We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hospitality and stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel London Blackfriars
Ranked #174 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hospitality and stay!”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Benefits of staying at hotel: excellent breakfast, courteous and attentive staff, 2 minute walk to southwark station to go straight to Bond Street on Oxford Street or Houses of Parliament. If you book the standard room when you get there see if you can upgrade to the Executive suite. Well worth the money. Hotel manager Lario was helpful and considerate to me and Thomas at the front desk is always smiling. Nothing is too much, if you ask, it gets done. A woman in the lounge was having dinner when her battery ran out on her ipad, a staff member ran over with an international converter. Phones in front of the elevators on every floor if you need staff. We locked ourself out and a member of staff was there within the minute. Food is gorgeous three course dining with professional French-trained staff. Ipads on dining tables for the kids. Pool was great. Cannot fault this hotel, the service is extraordinary, thank you Lario for making our stay memorable!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarissaStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
I am extremely satisfied to read that you have enjoyed our excellent hospitality and your stay. Thank you very much for your detailed feedback following your stay with us and for rating our hotel so highly.

I am happy to read that every member of the team delivered an extraordinary and attentive service and you have noticed how much we care for our guests. Especially our always smiling Thomas and of course Ilario who made your stay so memorable.

It is great that our excellent breakfast and the gorgeous dinner were at your satisfaction.
We are looking forward to welcome you and your family back for your next stay with us.

Kind regards
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,060
    874
    168
    49
    17
See reviews for
1,055
504
71
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble, France
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed at the Novotel with our 2 children (3 and 5) and had a wonderful time there. The room was ideal for a family of 4 (1 double bed + 2 singled beds) and very comfortable. The facilities of the hotel are very modern and the swimming pool was great. The breakfast was delicious with a lot to choose from. The free wifi worked very well which makes it a good option for business travellers. I am not sure I agree with having ipads available in the Dining area but it is up to each parent to decide if they want their children to play during dinner or not. The hotel was great value-for-money, especially by London standards, and very conveniently located for the Southwark Jubilee Line station and Waterloo Station. We would strongly recommend to anyone booking into this hotel (the staff is very friendly and approachable).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Britfr0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback, following your stay with us.

I am glad that you find our hotel to be very good and that you had such a wonderful time with us. It is great to see that the bedroom was ideal for you to accommodate 2 adults and 2 children and it was very comfortable for you.

I am also happy that you enjoyed the delicious breakfast, the great swimming pool, the free Wi-Fi and that you find our staff to be very friendly and approachable.
We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel for your next visit to London and I appreciate your recommendation.

Kind regards
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We saved money by shopping around and stayed here with our five year old for a weekend in London. Great location within walking distance of lots of attractions. Everything was perfect from the bed linen to the shower, the helpful friendly staff and delicious breakfast. We used the indoor heated pool and were the only ones in there. Towels and toiletries were provided. Bed was very comfy and bed linen felt sumptuous. A bed for our five year old was already made up.
We ran out of tea bags so phoned reception and a staff member brought some up to our room within minutes. Staff were helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again but would recommend you shop around to get a good deal, otherwise a bit pricy.

Room Tip: We had a superior double for a family of three. It had no bath but a luxury walk in shower. Although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Thank you very much for your great 5* rating here on Tripadvisor and I am very satisfied to read that your stay was perfect in every way.

It very nice to read your comments about our friendly and helpful staff, the delicious breakfast and I am very happy that you have enjoyed the bedrooms and the indoor heated swimming pool.

I appreciate your recommendation and we are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel for your next stay with us.

Kind regards
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Everything you expect from a top hotel. Clean, modern, comfy beds etc. Quiet and very good location. Swimming pool small but ideal to relax in. Breakfast top notch, can't think of anything bad to say about it. Would stay again. Free wifi which is a real bonus.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chemken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
I am extremely pleased with your feedback and the 5* rating about your stay. It is much appreciated.

It gives me great satisfaction to read that our hotel is everything what you expect from a top hotel. Also that you find our breakfast to be top notch and the room to be clean, modern and the swimming pool ideal to relax.

I am happy that you have enjoyed our free Wi-Fi offer and that it was a real bonus for you.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel for your next visit to London.

Kind regards
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Room was spacious and well equipped, bed really comfy and service good at all times. Didn't use many of the amenities (swimming pool etc) but would say it was good value for money. Would definitely recommend it if you want a 4 star hotel near the centre of London

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnH261_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and review here on Tripadvisor.

I am glad that you had a comfortable stay and that you find the room to be spacious , well equipped and the bed really comfy.I am particularly happy that you find the service to be good at all times.

I appreciate your recommendation and we are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind regards
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I was looking forward to staying here, reading up on it shortly before it was scheduled to open a few months before my arrival. When I arrived, I was very pleased. Knowledgeable check-in staff and a nice looking lobby, not just a counter and couch. It had computers and an Xbox 360 for public use (but only two games available at the time), and a Microsoft Surface table that was fun to play with (games and street maps). The bar looked nice, but I never made use of it.

The room was clean, though with it only a few months old, it hasn't had time to look run down. Comfortable bed, fast wi-fi, and the gimmicky-yet-fun-and-useful frosted shower wall we all appreciated. The shower did have the half door/wall, so water could splash out if you weren't careful.

The bottom floor (actually below street level) housed the swimming pool with an aquarium-like video projected onto the wall to help you feel the mood, and the sauna looked out onto the pool area. There was also an exercise room on the same floor.

Location was good, on the same block as Southwark tube station and less than a kilometer walk to Waterloo station. Plenty of food options (restaurants, cafes, and grocery) along that route (road called The Cut). You're also a half kilometer to the Tate Museums, Shakespeare's Globe, and the Thames.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others. If the price isn't right, this Novotel is literally next door to an ibis hotel that also opened at the same time, if that is more your style.

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank klew97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Thank you very much for leaving us such a nice review about your stay.

I appreciate your detailed feedback and especially about our public areas and our leisure facilities.

It is very nice to see that you were very pleased with your stay and glad that you would definitely stay in our well-appointed and modern hotel again and would also recommend our hotel to others.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel for your next visit.

Kind regards
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#250 of 1,068 in London
3,268 reviews
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#270 of 1,068 in London
2,112 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#52 of 1,068 in London
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel London Waterloo
#325 of 1,068 in London
2,879 reviews
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#164 of 1,068 in London
873 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#235 of 1,068 in London
2,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London Blackfriars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London Blackfriars

Property: Novotel London Blackfriars
Address: 46 Blackfriars Road, London SE1 8NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London Blackfriars 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel London Blackfriars is a beautifully designed contemporary and exciting hotel in a vibrant area of London, whether you are staying for business or pleasure. The city is a short hop over the river Thames. You'll be minutes away from London's famous South Bank - take a stroll down the river and you'll find some of the capital's most famous Landmarks, including the London Eye, Tate Modern, the Shard and Shakespeare's Globe. Look out for the state-of-the-art facilities at Novotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel London Blackfriars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing