We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELENT IN ALL ASPECTS - BUT BREAKFAST TIME...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel London Blackfriars
Ranked #120 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 May 2014

There is nothing we could state about the hotel to diminish it's quality and servisse. Everything was perfec and done to ensure the hosts would be satysfied. The rooms follow the same standard of all Novotels we have been before and what apeeared inicially to be a business only hotel revealed itself as a great choice. great location and excelent service...

A tip; it is perfect for people who have already been to London before and have a minimum of experience with the London Transportation system. Buses and tube station merge perfectly in th area.

...were it not for the overcrowded breakfast time ! We understand that th hotel has it's limitations, but somehow we had the feeling that they could do better. For example, directing businessman who were on their own to occupy the small tables for two instead of sitting wherever they liked.

Anyway, that didn't spoil our vaccation. We woul defnetally go back there.

We were there on March 2013. Cold and windy - best travel option ? The Underground.

Room Tip: since the hotel is surrounded by business buildings, there is no much of a view, but we did manage a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us.

I am happy to see you had a good stay with us

We look forward welcoming you in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

981 - 987 of 2,522 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Arrived 2 hours before check in time and were able to check in (with an upgrade to an executive room)
Clean, modern room with a lovely view of the Shard. Staff were extremely helful and friendly and even sorted us with a last minute late check out when we left.
Can't rate this hotel highly enough. Had a wonderful stay. Would recommend for any type of getaway.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bkp91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments.

I am very happy to hear you had a great stay with us and that you found our staff extremely helpful.

We look forward welcoming you in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels
1  Thank Mazquig
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Good welcome at Reception and complimentary upgrade; room was very clean and modern; the swimming pool was small but well designed. Slept well after a good meal n the restaurant and enjoyed breakfast. Thought the self-service check-out - with helper provided - was a bit slow and fussy, but overall found this a likeable hotel in a convenient location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels
Thank ChelseaHotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us.

I am happy to see you had a good stay with us

We look forward welcoming you in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel on business than leisure within a week.

The Welcome and check in is a walk in the park, greeted by very professional and welcoming reception employee.

The room are very clean and very comfortable.

The food is absolutely out of this world for a hotel restaurant, service is as good. The only downside is that the coffee from the bar is very poor quality and taste.

The location is great.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, business or leisure.

Well done!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas Barnard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments. It is always a pleasure to receive a five star review.

I am happy to hear you found Novotel Blackfriars to be perfect for your stay in London and that you found our staff to be professional and welcoming.

I will definitely pass your comments regarding the coffee to Food and Beverage Manager.

We look forward welcoming you in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We spent one night in this conveniently located hotel. It is within 15 minutes walk of Waterloo and 5 minutes from Blackfriars stations. The staff were very helpful, and upgraded us to an Executive room (possibly because we have an Accor loyalty card).

The overall impression was that this was very well run, and everywhere positively gleamed. The only downside was glass wall between the bedroom and bathroom gave visual privacy using a switch but did not stop sound, which is unpleasant when the person sharing the room uses the toilet.

The pool, sauna and gym were well maintained, the equipment was all modern, and there were plenty of towels available.

The choice of drinks in the bar was comprehensive, and very reasonably priced - less than £10 for a brandy and whisky in a central London hotel was quite a surprise.

Our room rate included breakfast, and there was an excellent choice of cereals, fresh fruit, breads and pastries, and lots of options for a cooked breakfast.

We would definitely come back to this hotel if we were staying in London again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Blackfriars side of the hotel have views stretching from St Pauls, Canary Wharf, the Sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive a five star review.

I am happy to hear you found our hotel to be perfect for your stay in London.

We look forward welcoming you back in the future.

Yours Sincerely

Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed at this Hotel whilst for one night as I was in London

Great start, as when I walked through the automatic doors that take you into the hotel and was impressed, well laid out reception area, plenty of tables and chairs, Daily newspapers there for customers to read and a nice restaurant, got checked in with no hassle, went up to my room and was pleasantly surprised, spacious and excellent facilities in the room, Hotel handbook provided in your room (which I suggest people take time to read) and also a menu for the restaurant provided

You can order food up to your room, at extra cost of £3.00, and usually arrives in around 20-30 minutes of ordering, I did this and when I finished my meal I was advised to leave the tray outside in the corridor and someone would collect, the tray was still there the following morning (I didn't complete the meal so it kind of stunk a little never mind the risk of pests or things, I didn't order a drink with my meal as there were two bottles of water in the fridge in the room, which I thought would be free with compliments of the hotel, no, they're £2.75 per bottle

Went for breakfast the following morning which was pretty expensive and I paid with a £20 note, I was advised I would have to wait about 15 minutes for Michael to arrive so he could give me my change

I ordered a late checkout room at extra cost of £60 as my course wasn't due to finish until around 13:00pm, late checkout allows you to keep the room until 17:00pm, I got back from my course at around 13:15pm and found I couldn't get into my room as the card reader wasn't going green when I swiped it, so went down to reception to mention this and they had 'forgot' I ordered a late checkout room, they gave me another card but with no apology

And its the mentioned above that has me rating this hotel as average, where it has the potential to be better

Location of the hotel is very good as it's on the Blackfriars road close to excellent transport links and plenty of eating and drinking options nearby,

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 848Adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ErolUray, Manager at Novotel London Blackfriars, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you very much for you feedback and comments.
I am happy to hear you found our perfect location suitable for you stay in London.
At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. We will be definitely looking into the points you raised to further improve our service.
We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will welcome you back to the Novotel London Blackfriars
Yours Sincerely
Erol Uray
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#57 of 1,081 in London
1,913 reviews
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#263 of 1,081 in London
3,539 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#161 of 1,081 in London
1,561 reviews
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#255 of 1,081 in London
2,293 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Novotel London Paddington
Novotel London Paddington
#271 of 1,081 in London
2,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London Blackfriars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London Blackfriars

Address: 46 Blackfriars Road, London SE1 8NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: £123 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London Blackfriars 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel London Blackfriars is a beautifully designed contemporary and exciting hotel in a vibrant area of London, whether you are staying for business or pleasure. Located just minutes away from the City and London's famous Southbank, you will be within walking distance of Waterloo Station and some of the capital's most famous landmarks, including the London Eye, Tate Modern and St Pauls Cathedral. You can unwind in our Jamboree Foodfest & Bar, which celebrate flavours from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel London Blackfriars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing