We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, clean hotel”
Review of Ruskin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ruskin Hotel
Ranked #594 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

From the friendly staff at check in, to the huge bed and very clean bathroom and excellent facilities, staying here was great. We enjoyed a meal in the pub and were lucky enough to get a free drink! Would recommend.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tassielassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed in Ruskins for 4 nights in early 2013. It is a great place for the price I paid. Friendly staff and flexible to accommodate my early check-in requests, as I landed early in the morning.

Lot of eat-ins nearby would also come-in handy, particularly if you are landing after a long flight.

Rooms were quite tidy and spacious enough for a short trip. Really enjoyed staying there and would definitely recommend to anyone who is on a tight budget but looking for a good place to stay in London for a short time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank binoraaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We booked the Ruskin Dec 21st-24th, thank you for the pleasant stay.

The room was big enough for the three of us, clean and the beds were good.

Short walk (10 min.) to East Ham station, which is quite comfortable (even in the evening times) and nice to do (very much Indian shops along the way with all its specialties).
30 minutes to central London with the tube.

Breakfast is ok, enough refill when done.
Eggs, sausages, beans available as well as yoghurt, croissants etc.
One recommendation is to place the table with breakfast in the pub in stead of the hall to the pub.

Thank you again and whenever going back to London, we will stay in the Ruskin !

Edwin Prooij

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Edwin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I’ve stayed at this hotel with my partner and had really nice experience. Hotel is great- providing room at reasonable rate and with free wifi in hotel as well in the rooms. The rooms were really clean and big with a safe and of course a huge tv. Rooms were cleaned every day and were provided with tea and coffee with towels. The staffs were very kind and helpful. Breakfast was satisfying with enough choices. Even the attached pub (Ruskin Arms) serves tasty food and we had lovely time there. We had parked our car in their secure parking which kept our mind at ease. Hotel is very close to Westfield Stratford and doesn’t take too long to get into central London. We will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I was skeptical about staying at this hotel as I was worried it was far from central London. Luckily the station which was a walking distance away took me directly to the city in about 30 minutes.

The Hotel itself was extremely clean and modern. My room was cleaned and provided with new towels each day. Breakfast had much variety and staff were extremely helpful!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy_Whites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Room was clean and centrally heated (although the thermostat controls were not in English - weird). Bed was comfortable, maybe a little firm but that's okay. No decor to speak of, and no complimentary toiletries - you'll have to bring your own. The walk to the tube station was a little too far for my liking, but you do pass some very fragrant-smelling Indian food markets along the way. The neighborhood is crowded but I didn't feel unsafe after dark. Wish it were closer to the city centre but the room prices were good. Front desk staff were helpful for the most part except the older guy who I caught dozing more than once.

The bad part is that the wifi is terrible. They were trying to figure out what was wrong but as of checkout time it still wasn't sorted.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DownEastB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Manager at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Good Evening,

Many thanks for leaving us a review.

I would like to apologize for the poor wifi connection. The cable that was attached to the router had failed and required replacing. It has now been rectified. The wifi at the reception area was working fine during the temporary loss of service.

We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The hotel itself is staffed by some very helpful staff, being new to london the receptionist had no bother explaining where to go and any question I had she was very helpful. The room itself was really nice, the bed was very comfy, and there was plenty of room in the room itself. The only problem I had with the room throughout the stay was the sink had not hot water, (but thats just being picky) I would definitely stay in this hotel next time i stay in london, and although it isn't very central a quick walk/bus to the next tube station and you can be there within 15-20 minutes.

Room Tip: The breakfast itself I would say isn't worth paying the extra for, and being served 7-9:30, next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitchell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Manager at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Good Evening,

Thank you very much for leaving us a review. It means a lot to the team.

We are glad that you had a good time here and we hope to see you the next time you are in london!

Happy Christmas

Regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Caring Hotel
#547 of 1,076 in London
796 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Prince Regent Hotel Excel London
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#497 of 1,076 in London
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venture Hostels
#712 of 1,076 in London
139 reviews
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#328 of 1,076 in London
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruskin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruskin Hotel

Address: 386 High Street North | Manor Park, London E12 6PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #594 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £48 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruskin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in East Ham London, Ruskin Hotel has a 24-hour front desk, free Wi-Fi and free parking. It also has a bar, a restaurant, and a TV lounge for guests to enjoy. Each bedroom has an en suite shower room, city views, a desk and a minibar. Guests also get tea/coffee making facilities and air conditioning. Wired internet connection is available in every room and it is free of charge. Room Service is available everyday between 11:30am to 22:30. East Ham underground station is a 6-minute walk from the hotel, and it takes less than 45 minutes to get into central London which boasts Oxford Street, Hyde Park, the London Eye, Tower of London and St Paul’s Cathedral to name a few. Stratford Shopping is 2.5 miles from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ruskin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing