We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable value and great service”
Review of Ruskin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ruskin Hotel
Ranked #578 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Derby, England
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Unbelievable value and great service”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We paid just £51 for a nights b&b at the Ruskin. You would be hard pushed to find better for twice the price in London. Just 5 mins walk from East Ham tube station, you get a super comfy bed, spotless bathroom and a great pub on the ground floor selling food and Fullers beer. What's not to like? The reception staff were really helpful and friendly too. Only one small issue was the noise from the road outside even though we were on the third floor. The windows are not great but we were on the high street so noise was to be expected and it wdnt put us off staying again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bisho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    235
    93
    42
    33
See reviews for
103
184
44
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a 2 night stay in order to visit the theatre (Jersey Boys - great show) and do a little sightseeing. This hotel offered clean warm and comfortable accommodation at a fraction of the price for a similar standard in central London. The staff were friendly, polite and dealt with our request for extra pillows and for someone to fix a whining smoke alarm very promptly. Our room overlooked the car park and was very quiet. We ate one night in the Pub and enjoyed our meal, traditional pub dishes but well done and nicely served with several Vegetarian choices available. The breakfast buffet is more than adequate and was all included in our room rate. It took us around 10 minutes to walk to the tube station (maybe 15 with the suitcases) but we didn't find this a problem and were able to get to town quickly. We would happily stay here again and would recommend to anyone wanting a modern hotel offering genuine value for money.

Room Tip: we were on the third floor overlooking the car park, never heard a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 34nella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Upon arrival I was pleasantly surprised to find free parking inside a gated compound, and a clean modern interior. The pricing was extremely reasonable, and the quality of the service received was good. I stayed for 3 nights, and ate one night at the pub, the £10 3 course deal being more than I could handle. I specifically had the chicken goujons, beef burger and chips, finished with a chocolate fudge cake with Icecream. The surrounding area has a number of places to sample various other types of cuisine and its withing walking distance of the station (so easy access to central london). The rooms were clean spacious and the service was good (cleaned daily).

I had a pleasant stay and will be returning!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cringeslayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Manager at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Good Afternoon,

Thank you so much for leaving a lovely review.

We hope to ensure that all guests experience the same happiness.

See you soon!

Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We had such a lovely stay at this clean hotel with pleasant staff greeting us and meeting our every needs! It's in the heart of the East end which gives a friendly feel to the environment. Transport into London is very simple. P.s the pub next door is really fun to drink in and the food is good :-)

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mingy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Manager at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Fantastic Review!

Thank you for taking the time to spread the word.

We will continue to work hard to ensure that our high standards are maintained!

Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed here for two nights mid February 2014. Trish and Yoko made my sister and I feel very welcome. It felt as though we were among friends and their flexible approach meant that it was really home from home. There is a lovely dining room and lounge where we sat comfortably and chatted with our hosts. There is plenty of choice for breakfast and the cooked breakfast is prepared with care. The rooms are clean and have all that is necessary for a comfortable stay. The Ruskin is updating and while I was there a brand new TV arrived! Once the updating has been done it will be real treasure. There is an arrangement with the Majestic opposite so you can use the pool, jaccuzi and sauna there without any extra charge, which is a bonus. It is situated close to the Turkish Baths (which are well worth experiencing) and only a short walk from Betty's, Valley Gardens and the Centre of Town. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, with particular thanks to Trish and Yoko.












.

Room Tip: There is a fab room with a four poster bed if you can afford it! Choose a room furthest from the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 899Pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Manager at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
We hope that all guests experience a warm welcome!

Thank you

Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel is really nice staff are exceptional nothing is too much trouble . Ideal spot for tube in to Central London .
excellent food ,beautiful rooms which are well maintained awesome staff couldn't of chose a better hotel ticked all boxes will definitely stay there again and would highly recommend it to all.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Manager at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Brilliant Review!

Thank you

15 months in and we're still going strong.

We hope to see you soon.

Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

a friend and i stayed their for valentines weekend .the rooms are clean but tiny we had no phone in our room for the two nights no bath towels .the breakfast i would give 3 out of ten .its a twelve minute walk to the train not the place you want to walk around at night then another half a hour on the train to the city the hotel bar has no atmosphere but the staff are great and friendly .don't think i would stay again

Room Tip: ask if the got bath towels and a hairdryer
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bronx98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Manager at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

I am disappointed that you did not make this clear during your stay. It is totally unacceptable from us and an extremely rare scenario. I would like to apologize on behalf of the housekeeping team.

The Pub has a live DJ on friday nights and I assure you, It definitely has atmosphere!!

We hope that you give us a second chance to correct your first impression.

Kind Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#703 of 1,068 in London
136 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#467 of 1,068 in London
368 reviews
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#314 of 1,068 in London
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Pickwick Hall
Pickwick Hall
#572 of 1,068 in London
154 reviews
White Lodge Hotel
#388 of 1,068 in London
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruskin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruskin Hotel

Property: Ruskin Hotel
Address: 386 High Street North | Manor Park, London E12 6PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #578 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruskin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in East Ham London, Ruskin Hotel has a 24-hour front desk, free Wi-Fi and free parking. It also has a bar, a restaurant, and a TV lounge for guests to enjoy. Each bedroom has an en suite shower room, city views, a desk and a minibar. Guests also get tea/coffee making facilities and air conditioning. Wired internet connection is available in every room and it is free of charge. Room Service is available everyday between 11:30am to 22:30. East Ham underground station is a 6-minute walk from the hotel, and it takes less than 45 minutes to get into central London which boasts Oxford Street, Hyde Park, the London Eye, Tower of London and St Paul’s Cathedral to name a few. Stratford Shopping is 2.5 miles from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Ruskin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing