We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost opportunity”
Review of Ealing Green B&B

Ealing Green B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ealing Green B&B
Ranked #239 of 558 London B&B and Inns
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lost opportunity”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The room in house looked promising, in the attic with bathroom shared with just one other bedroom on this floor. However, the other guests, all men, also used it and left it in an unpleasant state, wet towels on the floor, and on one occasion brown phlegm in the sink. The door handle fell off everytime I closed the door, and there was a dodgy lock. A comfy bed, but someone elses clothes in the drawers. Smell of cigarette smoke. Making breakfast myself was fine, but eating it surrounded by half eaten takeaways left by other guests was not. (this was every morning). The bread was mouldy by the third morning, and was not replaced. On the fourth and last day, still no fresh bread and no milk either, and I couldn't raise the owner to sort this, and had to leave without a drink or breakfast. There was a general lack of 'visability' from anyone in charge, and as a solo female surrounded by construction worker guests, I felt distinctly out of place. Probably the most worrying thing, however, was a lack of information on what to do in case of fire. Given that some of the rooms were sleeping three men, and the kitchen was on the first floor, this could be a problem. Very disapointing stay, especially as the property has the potential to be very nice, if a little more effort was put in by the owner.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    6
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
6
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Felt like a homestay because it was warm, welcoming and clean.

Great value for the price. For example, we had the attic apartment which was a whole floor to ourselves with bathroom, a fridge stocked with eggs, milk, bacon, yoghurt, fresh fruit, margarine, jams, sauces. A kitchen that had a washing machine, freezer, dryer, microwave, Dolce Gusto coffee machine with capsules for freshly ground coffee.

Plus, Janine is an attentive host. She cleaned the kitchen and bathroom daily and even provided body wash.

It's worth the money and convenient for the tube- Ealing Broadway- banks, numerous cafés and restaurants, supermarket etc.

We also had a cooker so we could buy our dinner and cook it each night as the kitchen was fully stocked with cooking utensils etc

I never smelt smoke (as a previous review stated)

Downside....

Sometimes our bathroom was used by others who stated one night in the B&B but as the host cleaned daily, it wasn't really a problem really.

Room Tip: There is no sign out the front but like the picture on the B&B website, the house is called Vict...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chirpyandcheerful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I stayed here for the best part of 3 months!
Very clean; very comfortable; very friendly.
Superb bedlinen & towels - all white.

Lots of restaurants & bars nearby and very close to transport links (Ealing Broadway, District & Circle lines).

It does have 2 communal bathrooms and a communal kitchen, but that didn't bother me at all, and is reflected in the price.

If you want 3*, 4* or 5* hotels, then go and pay their prices!! :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

You'll either love this place or you won't like it at all - hence the 3 stars. It's quite odd.

If you want a cheap place to stay, right near Ealing Broadway, and you just want to be left alone, then it's great.

If you want to be looked after, or to stay somewhere romantic, then this isn't it. You have to bring your own towel, make your own breakfast, share a bathroom with a few other rooms, and nothing seemed very clean.

But for £50 it's a bargain.

My notes were:
Great location for Ealing Broadway shops, station, council buildings etc - less than 5 minutes walk.
Lots of litter and junk out front doesn't look promising
Smells a bit of cigarette smoke
Parking - just 2 places - but you can leave car all day for £5
Room is warm
Big comfortable bed
Big and good TV
Free wifi
Sharing bathroom with two or three other rooms, so might be a bit of a bottle neck there
Cook your own breakfast - fridge full of bacon, eggs, etc, also cereals, toast, yoghurts, fruit - so you can have whatever you like for breakfast, cooked just how you like it.

Verdict - yes, I think I'd stay there again, but you do need to know what you're booking - it's not so much a B&B, more a room in a house.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JinnyJones1982232a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

It is not the fanciest of places, but very comfortable and well worth the money. We had the attic apartment which had a kitchen and private bath. As we were warned it is small but layed out decently. I never felt cramped and i am 6ft tall.
Janine the owner was very friendly and attentive. She always had food for us in the morning and made sure our stay was comfortable. It felt like staying at a relatives house, I mean this in a good way ...lol
The location is ideal , being a short walk to the Ealing Broadway stop on the tube. The town itself is friendly and has plenty of great restaurants. I highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eastsidetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Trying to find accommodation in London can be expensive and I was searching for ages for a affordable bed. Came across Ealing Green B&B and our stay was excellent!!

Very clean, friendly spot with a great area around it. The owner is nice lady and up for a laugh.

Plenty of bars, restaurants in the area and found people to be nice.

Definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YourWan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Xanadu
Hotel Xanadu
#353 of 1,069 in London
363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Ealing Hotel
0.3 mi away
Travelodge London Ealing
Travelodge London Ealing
#150 of 1,069 in London
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Abbey Lodge Hotel
Abbey Lodge Hotel
#895 of 1,069 in London
106 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London - Ealing
0.2 mi away
Kings Arms
Kings Arms
#290 of 558 in London
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ealing Green B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ealing Green B&B

Property: Ealing Green B&B
Address: Ealing Green | Ealing Green, London W5 5QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 558 B&Bs / Inns in London
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing