We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value given the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge London Bethnal Green
Ranked #492 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value given the location”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Given how close this hotel is to central London, it is great value (providing you book early enough). Rooms are small but clean and tidy. The bar downstairs is open 24hrs and the prices aren't any more than the local pubs.

With no aircon though, I can imagine the rooms can get a little warm in the summer and even in mid-june it was a bit uncomfortable at night.

Still, for the price it would be churlish to complain and I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure you search for 'accessible rooms' if you want a twin rather than a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woffle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    420
    154
    61
    69
See reviews for
229
421
93
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I stayed in this Travelodge for two nights. Whilst a little off the beaten path there is a tube station located close by. The hotel has been refurbished to a good standard and the bedrooms are clean and functional with a good bed and a small but functional shower/bathroom. My bedroom overlooked the main road and hence there was a lot of noise coming from cars and passersby. Closing the triple glazed windows negated the noise completely. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a bar cafe and meals can be purchased throughout the day. I had a nice evening meal but was left disappointed by the blandness of the cooked breakfast.
Nearby you can find a bike hire station and on Bethnal Green Road there are a multitude of shops in what is a multicultural area. All the standard takeaway restaurants as well as Tescos, Sainsburys and Boots can be found on this road. There are a number of nearby parks should you feel like a stroll.

Room Tip: If possible during warm weather seek a room not overlooking the main road -Cambridge Road West other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arh2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

East End location is probably not the first choice of many, but the value for money cannot be disputed. Located very close to Tube Station and buses, Sainsburys, and fast food outlets (try a bacon sandwich at Nicos Diner). Over the road from a nice park (and cheeky squirrels). I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

to have rooms that are around 30 degrees with no aircon or even a fan. This forces you to keep the window open (which still is very ineffective at reducing the temperature) and means the noise from the nearby tube and railway lines will keep you awake even if the heat doesn't. As a result my wife and I had 2 nights of very disrupted sleep, a far cry from your cardboard brochure in the room which says "Wake up feeling refreshed".

The worst aspect is that this is a known problem and still the management won't sort it out. You should be respecting your customers and supporting your staff who were very good. Also, why only one set of towels for 2 people? And your pillows are not comfortable at all, even if you think they are.

The staff in the hotel were very good, but the service prior to arriving at the hotel is terrible in that you cannot contact the hotel directly, it's all premium telephone numbers.
I will never use Travel Lodge again unless I get a personal apology from the management of this group.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend anyone to use this hotel, certainly in the summer at least, until it instal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Beware if given a room on the 6th floor its like an oven
the staff are very sorry but its out of their control you are not told until you get to the hotel when the only rooms left are on the 6th floor
you wont be able to sleep and the fan you get is not enough

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
4 Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My first Travelodge stay was in winter, when I was pretty satisfied with the hotel (near Liverpool Street). This June stay, at the Bethnal Green hotel, was another matter. The corridors were stiflingly hot, the room just about bearable, but the limited opening of the window couldn't really cope. The street noise was considerable, so we had to close the window to sleep. The room did cool gradually, and we did manage to sleep, but this was early June and I would not risk staying there later in the summer. There's not much that can be done about this- the building is badly designed- so I'd say stay elsewhere in summer. A pity, as the rooms, although basic, are clean and function OK, and of course the staff do their best.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank ChrissDiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Great location for tube. Hotel was very clean and well presented. Great breakfast with a good variety, we filled up for the day! Only minor gripe was that the rooms were very warm, corridors even warmer! Also, a lot of traffic noise during the night with windows open. Air con would be a welcome addition!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Lucyloo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Travelodge London Hackney Hotel
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Town Hall Hotel
#172 of 1,069 in London
1,353 reviews
The RE London Shoreditch
#559 of 1,069 in London
1,316 reviews
Travelodge London Stratford
#361 of 1,069 in London
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Bethnal Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Bethnal Green

Property: Travelodge London Bethnal Green
Address: 231- 237 Cambridge Heath Road, London E2 0EL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #492 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Bethnal Green 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travelodge Hotels Ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge London Bethnal Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing