We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not even consider this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge London Bethnal Green
Ranked #451 of 1,088 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not even consider this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Do not even consider this hotel ..... The rooms were smelly no housekeeping no toiletries noise...bed sheets were not changed for 4 days fresh towels were not supplied throughout........................

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Samir Firoz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge London Bethnal Green, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
We are truly sorry to learn that you were unhappy with your stay Samir Firoz S. Our cleaning staff are required to routinely check all our rooms and to notice any smells. We will air out the affected room thoroughly and notify the Hotel Manager if necessary. Additionally, although we do not provide toiletries in the rooms, customers have the option to purchase toiletries from vending machines at reception should they need to, this allows us to continue to offer great rates in great locations. Furthermore, our cleaning staff are fully expected to service your room during your stay so it is regrettable to learn that this was not the case on this occasion. We would like to provide a resolution for the issues you have raised. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    393
    141
    55
    56
See reviews for
216
389
86
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

hits the spot - price. cleanliness, staff, two blocks from central line tube station. had at first thought it was a little off the beaten track, not at all. park and V & A childhood museum across the road.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

This review is just based on a one night stay with my girlfriend this month. It's a standard modern Travelodge so the rooms are clean and functional. Surprisingly our bottle opener had been nicked, so had to make do ourselves.

The good: Clean, good price for reasonably Central London, Tube and buses pretty close

The bad: Stuffy, railway lines on two sides - difficult to sleep with windows open due to noise. High possibility of large school groups making racket and blocking stairwells.

Room Tip: Best of luck avoiding the ubiquitous railway noises
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cangarwbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Typical travelodge in that you get what you pay for. Having said that, the service is excellent (young guys who are really friendly without being overly corporate) and also their rooms (albeit basic) put their more expensive counterparts to shame.

However, I wouldnt be happy going here at night alone if I was a woman. The area isnt the best and I would imagine a tad intimidating if a solo female.

Despite that, decent enough location if out in Shoreditch or Brick Lane.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Just one stop from Liverpool St, and a short walk from the underground this is a well located travelodge.
And as a travelodge you know what you're getting, no frills but cheap, clean, safe and absolutely fine to use as a base.

Although the room was a little hot.

Room Tip: Better if you can ask for a room facing away from the railway lines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal
Level Contributor
141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

This new Travelodge is a short distance from Bethnal Green Tube station, just past a Sainsburys Local. I was happy about the staff, the cleanliness of the 4th floor room and the "Dreamer" bed which you can order from Travelodge. It did give me a positive dream!. Pulling the bar on the window did shut out all but the loudest rumbling from the trains. but my visit was on a cool weekend in early April. Far too cool was the shower water which never ran hot unlike the sink. I also was misled by the dinner menu in the room when in fact only snacks were available on a Sunday night due to lack of staff. An English muffin burger and salad, plus some crisps and chocolate out of the half full vending machine made up dinner. Makes you wonder what happens if you book a dinner that does not materialise. Breakfast however was normal. Nice view of the park from a front room.

Room Tip: Probably a higher up room is better as there is a separate bar on the main road end of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed here as a base for our daughters wedding we were a large family group, the staff were very helpful and friendly, the hotel is new and well maintained, the breakfast was good value for money with

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 61Ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
The RE London Shoreditch
#549 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Town Hall Hotel
#152 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Spitalfields
hub by Premier Inn Spitalfields, Brick Lane
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Bethnal Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Bethnal Green

Property: Travelodge London Bethnal Green
Address: 231- 237 Cambridge Heath Road, London E2 0EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #451 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Bethnal Green 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge London Bethnal Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing