We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, reasonably priced”
Review of The Duke and Duchess - CLOSED

The Duke and Duchess
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$23
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Neighbourhood: City of London
Description: About The Duke and Duchess The Duke and Duchess is a beautiful traditional British pub situated in the City of London just a stones throw from St Paul's Cathedral. The tasty menu delivers good old fashioned British food classics. From our extensive drinks menu we offer cocktails, fine wines and cask ales in beautiful surroundings. Whether your tipple is a decent pint, a glass of wine or a delectable cocktail come and enjoy it with us. This, combined with a warm welcome and friendly service, makes The Duke and Duchess the perfect place for a hearty lunch, delicious dinner or drinks with friends The Venue is also available for private hire perfect for wedding, birthday or office party.
England
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Lovely food, reasonably priced”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We went to this restaurant to have our Christmas lunch and really enjoyed the experience. The food was very good and reasonably priced, especially in comparison to some other places nearby. We didn't mind the decoration too much, as tasty food is more important than pretty decoration. I will definitely go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Little-Fruit-Bat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    15
    9
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Needs improvement...”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Hmmm, quite a disappointing overall experience. Went for Christmas lunch and this was perhaps the wrong time as it was quite busy with several other parties attending their office Christmas lunches but I left feeling very underwhelmed and not particularly content.

FOOD: came out cold and not just slightly but cold enough to make me think it had been prepared and then forgotten on the kitchen counter for 20 minutes before being served. The flavours were there and married well together but the fact that it came out cold and was sent back and reheated in the microwave was less than ideal and affected the consistency and taste.

SERVICE: mixed feelings on this one. It looked like everyone was doing their best but it felt a bit chaotic. They were all very polite and friendly but service was too busy so they were not too blame for some of the numerous faux pas.

AMBIANCE: Ok, not great. Acceptable becasue it’s just a pub at the end of the day...and this is reflected in the decor, service, menu etc. They should’ve offered to knock a bit off the total bill as out of the 8 of us, 6 sent back their food to be reheated and they also forgot the side dishes so you’d expect them to take this into consideration and either offer something complimentary or a discount. That’s what most establishment do to ensure customers return and leave with a good dining experience.

Would I go back again? Not in a hurry but the prices are fairly good so would perhaps consider a different time to visit when it’s likely to be less busy but to be honest I’m not sure that’s enough to persuade me to return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank E A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
630 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Modern. Pub”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Our family enjoyed this "Modern Pub". Free WiFi which my children enjoyed. There was usual pub food and some with a modern flair. We had fish pie, chicken curry, bangers and mash, and chicken and chorizo pie. Beer on tap and cider all the way around. Not the old pubs we usually ate at but It was a nice change. Near the Millennium Bridge and St Paul's.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SheriBobLove2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“More nightclub than restaurant”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Popped in for dinner on a Thursday evening. Despite only about 5 tables being occupied they had a DJ pumping out the music. It was so loud we could not talk at our table. Eventually we complained to the manager and in fairness he had a word with the DJ and the music was cranked down a notch. The food was pretty average - only about half the starters were available.

Not sure how this place wants to be positioned - but it is neither nightclub nor restaurant. Lots of better alternatives in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dublintribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Slick and classy”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Fab bar with friendly staff totally made two tired tourists feel welcome. The lovely ladies remembered what we were drinking after only the first order and service was very snappy considering the crowd on a sunny afternoon. Will return again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HomethenAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Duke and Duchess also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing