We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ranked #260 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed at Ibis Blackfriars for 3 nights in August 2014. We had absolutely no issues during our stay here, the check-in and check-out was quick and efficient, and the staff were friendly and pleasant.

The location is good, just a short walk from Southwark tube station, Waterloo station, and the South Bank attractions. The room was basic, but clean and comfortable. We were in room 1303 on the top floor so it was pretty quiet, and we had quite a pleasant southerly view. The bed was comfortable and extra pillows were available in the room if necessary. Storage/wardroom space was adequate for a short stay. A hairdryer was provided in the room, as were pretty standard tea & coffee making facilities. The bathroom was a little on the small side, more of a wetroom/pod. And it took a while for the shower water to heat up in a morning, but overall it was clean and functional
.
We were pleasantly surprised with the breakfast, there was a good selection and it was generally of pretty good quality. A few different breads were available, along with waffles, crumpets, muffins (blueberry & chocolate), croissants, and pain au chocolate. There was a selection of cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt, actimel, and a selection of cold meats and cheeses. There was also a full English with bacon, sausage, beans, mushrooms, and hash browns. I’m a vegetarian, but my husband informs me that the bacon and sausage were of pretty good quality! There was also a good choice of Twinings tea, a coffee machine, apple & orange juice, and a range of flavoured waters. We went for breakfast around 7am every morning and had no trouble getting seated, but it did seem to get busier later on with people having to wait for a table, so my advice would be to head down early.

Overall we thought it was pretty good value for money, and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0utlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the ibis London Blackfriars again very soon. Kind regards,
Damien LERCHUNDI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,327
    1,573
    312
    59
    29
See reviews for
651
1,478
177
464
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

AC was strong, but could be set from the room, which was nice during the hottest time of summer!

Clean, large bathroom

Nice bar downstairs

Great food options for lunch and dinner but breakfast was a bit expensive. There are other options nearby!

Very close to the subway too!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AMP_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
I’m so glad that you had an enjoyable time during your stay at ibis London Blackfriars. I hope we can welcome you back to the property in the near future.
Kind regards,
Damien LERCHUNDI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Ibis Blackfriars is a very good, well-priced modern hotel located close to Blackfriars Bridge.
Rooms are clean and quiet, service efficient and bar/restaurant also good.
To be recommended without reservation.


Waterloo/Black

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Exetergasdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
So glad you had an enjoyable time at ibis London Blackfriars! We very much appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Damien LERCHUNDI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel in terms of its location, room size, cleanliness and staff. We stayed for 3 nights. The hotel was quiet which was nice. The room size was great especially for London where rooms are notoriously small. The pod style shower room took a while to get used to, I swear I could feel it move. The bed was so comfortable I slept soundly. I enjoyed using the sleep art app too. The lobby was funky and comfortable. We were able to print tickets etc. If we were to stay in London again we will definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank r0llingr0ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at ibis London Blackfriars. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.
Kind regards,
Damien LERCHUNDI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Everything is in walking distance. You pick the underground as we'll. station is 1 min walk. We didn't had breakfast at the hotel because there are many good places close by. Car parking is not that easy. We parked our care at a public place at Waterloo station.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank paulmjanssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate all feedback very much and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back at ibis London Blackfriars.
Kind regards,
Damien LERCHUNDI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Managed to secure an excellent rate for this hotel and stayed for two nights on a Friday and Saturday.
The room was very basic (as one would expect from an Ibis). No toiletries in the bathroom other than wall-mounted shampoo/shower gel dispensers as is usual in budget hotels.
Bed was comfortable, room was clean.
The public areas of the hotel including the downstairs bar are, however, very stylish and superior to the usual budget hotel offerings. The reception staff were also very efficient and polite. No queues to check-in or check out.
One tip - if you are a pub aficionado and you get the chance, take a walk across Blackfriars Bridge and visit the Blackfriar Pub which (thankfully) survived demolition in the 1960s.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank How1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibis London B, General Manager at Ibis London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back at ibis London Blackfriars.
Kind regards,
Damien LERCHUNDI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#169 of 1,069 in London
2,201 reviews
Whitechapel
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
#328 of 1,069 in London
3,955 reviews
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
#244 of 1,069 in London
1,940 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London Blackfriars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Blackfriars

Property: Ibis London Blackfriars
Address: 49 Blackfriars Road, London SE1 8NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #260 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis London Blackfriars 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With free Wi-Fi throughout, a 24 hour reception and a 24 hour meal and drinks menu, the Ibis London Blackfriars offers modern rooms in central London. Just 5 minutes’ walk from Waterloo Station, the Tate Modern is within 10 minutes on foot.Each bedroom comes with an en suite bathroom, a flat-screen TV and an iPod dock. All rooms have city views and come with ironing facilities and free toiletries.Fogg’s restaurant at the Ibis London Blackfriars serves modern and creative meals throughout the day, with Continental and cooked breakfasts available each morning. The area is also dotted with gastro-pubs and chic restaurants, as well as many bars and eateries located along the banks of the Thames.The London Eye and Big Ben are within a 20-minute walk, while 10 minutes on the Jubilee line from Waterloo to Bond Street Tube Station provides access to the shops of Oxford Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis London Blackfriars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing