We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“28th Floor Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Millbank Tower

Millbank Tower
Ranked #800 of 1,591 things to do in London
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“28th Floor Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We went to the 28th floor to sample the Burger/Cocktail and Salad dinner (They also offer lobster package). We arrived on time for our booking but had to wait over 45 minutes for our table. It then took a while to place our order - eventually when the food did arrive my angus burger was raw (everyone else's medium). I mentioned this to the staff and they smiled politely at me..feeling that the waiter was inexperienced I didn't pursue this complaint as I was full from the chips and salad. The cocktails were good, a bit pricey at 9.50 each but a good selection. Great views and very spacious.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fiona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    13
    3
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Restaurant on 28th floor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Wonderful 360 degree views of London, would also recommend coming here during the day. Food well presented and interesting and the tasting menu well worth it at 50% off. The matching wines were good and the diner could choose from 2/3 per course. Unfortunately there was no port to accompany the final course but we were allowed to choose a liqueur instead. Our waiter was very helpful, other staff friendly but gave the impression they were still training.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ann2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disgraceful rip off of an evening”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

I attended mill bank tower sky bar on New Year's Eve 2013. I was charged £145 for the evening. I had to stand in the same spot most of the evening to ensure I saw the fireworks. The buffet was cold and there weren't enough tables so I had to sit on the floor to eat. Most people were standing. We were offered a cinema and popcorn on the website but on the evening it was a tacky bucking bronco! You had to pay to put your coat away on top of all the money that was already spent on the ticket! The promised welcome cocktail was mainly sugary juice drink with minimal alcohol in it, this was served in a plastic tumbler. They ran out of champagne for the promised drink at midnight which is unacceptable! The staff were also extremely rude! The vast majority of people who attended this event were disgusted as a complaint email has been sent to everyone on the list by a large amount of people. I want a refund!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank W00pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good view over London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

Good for night time photography. I didn't bother with food or drinks there, just taking photos. It was fairly empty when I went, which helped immensely.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank c240amg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey England
Level Contributor
158 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Check What you are Paying for before parting with your money!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

We visited Millbank Tower to attend one of their Skyfall Packages, we purposely chose to attend on a Saturday night (3rd Nov) in the hope that there would be less large corporate groups there and most people would be appreciative of the evening having parted with their own cash for the experience.
Our first complaint is that what was delivered is not what we bought, the information from Seetickets when we bought teh tickets stated 'Stunning drinks reception with canapes on arrival overlooking the Thames.' The information we then received from Altitude London after chasing for it stated ''champagne drinks reception and canapes' They couldn't move the Thames so we did have a good view of it but what it didn't say anywhere was that the champage reception included 1 glass and canapes if you were stood in the right place i.e. right next to the kitchen door and grabbed them beofre the waiters were mobbed. We complained to the bar manager and were told 'I have been told only to give one drink' in respect of the canapes we were told 'the people round there get them first'.
At around 6.45 we were all moved from the bar on the 28th floor to the rstaurant on the 29th floor - thsi space is very bland and beggedto be deckedout with some Bond memorabilia - an opportunity that was missed. My husband then went to get one of our promised cocktails - for this read Martini (we don't mind a Martini as we rarely drink cocktails but after the lack of champagne we thought this would makeupt for it). WRONG - the bar staff very rudely told him it was one drink only and they were not honouring the 'open cocktial bar'. By this point all 10 people at our table were complaining as were many others.
Wine with dinner was promised as 'fine wines' on the Seetickets blurb but just 'wine with dinner' on the Altitude material. It was not fine at all, it was mass produced and the red was very limp. We did ask for an extra bottle of red as our tale of 10 only had 4 bottles, that arrived with no problems on our table but lots of tables didn't seem to bother asking. The quality of this wine was also better however the 'manager' who brought it to our table made the mistake of pouring the new wine into my glass when I had some of the earlier and different wine still in there!
Coffee started to arrived with chocolates just as we were summonded down to the cinema - back to the ground floor. We never got to even taste the coffee.
The next farce was being told we could not takeour remaining drinks down in the lift with us - we walked down 29 floors with ours - but alas as we tried to get into the cinema we were told to dumpt them. We refused and the staff did back off and gave us plastic glasses to pour them into. Were then asked for our cinema tickets - no one had given us tickets - they gave up and let us in. We also noticed that everyone who had dumped their drinks were now buying very expensive ones at the bar just inside teh cinema foyer. We grabbed 2 bags of popcornand took our seats - front row, not ideal but there were a few rowdy groups at the back and we really did want to watch the film.
It was fortunate that the film has a few loud action sequences in the early part as these drowned out the ruslting of popcorn bags and general noise from the audience.
The gentleman sitting next to my husband told him that when they ran the package last week the bar was open but they had stopped it because people were getting so drunk they were being sick in the cinema. Not our problem - we are able to moderate our drinking and behave appropriatley and our package was dummed down due to the behaviour of others so it seemed.
We would never chose to visit this venue again. Although the staff were largely pleasant they made some schoolboy errors and blamed everyone else for the poor evening.
The wine
We then had dinner which was very nice - not huge portions but wed on't mind that. We never got to the coffee because

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JMTravels24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Millbank Tower also viewed

 

Been to Millbank Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing