We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service all round”
Review of Chiswick Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chiswick Rooms
Ranked #689 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Never actually stayed here, but having had to book and then cancel, got the impression that I will NEVER stay here. The communication from the general manager, who did not give their name, was poor, and unpersonalised. On calling the hotel, the switchboard, was both poorly informed and rude also. While, the hotel seems like a great location, it's service of customers and lack of appreciation of service quality, I would highly recommend not staying here, as there seems to be higher quality, more affordable hotels within the local area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Benni246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Chiswick Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank You for your feedback, we at Chiswick Rooms take all feedback very seriously.

Like most hotels we offer a standard 48 hour cancellable rate and a non refundable rate which is currently 20% cheaper than our standard rate as this rate is non cancellable and non refundable as stated in the terms and conditions of the reservation which is known to our guests at the time of booking. Our guests are able to book the 48-hour cancellable rate should a more flexible cancellation be required.

The Chiswick Rooms has been awarded a 4* guest accommodation from Visit England. In order to be awarded this high category we have to provide a great level of comfort and service to all our guests.

The professionalism of our staff is one of our strengths and we can guarantee that you will be pleased with the services offered if you decide to stay at the Chiswick Rooms in the near future.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

The hotel is in a nice and quiet area, two mins walk from the tube. The room was small (you can get bigger if you pay more), but it was perfect for a weekend. The room was very clean, and looked nice and new. The problem is that the walls are paper thin, and we heard the people in the next room talking (among other things), so it was hard to sleep. So bring earplugs!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Camilla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Chiswick Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Chiswick Rooms and for taking the time to write a review.

We have two types of double rooms, compact double and standard double our Compact Rooms are smaller in size than our double rooms and thus our price for this type of room reflects this. If you are looking for a larger room please book our Standard Double Rooms.

Guest Satisfaction is a crucial part of the service we provide. We are very glad to hear that your room was cleaned to your expectations. Our dedicated housekeeping team along with our reception team; work together to provide all our guests a clean comfortable stay.

We hope to welcome you to the Chiswick Rooms in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Came to London on business and stayed here for two nights. Man, what a depressing place. All the other people I was travelling with stayed at the Best Western, which was closer to where I was working, and closer to all the bars and restaurants in Hammersmith. Unfortunately, that was all full so I randomly found this one online, trusted the positive reviews, and booked.

To be fair, my room was ok. It was very small, but in good shape, clean, renovated, and my bed was quite comfortable. Aside from the size, I can’t say anything bad about the room itself. Additionally, the guy at the desk downstairs was very nice. Always smiling, and asking if everything was ok.

The neighborhood is boring. Nothing interesting around. But OK, that’s sort of my fault. I don’t know London well, so I guess I should’ve researched the neighborhoods a bit better.

What makes this hotel very depressing is that there is absolutely nothing in it aside from your tiny room. The lobby is a narrow little entrance without even a sofa to sit down on. I should’ve taken a photo. Even cheap 1-star hotels have nicer lobbies. And of course there’s no restaurant or bar, and no breakfast. What a cold and boring experience. I’m not sure what criteria are used to determine star ratings, but I’m baffled that this place can have four stars.

Value for money? Well, I only paid £105 per night. Is that cheap in London? I suspect so. I’m more familiar with Paris and NY prices. In Paris and NY, you can’t get anything decent at that price, so I guess that’s the silver lining in all of this. I got a fairly comfortable room at an affordable price. Nothing more. Nothing less.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ValueSeeker214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Chiswick Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, we take all our guest feedback very seriously.

We are glad to hear that we met your expectation on the cleanliness and comfort of your room.

We believe in giving our guests a choice of where to dine. We are located in between Chiswick High Road and Kings Street. Both these streets have numerous places where guests can choose where to have their hearty breakfast and dinner.

The Chiswick Rooms has been awarded a 4* guest accommodation from Visit England. In order to be awarded this high category we have to provide a great level of comfort and service to all our guests.

Our guests have always seemed pleased with the cafes and restaurant that we have recommended to them.

We hope to welcome you again to the Chiswick Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

stayed here overnight after a night at the Hammersmith Apollo.
if you read the website you will know what to expect, the rooms aren't big, but they do tell you that, there is no breakfast but they do tell you that too. if you do want a clean and tidy room to get your head down after a long day then this is fine, it had great features, such as the I-pod dock (handy for the inevitable iPhone charging) a decent bathroom and a handy safe.
it was a minute away from the nearest tube and there is a plethora of eateries within a couple of minutes walk on the Chiswick high road
Its not the Hilton but then it doesn't pretend to be
I'd stay again

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gunner712004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Chiswick Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Chiswick Rooms for your recent stay in London. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the room to be of a satisfactory level. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our location, services and accommodation. We are located on the district line in Zone 2. Our nearest Underground station is Stanford Brook on which has a direct link to the Natural History museum, the Science museum, Victoria and Albert Museum, Victoria Station, Buckingham Palace, London Eye, Big Ben, Parliament square and the Tower of London.

Our room sizes vary from room to room however we do have a clear difference in room sizes between our compact double and our standard double.

We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I stayed here one night to attend a course nearby, so I didn't need to be near the centre of London. However, I was surprised how easy it was to get back and forth by the underground to the centre. Check-in was efficient but not particularly friendly. This may be a cultural thing, but I like to be greeted by reception staff rather than looked at. I had a single room at the top of the building. The room was compact but perfectly adequate for me. It was clean and had all the necessary facilities including a good-sized shower and tea and coffee tray. The loud TV from the inconsiderate guest next door went on past midnight but just when I was about to complain, it went off. I knew there was no breakfast, because I had read the website first (!), and this was fine as there are plenty of breakfast choices in the area,as well as some nice restaurants. I think it was reasonably priced all things considered.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ymwelyddCaerdydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenWestChisRooms, General Manager at Chiswick Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank You for sharing your views on the Chiswick Rooms, We are situated just 1 minutes walk from Stamford Brook underground station on the district line having direct connectivity to almost all of London’s major attractions.

All of us like to make choices and as we have a number of café’s and restaurants around us guests can choose where to have their hearty breakfast, the three café’s that we recommend are:

• Artisan that offers a more continental based breakfast.
• Café eatery that offers the full English fry up.
• Upsy Daisy where you can enjoy an organic breakfast.

All of which are within 1-2minutes walk away

We are sorry to hear that you did not receive a friendly welcome, this will be portrayed back to our team as we at Chiswick Rooms believe in making each guest feel warmly welcome.

The Chiswick Rooms offers all our guests the necessary essentials that every traveller requires such as: Free Wi-Fi, Mini Fridge, Individually controlled Air-conditioning and heating, Free Calls to local and national numbers, IPhone docking stations that enable guests to charge their iPhone and play their music, Anti-allergy pillows and duvets, Luxurious World renowned Hypnos beds in every room
and complimentary Enhanced tea and coffee facilities

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Chiswick Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We used (and would use again) the Chiswick Rooms.
It was clean, had all the fixtures and fittings - and most were of the highest quality. It would be difficult to get into the shower if you were large.
For one night, or if you were out all day it would be great.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank awoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Chiswick Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Chiswick Rooms and for your kind praises. Guest Satisfaction is a crucial part of the service we provide. I am very glad to hear that your room was cleaned to your satisfactory level. Our housekeeping team work hard, to provide all our guests a clean comfortable stay with us.

We have four room types available to our guests; single, compact double, double and twin. Our compact double rooms are smaller in size than our standard double rooms. The price of this type of room reflects this. Guests are welcome to book our standard double rooms to ensure they get a larger room.

We hope to welcome you to the Chiswick Rooms in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The concept of this hotel is to take advantage of close proximity to a tube station, minimize the room size, use good fittings and quality, easy to clean finishes, provide 24 hour desk staffing, and eliminate breakfast or any food service - all of which allow for competitive rates. If the concept works for you, it's well done and a good value. We found the beds comfortable, even though they were raised so as to accommodate luggage under the bed (the room is small enough that doing that is necessary). The bath was small but efficiently laid out and more useable than some larger baths we've experienced. One touch appreciated in our room was that the lower portion of the exterior window was frosted glass so that the room had lots of light without sacrificing privacy and compensating for the size of the room. The desk staff were very helpful, looking up bus routes and schedules, suggesting the most convenient tube routing to access inner London, etc. We found at least four places for breakfast within a 5 minute walk, serving from coffee and pastries to a "Full English Breakfast" and in-between. There are a number of restaurants near by (15 minute walk or less, including a truly excellent Indian one).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MtnSmithColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Chiswick Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Chiswick Rooms and for your kind praises. A lot of thought has been put into making the Chiswick Rooms the perfect place to stay for all our guests.

Chiswick Rooms with its transparent pricing policy has been designed for the value conscious guests wanting quality accommodation. By eliminating the unnecessary extra facilities, and combining the ethos of a boutique hotel with that of a budget hotel, our Chiswick hotel offers affordable luxury and convenience. We are very pleased to know that we have provided you with a clean comfortable base to stay while you visited London.

We hope to welcome you back to the Chiswick Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Chiswick
Best Western Chiswick Palace & Suites
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#272 of 1,077 in London
734 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#767 of 1,077 in London
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
Premier Inn London Hammersmith Hotel
Hammersmith / Fulham
LUMA Concept Hotel Hammersmith London
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiswick Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiswick Rooms

Address: 407 Goldhawk Road, London W6 0SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Hammersmith / Fulham
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #689 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £55 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chiswick Rooms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chiswick Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing