We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond Expectation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge London Bethnal Green

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge London Bethnal Green
Ranked #457 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Kangar
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is my first stay at a Travelodge and im glad i chose Bethnal Green Travelodge.
The hotel, although very conveniently located near the Bethnal Green tube station, is a little hidden, with the entrance in Witan Street off Cambridge Heath Rd.
Checking in was fast and the girl is lovely, friendly and warm.
The room, albeit small, is clean with a towel, complimentary coffee facilities, flat screen tv.
No proper cupboard for luggage though, just an exposed corner to hang you things - a style now common in many new hotels - which i dont fancy and dont understand. Makes the room look more cluttered. A similar sized cabinet - floor to ceiling, would be nicer.
But no divan under the bed, which is a good thing, because i can stash my suitcase underneath it.
The bed is VERY COMFORTABLE. very nice.
Wifi is at a cost and cheaper when you register online.
Security door at every floor gives you additional security.
All in all, very very satisfied with the hotel and at the price im getting, its excellent.
Keep up the good job.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honest_malaysian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    388
    137
    54
    56
See reviews for
209
385
86
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

I was on a one night visit to London, from Cork and wanted a centrally based hotel with good links to the tube - this did not disappoint! Although arriving relatively late, the service was excellent and the room was clean (although a little warm).

I'm a light sleeper and I got worken by the frequently passing trains - however this is the norm for a London hotel for me.

I was very pleased that they offered the use of an iron and ironing board (and hair dryer too) as I was being interviewd on BBC television later on in the day and had to stuff all my clothes into my hand baggage to avoid Ryanair's baggage costs!

The breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of different tastes.

My only minor disappointment was the cost of WiFi - £10 for the night if I wanted its use more than an hour if I understood correctly. I would normally tether my mobile phone and use mobile data but as my mobile uses an Irish telco, roaming costs would be very prohibitive.

Overall - a great budget central London hotel. I would definitely stay here again on my next stay in London.

Room Tip: Probably the best side for a room is the side that faces the student accomodation - less street and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hywel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Do not even consider this hotel ..... The rooms were smelly no housekeeping no toiletries noise...bed sheets were not changed for 4 days fresh towels were not supplied throughout........................

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Samir Firoz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge London Bethnal Green, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
We are truly sorry to learn that you were unhappy with your stay Samir Firoz S. Our cleaning staff are required to routinely check all our rooms and to notice any smells. We will air out the affected room thoroughly and notify the Hotel Manager if necessary. Additionally, although we do not provide toiletries in the rooms, customers have the option to purchase toiletries from vending machines at reception should they need to, this allows us to continue to offer great rates in great locations. Furthermore, our cleaning staff are fully expected to service your room during your stay so it is regrettable to learn that this was not the case on this occasion. We would like to provide a resolution for the issues you have raised. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

hits the spot - price. cleanliness, staff, two blocks from central line tube station. had at first thought it was a little off the beaten track, not at all. park and V & A childhood museum across the road.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

This review is just based on a one night stay with my girlfriend this month. It's a standard modern Travelodge so the rooms are clean and functional. Surprisingly our bottle opener had been nicked, so had to make do ourselves.

The good: Clean, good price for reasonably Central London, Tube and buses pretty close

The bad: Stuffy, railway lines on two sides - difficult to sleep with windows open due to noise. High possibility of large school groups making racket and blocking stairwells.

Room Tip: Best of luck avoiding the ubiquitous railway noises
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cangarwbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Typical travelodge in that you get what you pay for. Having said that, the service is excellent (young guys who are really friendly without being overly corporate) and also their rooms (albeit basic) put their more expensive counterparts to shame.

However, I wouldnt be happy going here at night alone if I was a woman. The area isnt the best and I would imagine a tad intimidating if a solo female.

Despite that, decent enough location if out in Shoreditch or Brick Lane.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Just one stop from Liverpool St, and a short walk from the underground this is a well located travelodge.
And as a travelodge you know what you're getting, no frills but cheap, clean, safe and absolutely fine to use as a base.

Although the room was a little hot.

Room Tip: Better if you can ask for a room facing away from the railway lines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
The RE London Shoreditch
#549 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Town Hall Hotel
#145 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel London, Liverpool Street
Clerkenwell
Travelodge London Kings Cross Royal Scot
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Bethnal Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Bethnal Green

Property: Travelodge London Bethnal Green
Address: 231- 237 Cambridge Heath Road, London E2 0EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #457 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Bethnal Green 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge London Bethnal Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing