We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit”
Review of Ruskin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ruskin Hotel
Ranked #622 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel is really nice staff are exceptional nothing is too much trouble . Ideal spot for tube in to Central London .
excellent food ,beautiful rooms which are well maintained awesome staff couldn't of chose a better hotel ticked all boxes will definitely stay there again and would highly recommend it to all.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Manager at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Brilliant Review!

Thank you

15 months in and we're still going strong.

We hope to see you soon.

Regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

a friend and i stayed their for valentines weekend .the rooms are clean but tiny we had no phone in our room for the two nights no bath towels .the breakfast i would give 3 out of ten .its a twelve minute walk to the train not the place you want to walk around at night then another half a hour on the train to the city the hotel bar has no atmosphere but the staff are great and friendly .don't think i would stay again

Room Tip: ask if the got bath towels and a hairdryer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bronx98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Manager at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

I am disappointed that you did not make this clear during your stay. It is totally unacceptable from us and an extremely rare scenario. I would like to apologize on behalf of the housekeeping team.

The Pub has a live DJ on friday nights and I assure you, It definitely has atmosphere!!

We hope that you give us a second chance to correct your first impression.

Kind Regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

stayed at this hotel on one night 15.02.2014 was very spacious room , all facilities available . My husband is slightly disabled , we put request on the booking form for lower floor and we were put very close to the lift , nice big room. Wet room shower excellent breakfast , secure parking . 1st class reception. only downside was the Hotel is part of a pub so little noisy until late night .Close to tube and on main bus route to London.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Manager at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you for the lovely review.

We hope to see you soon!

Regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

A friend and I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and could not have asked for anything better.

The rooms were clean and spacious and such great value for money! The added extra was the hotel itself is located closely to the station which proved so convenient.

The hotel pub was great too, providing a vibrant atmosphere and more importantly, the staff were incredibly friendly and polite throughout our stay. The service provided was truly excellent.

Overall, the hotel is a winner by far and we will definately be returning the next time we are in London. We have adopted this as our second home. Thank you Ruskin hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PKanji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Manager at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Fantastic!!

Thank you

Regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Me and my friend stayed there for a week. We are two girls in our twenties traveling alone and on a budget, so the reasonable pricing of the Ruskin Hotel was perfect for us. Since we were going to use the metro system a lot we didn't really mind the distance from the center. The rooms are fairly large and very clean, the beds comfy and plenty of TV stations to watch. You can have your towels changed and your bed made every day by putting a sign on the door. The timing of the breakfast was not a problem for us since we were up early almost every morning to keep up with our schedule. The breakfast was good, a wide selection of breads, cereals, yogurts and such, the only issue I had was the lack of bacon, but seeing that it is a relatively cheap hotel I won't hold it against them. It was a little annoying that you had to get the wifi code from the front desk every day but seeing that there are plenty of people out there who would abuse the service if it wasn't like that I won't hold it against them either. It took a while for us to figure out the AC but we got there in the end after spending one night in a sauna and the next night freezing.

The only major issue I had with the hotel was the neighbourhood it was in. It is an "indian" neighbourhood which was not at all the problem, the problem was walking down the long street to the hotel at night from the metro station surrounded by nothing but men, and men in some cases who stared a lot. We were actually chased by two men on the other side of the street who kept hooting at us and making offensive comments. Although we walked to and form the metro station safely every day without any major problems we were more than once intimidated by the men we walked past. The stories we had heard about the East Ham crime rate didn't help either. The most annoying thing about the location was a idiot at the Metro station who was there almost every night and asked us if we needed our ticked! It's fine the first time but not every time! Come on!

So the button line is, being two young girls on their own we didn't feel particularly safe walking from the metro station at night but as soon as we were at the hotel we felt like home. The hotel itself was great, the service there was fine and everyone was smiling and nice, especially the staff at breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HjordisO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights while exhibiting at the excel centre. The transport links into london were ok with around a half and hour journey. We got the bus mainly as it was easier but East Ham station is also really close.

The hotel was amazing value for money given the normal quality expected at those prices! It was better than every Travelodge and Travel Inn we have ever stayed at.

The rooms were clean and had an enormous amount of plug sockets which was very useful. Shower was hot and powerful.

The attached pub was really nice and we ate here some nights because the food tasted lovely, and was really cheap. Aslo, you cant hear the pub from the room!! Think wetherspoons prices but nicer than wetherspoons food. They have a big screen and show the football or there is a pool table too. Breakfast was also really good, buffet style but 'full' englsih leaves a little to be desired.

We parked for free the entire time in the gated car park which was very handy.

The staff were also very helpful and gave us extra tea bags/towels/iron etc, Only downside was on entering reception and asking for a duplicate key, they didnt ask for any proof of ID so we could have asked for anyones room number and helped ourselves.

But overalll.. really a little gem in east london. I wouldnt stay here to visit central london unless you fancy the commute but for east london attractions its well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cate287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Room and bathroom were modern and really clean with a big comfy beds, big TV, kettle. Staff were friendly. Short walk to East Ham station (Hammersmith & City line). Slept better the second night after turning the air conditioning/heating unit off. No shampoo/conditioner provided, but wasn't desperate so didn't find out if they had any. Struggled with phone signal and the WiFi was a bit temperamental but this wasn't a major issue. I'd recommend the Ruskin to anyone who needs a cheap and convenient stay - really is fantastic value for money, we'd stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lizzie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Caring Hotel
#552 of 1,077 in London
801 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Prince Regent Hotel Excel London
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#498 of 1,077 in London
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venture Hostels
#711 of 1,077 in London
143 reviews
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#336 of 1,077 in London
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruskin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruskin Hotel

Address: 386 High Street North | Manor Park, London E12 6PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #622 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £46 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruskin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in East Ham London, Ruskin Hotel has a 24-hour front desk, free Wi-Fi and free parking. It also has a bar, a restaurant, and a TV lounge for guests to enjoy. Each bedroom has an en suite shower room, city views, a desk and a minibar. Guests also get tea/coffee making facilities and air conditioning. Wired internet connection is available in every room and it is free of charge. Room Service is available everyday between 11:30am to 22:30. East Ham underground station is a 6-minute walk from the hotel, and it takes less than 45 minutes to get into central London which boasts Oxford Street, Hyde Park, the London Eye, Tower of London and St Paul’s Cathedral to name a few. Stratford Shopping is 2.5 miles from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Ruskin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing