We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place & Friendly host”
Review of Grove Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grove Guest House
Ranked #13 of 555 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place & Friendly host”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Hazel and her mom was great host. Hazel was very kind, polite, Its treat me not like a guest. She treated me as family member. She provide me information about tourist places. She told many story about her career live in past and adventure around a world. She talked about her story about charity and traveling experience. And I told her a humble story about me. I was in Halloween day at Hazel home and he told a lot about Halloween tradition and custom. She was humorous and kind with child of treat or dare customs.

Hazel’s breakfast was very tasty and healthy too. She offer it upon my preference which let me choose from menu like hotel once. Hazel insist upon me to eat breakfast but I can’t because of my daily routine.

Hazel’s room was classical, very cozy and tidy. Not only the room was clean also the bathroom was super clean.

Hazel’s house has many of family picture and, also, its has a lot handmade antique don’t hesitate to ask her about its each piece story.

The neighborhood is near to forest gate station and not so far from many parks and stafford Westfield mall.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohammed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    13
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
15
40
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Hazel is an absolute star and a perfect host who really takes pride in looking after her guests. I was amazed, as a non-diary vegetarian who doesn't take gluten, at the quality and selection on offer to fit my diet. The room was a good size and tastefully furnished, the bed extremely comfortable. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Grove Guest House to anyone. You really could not ask for a more welcoming, friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Smoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I've stayed at the Grove Guest house a few times now & have further trips planned. As I live in Norfolk but work in the City of London, I often like to stay down a few nights in the week. I find the Grove guest house perfect for what I'm after, I stay in a large en-suite room with a well comfy bed. You also get a perfect breakfast in the morning, couldn't fault the brekkie. And Hazel is the perfect landlady, friendly & welcoming, she can also cook up an evening meal if required. I find this place a far superior & cheaper alternative to other London hotels in my opinion. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AtTheRaces_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Had the pleasure of staying at Grove Guest House for 2 nights. We were attending a festival at Queen Elizabeth Park and staying 2 stops away by National Rail was very convenient. We had a room with the ensuite bathroom. The bedroom was a good size and clean and cute. We arrived early and Hazel accomodated us. She had the room cleaned quickly and we were good to go. Communication is a breeze and she is a great host. She is quick to offer water, a spot of tea and provides a fantastic breakfast, which if you're lucky with the weather you can head in the English garden. (We had awesome weather! Super lucky!). You truly feel like a guest in her home!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Hazel is a truly amazing host and a lovely person, I felt like I was being looked after as though I was family. I will certainly be staying again.

The room was a good size, clean and comfortable. It also had ensuite with a nice powerful, hot shower.

I was allowed to check in early and Hazel fed me as soon as I arrived. There was a problem with the trains so she drove me to a different station. On my last evening Hazel cooked me a lovely dinner before dropping me off at the train station yet again! Not to mention all the cups of hot lemon and honey she made me to help soothe my throat.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Antony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Drayton Court Hotel
#8 of 555 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#18 of 555 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkwood at Marble Arch
#30 of 555 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#48 of 555 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Kandara Guest House
#32 of 555 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove Guest House

Property: Grove Guest House
Address: Forest Gate 153 Earlham Grove, London E7 9AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grove Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This light and spacious double en-suite is in a beautiful, large, hospitable Victorian family home, only a mile from the Olympic site & Stratford Westfield shopping centre. We offer: excellent transport links to central London; a large garden; wifi; easy access (stair-lift, grab rails etc.); inclusive breakfast (special diets no problem)! Here are the details. • The large double bedroom has an en-suite shower, toilet and wash basin. Free Wifi and laundry facilities are available. • Breakfast is included; evening meals can be provided by arrangement. We happily cater for a range of dietary needs including gluten-free, lactose-free, vegetarian, vegan and meat/fish eaters. • You are welcome to relax in our large garden or in the conservatory, and to smoke in the garden / conservatory (but not in the house).• We are very access-conscious and are more than happy to discuss your needs! The house has shallow steps at the front entrance, a stair-lift to the first floor and three steps up to the bedroom. There are grab-rails through corridors and in the en-suite (where there is a step up to the shower). There are shallow steps into the garden. • We have safe storage for cycles or a mobility scooter and parking for one car on the forecourt (by arrangement).• Local transport offers fast bus/train/tube links to the West End, Central London and Docklands. Forest Gate railway station (in the local shopping centre) is just a 3 minute walk, with the Stratford rail/tube hub just two stops away. Museums, galleries, theatres and West End shopping are therefore within easy reach. Taxis from Stratford station to the house are reasonably priced if you are late home. We look forward to welcoming you to our family home, and will do everything we can to make your stay comfortable, relaxing and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Grove Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing