We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clamgullion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel London Blackfriars
Ranked #177 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Donegal
1 review
“Clamgullion”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Good welcome at Reception and complimentary upgrade; room was very clean and modern; the swimming pool was small but well designed. Slept well after a good meal n the restaurant and enjoyed breakfast. Thought the self-service check-out - with helper provided - was a bit slow and fussy, but overall found this a likeable hotel in a convenient location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels

Helpful?
Thank ChelseaHotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us.

I am happy to see you had a good stay with us

We look forward welcoming you in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,059
    873
    168
    49
    17
See reviews for
1,055
503
71
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel on business than leisure within a week.

The Welcome and check in is a walk in the park, greeted by very professional and welcoming reception employee.

The room are very clean and very comfortable.

The food is absolutely out of this world for a hotel restaurant, service is as good. The only downside is that the coffee from the bar is very poor quality and taste.

The location is great.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, business or leisure.

Well done!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas Barnard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments. It is always a pleasure to receive a five star review.

I am happy to hear you found Novotel Blackfriars to be perfect for your stay in London and that you found our staff to be professional and welcoming.

I will definitely pass your comments regarding the coffee to Food and Beverage Manager.

We look forward welcoming you in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We spent one night in this conveniently located hotel. It is within 15 minutes walk of Waterloo and 5 minutes from Blackfriars stations. The staff were very helpful, and upgraded us to an Executive room (possibly because we have an Accor loyalty card).

The overall impression was that this was very well run, and everywhere positively gleamed. The only downside was glass wall between the bedroom and bathroom gave visual privacy using a switch but did not stop sound, which is unpleasant when the person sharing the room uses the toilet.

The pool, sauna and gym were well maintained, the equipment was all modern, and there were plenty of towels available.

The choice of drinks in the bar was comprehensive, and very reasonably priced - less than £10 for a brandy and whisky in a central London hotel was quite a surprise.

Our room rate included breakfast, and there was an excellent choice of cereals, fresh fruit, breads and pastries, and lots of options for a cooked breakfast.

We would definitely come back to this hotel if we were staying in London again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Blackfriars side of the hotel have views stretching from St Pauls, Canary Wharf, the Sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive a five star review.

I am happy to hear you found our hotel to be perfect for your stay in London.

We look forward welcoming you back in the future.

Yours Sincerely

Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed at this Hotel whilst for one night as I was in London

Great start, as when I walked through the automatic doors that take you into the hotel and was impressed, well laid out reception area, plenty of tables and chairs, Daily newspapers there for customers to read and a nice restaurant, got checked in with no hassle, went up to my room and was pleasantly surprised, spacious and excellent facilities in the room, Hotel handbook provided in your room (which I suggest people take time to read) and also a menu for the restaurant provided

You can order food up to your room, at extra cost of £3.00, and usually arrives in around 20-30 minutes of ordering, I did this and when I finished my meal I was advised to leave the tray outside in the corridor and someone would collect, the tray was still there the following morning (I didn't complete the meal so it kind of stunk a little never mind the risk of pests or things, I didn't order a drink with my meal as there were two bottles of water in the fridge in the room, which I thought would be free with compliments of the hotel, no, they're £2.75 per bottle

Went for breakfast the following morning which was pretty expensive and I paid with a £20 note, I was advised I would have to wait about 15 minutes for Michael to arrive so he could give me my change

I ordered a late checkout room at extra cost of £60 as my course wasn't due to finish until around 13:00pm, late checkout allows you to keep the room until 17:00pm, I got back from my course at around 13:15pm and found I couldn't get into my room as the card reader wasn't going green when I swiped it, so went down to reception to mention this and they had 'forgot' I ordered a late checkout room, they gave me another card but with no apology

And its the mentioned above that has me rating this hotel as average, where it has the potential to be better

Location of the hotel is very good as it's on the Blackfriars road close to excellent transport links and plenty of eating and drinking options nearby,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 848Adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you very much for you feedback and comments.
I am happy to hear you found our perfect location suitable for you stay in London.
At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. We will be definitely looking into the points you raised to further improve our service.
We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will welcome you back to the Novotel London Blackfriars
Yours Sincerely
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Arrivdd late and left early but smooth pleasant checkin. Room is quiet nice, fresh, clean but aircon is poor. Good shower and comfy bed.
2 bottles of free water and free WLAN.
Checkout easy and taxi organised quickly.

Would return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArcfireSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us.

I am happy to see you had a good stay with us

We look forward welcoming you in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed on a Sunday evening on a business trip. I was surprised and pleased to find a spacious, comfortable room with good views of The Shard and the London Eye. Would have liked to have stayed longer and much nicer than the hotels I usually find myself in for the same price. The tube station is just a minute away on foot and there are bus stops next to the hotel. It's just a 5 or 10-minute walk up to Ludgate Circus. On a Sunday evening, open local food shops are hard to find and all very quiet in this area but you can be right in the centre very quickly if you want to be.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Katielucerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments.

I am very happy to hear you found Novotel Blackfriars to be perfect for yor stay in London.

We look forward welcoming you back in the future.

Yours Sincerely

Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mombasa
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I was on a two dab business trip to London. Arrived early morning and lucky me they got me a room.quite new hotels, chic and funky . Receptionist a young man from north Sfrica I can't recall his name was very nice to me and professional. I shall return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mombasahotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind feedback and comments.

I am happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us.

We look forward welcoming you in the near future

Yours Sincerely

Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#250 of 1,068 in London
3,264 reviews
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#268 of 1,068 in London
2,111 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#52 of 1,068 in London
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel London Waterloo
#325 of 1,068 in London
2,876 reviews
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#162 of 1,068 in London
870 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#237 of 1,068 in London
2,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London Blackfriars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London Blackfriars

Property: Novotel London Blackfriars
Address: 46 Blackfriars Road, London SE1 8NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London Blackfriars 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel London Blackfriars is a beautifully designed contemporary and exciting hotel in a vibrant area of London, whether you are staying for business or pleasure. The city is a short hop over the river Thames. You'll be minutes away from London's famous South Bank - take a stroll down the river and you'll find some of the capital's most famous Landmarks, including the London Eye, Tate Modern, the Shard and Shakespeare's Globe. Look out for the state-of-the-art facilities at Novotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel London Blackfriars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing