We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel London Blackfriars
Ranked #122 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
An Accor traveller
Brighton, United Kingdom
3
Reviewed 22 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

958 - 964 of 2,458 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

The price- I paid £ 280 for 1 adult and 2 children- 10 and 12 years old. I thought it was going to be something extra as that is a lot of money for 3- not even adults. It wasn't worth the money at all. When we were leaving- being 1/2 French- I overheard the receptionist talking to some French customers- and saying that 3 adults for this weekend would be £ 180! I don't know of course what type of room and if Breakfast was included- but that is just plain redicilous- 100 £ less for 3 adults. The breakfast staff gave me 3 pots of cold coffee- I had to asked the 4th time for warm! and I got it. One off that staff gave my son hot chocolate- holding the coffee cup around where you put your lips- no saucer - to avoid contact- then holding the jug off hot chocolate in his hand. That's the type of service I would expect in a 2 star Parisian hotel - not even there as that is basic knowledge. I asked for the jug off hot chocolate and pored my son a new cup off chocolate. I had to get my own cutlery as no one did. Just to much people and bad service in breakfast room. Breakfast otherwise good. Beds were hard and pillow really hard- not nice at all. Pool Ok but cold. Sauna nice! showers nice. Sauna not on until 10 am in morning- should have been on earlier- when it came on- took for ever to warm up. Pool freezing in morning.

Room Tip: I had a superior room- which i don't think it was.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnaFrancoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I have passed your comments regarding the breakfast to our Food and Beverage Manager and I can ensure you that he will be taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

I was very surprised to hear you did not like our leisure area as it has always been praised by our guests. The temperature of our swimming pool it is in between 25 to 28 degrees.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Novotel London Blackfriars.

Yours sincerely,

Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank theelk45
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Very modern hotel, spotlessly clean, lovely swimming pool with cinema wall showing underwater marine fish, very relaxing, pool even had underwater speakers! very close to Southwark tube station so easy to get around. Will definitely use again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments. It is always a pleasure to receive a five star review.

I am very happy to hear you loved our leisure area and that you liked our perfect location.

We look forward welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I've been to this hotel for one night with a friend to attend a fashion event.

The service was very nice. They allowed us an early check-in, because we had to change into costumes for the fashion event and arrived at 10AM. There is a paying early check-in option, but it's not guaranteed.

The room is big for a London hotel. It's modern, the bed comfortable. Our room had a very square design. Too square and green in my personal taste.

The bathroom had an embarassing feature and was complicated to use.

There is only lightly stained glass between the bed and the bathroom. There is a button to make it completely see-through. My friend could see me under the shower through the stained glass. I touched one button by mistake which made it completely see-through.

The shower was complicated, and I almost burned my hand changing the temperature. You don't know what's on, what's off, what's cold, what's hot, and what is the top or bottom shower setting. The design was bad.

The hotel has a restaurant, Elements. I tried it for lunch and dinner, it was good. I loved the squash salad. They have a large choice in cocktails and has entertainment for the children (Xbox, Ipads with games...)

Blackfriars wasn't the nicest place I've stayed in London. There are many bars and restaurants, but it doesn't feel very safe at night. We noticed there are many homeless sleeping under the bridges. We didn't feel "in danger", but it lacks charm and close points of interest. We could see "The Shard" building and interesting architecture around, but I didn't like the area.

All in all, nice hotel, bad shower, lovely service, not so great area. Couple and family friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Where_is_my_room
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Novotel London Blackfriars, I am happy to hear that you found our staff helpful and that you found our rooms to be spacious and comfortable.

All our rooms are the New Generation Novotel rooms and come with the opaque bathroom wall as a main feature. This is a very modern approach that Novotel has taken and will be implemented in most hotels around the world.

Southwark has been becoming more and more popular over the last few years and now is one of the most trending areas of the city. In this perspective I would not rate Southwark any lower than any other central London borough. I can assure you that the hotel works closely with the local business to keep and further improve the safety of the area.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Novotel London Blackfriars

Yours Sincerely

Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We had a 2 night break at this hotel and could not fault it at all. Great location, plenty for the kids to do in the hotel including an X Box and an interactive 50" TV/Games Console in the reception area and a swimming pool.
All has been said in the title.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments. It is always a pleasure to receive a five star review.

I am very happy to hear you liked our hotel.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We look forward welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel was nice, clean, near tube & trains. A step away from Tate but after 8pm the area is dead. I found the staff cold in manner but did what they are paid to do. Pool is excellent and my room was cool.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MajellaD2902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us.

I am happy to see you had a good stay with us

We look forward welcoming you in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#273 of 1,076 in London
3,488 reviews
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#257 of 1,076 in London
2,259 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#55 of 1,076 in London
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#160 of 1,076 in London
1,487 reviews
Novotel London Waterloo
#325 of 1,076 in London
3,094 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Novotel London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington
#276 of 1,076 in London
2,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London Blackfriars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London Blackfriars

Address: 46 Blackfriars Road, London SE1 8NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £114 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London Blackfriars 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel London Blackfriars is a beautifully designed contemporary and exciting hotel in a vibrant area of London, whether you are staying for business or pleasure. Located just minutes away from the City and London's famous Southbank, you will be within walking distance of Waterloo Station and some of the capital's most famous landmarks, including the London Eye, Tate Modern and St Pauls Cathedral. You can unwind in our Jamboree Foodfest & Bar, which celebrate flavours from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel London Blackfriars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing