bricks lol I was expecting to see the eye from my room at least, don't waste your money on that, can't comment on food as didn't eat there, drinks are over priced for the price of rooms... They charge the same as the savoy I think for drinks lol my only complaint would be that at 9:30am room service were walking in to the room while I was snoozing?? What's that all about?? May I suggest you ask ppl to hand in their key cards so house keeping knows who's in and out .. Or checked out! Didn't replace any towels on second day or change the sheets which I thought was poor. I would only stay again on price.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank DANIEL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate all feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. I’ll look into the points your raised personally, and in the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to the ibis London Blackfriars very soon.

Kind regards,
Frederic Le Bras
Assistant General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend in London. The hotel is in good shape and clean. The staff was friendly. The room was a bit small, but that is to be expected in London. There was little noise form the outside from our side of the hotel. But you could hear the nearby rooms a little in the night, and therefore some nightly activities.

The breakfast was chaotic both early and late, but perhaps even more late. There was simply enough space for everyone to eat even when they used sofas in the lobby. We sat in the sofa once and it was't good as the table was so low. The lines for coffee was also very long. Would recommend getting breakfast outside the hotel.

The location of the hotel is pretty good as there is a tube stop and a bus stop almost next to the hotel. But note that the tube-line don't go northwards, so you might have to change lines once or twice to get to main locations in London. We had to order a taxi once. We asked the staff if there was ones driving by in the street, but they insisted on booking one for us. It arrived quickly but the driver did not know his way around London! In addition he charged more than normal taxis in London. So I would not recommend getting a cab trough the staff.

All in all. A pleasant modern and clean hotel. Friendly staff. But eat breakfast elsewhere and order your trips yourself.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaute J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay. Please rest assured that I will take note of your comments and the matter will be addressed. I hope we can welcome you back to the ibis London Blackfriars very soon.

Kind regards,
Frederic Le Bras
Assistant General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Out of three trips to London, this is by far my favorite place I have stayed. Blackfriars is less busy than other areas and was much quieter. The underground is a stone's throw away, grocery stores are a quick walk, and the river is in sight. The staff was very helpful with directions. The restaurant had a great menu, and the lobby is perfect for visiting with friends or reading a book. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side opposite of the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Becca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at [hotel name] in [destination]. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.

Kind regards,
Frederic Le Bras
Assistant General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#142 of 1,075 in London
2,303 reviews
Whitechapel
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
#321 of 1,075 in London
4,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Earls Court
Ibis London Earls Court
#465 of 1,075 in London
4,491 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
#251 of 1,075 in London
1,975 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London Blackfriars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Blackfriars

Address: 49 Blackfriars Road, London SE1 8NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Price Range: £84 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis London Blackfriars 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With free Wi-Fi throughout, a 24 hour reception and a 24 hour meal and drinks menu, the Ibis London Blackfriars offers modern rooms in central London. Just 5 minutes’ walk from Waterloo Station, the Tate Modern is within 10 minutes on foot.Each bedroom comes with an en suite bathroom, a flat-screen TV and an iPod dock. All rooms have city views and come with ironing facilities and free toiletries.Fogg’s restaurant at the Ibis London Blackfriars serves modern and creative meals throughout the day, with Continental and cooked breakfasts available each morning. The area is also dotted with gastro-pubs and chic restaurants, as well as many bars and eateries located along the banks of the Thames.The London Eye and Big Ben are within a 20-minute walk, while 10 minutes on the Jubilee line from Waterloo to Bond Street Tube Station provides access to the shops of Oxford Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis London Blackfriars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing