We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent London hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel London Blackfriars
Ranked #182 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
dorset, uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent London hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Booked this last minute and got a very good deal. The room was amazing for the price, stylish, light, a good size and very clean and modern. Excellent shower too. Didn't eat at the hotel but there are many good places nearby. The location is perfect for the south bank and indeed, on foot, we were in soho within a half hour. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginnydorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

It is great to see that you find the bedrooms to be amazing, stylish, very modern and clean. I am also happy that our prefect location is so convenient for you.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind regards
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,010
    832
    162
    48
    16
See reviews for
1,020
464
67
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here for one night for my birthday as a short break. Check in was fast and efficient and we were given a free upgrade which was great. The room was a decent size and very quiet. Could not hear any sound from the hall way or other guests. The shower with the glass wall also gave a smart extra touch to the room. We used the pool and sauna which was great.I Would definitely recommend this hotel as it is only a short walk away from the London eye and other London attractions. Also close to the underground.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SianShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights (11/22-11/25) while visiting London. Overall, I was very pleased with the hotel. The rooms are a decent size for two people, but that would be the max. Since the hotel is relatively new the decor was very modern. Free wifi was included and appeared to work just fine for us. We also were less than 5 minutes from the Southwark underground stop, which was super convenient. We relied on the tube to get around during the trip so having a close walk was great.

We didn't eat at the restaurant so I cannot comment on the quality of it. But I'd recommend visitors venture outside of the hotel and try some of the local cuisine. The two places I can recommend are Laughing Gravy and Blackfriars Pub. Both places are less than 10 minutes away by foot and were really good!

In general I enjoyed this hotel and would stay there again in the future!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor (room 501). The view wasn't that great, but since the room faced a re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsWahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you very much for your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to out hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colares, Portugal
Level Contributor
267 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed 6 nights at the Novotel London Blackfriars. The location is not bad once it is very close to the Southwark station. The hotel is quite new and everything is in good conditions. The room is simple but nice, no noise at least at the 7th floor, the bathroom is ok, the free internet could be faster, the breakfast was fine. We tryed the restaurant for dinner and was fine. About the service we can say the reception was kind and as we had no special requests, so all the service for us was excellent.Conclusion: for us the Novotel Blackfriars is a very good choice if you intend to visit London

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review.

It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards,
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Very comfortable 2 night stay while attending a conference at the Mermaid centre, which was easily reached on foot. Hotel is also very close to Southwark tube station. Staff were helpful and approachable, breakfast buffet had a wide choice, marred only by cold plates and on one occasion cold tea. Room was comfortable and a good size, with view towards the Shard, also good sized ensuite though the lack of door and glass walls might put off those who prefer more privacy. Overall I would recommend this hotel and would choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCLSacharissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you very much for your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the us.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

This was a perfect hotel for out short London stay. The hotel is quite new so everything is in good shape, rooms are well equipped and very clean. We were on the 11th floor with an excellent view across to The Shard and beyond. Great pool - and with fish! Excellent breakfast buffet. Professional staff. Absolutely nothing to fault.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
I am delighted to hear that you had such an excellent stay with us and that our hotel was perfect for your short visit to London. I appreciate your fantastic review and rating.

It is great to read your comments about our clean bedrooms, the great pool and our professional staff.
I am particularly satisfied to see your comments about our excellent breakfast buffet.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel for your next visit.

Kind regards
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#244 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,116 reviews
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#277 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#55 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel London Waterloo
#320 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,765 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#248 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,719 reviews
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#308 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London Blackfriars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London Blackfriars

Property: Novotel London Blackfriars
Address: 46 Blackfriars Road, London SE1 8NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London Blackfriars 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel London Blackfriars is a beautifully designed contemporary and exciting hotel in a vibrant area of London, whether you are staying for business or pleasure. The city is a short hop over the river Thames. You'll be minutes away from London's famous South Bank - take a stroll down the river and you'll find some of the capital's most famous Landmarks, including the London Eye, Tate Modern, the Shard and Shakespeare's Globe. Look out for the state-of-the-art facilities at Novotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel London Blackfriars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing