We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT the Ruskin Hotel in Bloomsbury!”
Review of Ruskin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ruskin Hotel
Ranked #577 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Temecula, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NOT the Ruskin Hotel in Bloomsbury!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Booked this hotel on accident thinking it was the Ruskin Hotel in Bloomsbury. Though we caught our mistake immediately, manager didn't want to refund our money and wanted to take advantage of an honest mistake. To make matters worse, the clerk at the desk couldn't reach him so we could talk to him in person. We would have to wait three days to speak to him!

This hotel is in East Ham and far from central London where we planned to tour. The neighborhood didn't seem safe for a small group of women, so we were concerned about walking from the train station (1/2 mile) in the dark.

The rooms had recently been refurbished but the bed platforms all had water stains on them. We soon found out why: The barrier-free bath allowed the shower water to stream into the room, soaking the carpet in under three minutes. In trying to stem the flow of water into the room, my friend slipped and cut (later found out also fractured) her nose on the nearby door. The clerk was unable to locate the manager, didn't offer to get medical help (despite copious amounts of blood), and still didn't offer to refund the room.

What kind of hotel has no policy in place for medical emergencies? We were so upset we packed and left--preferring to stay elsewhere at additional cost rather than here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Manager at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Good Evening,

I am truly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Ruskin Hotel. Thankfully this is an extremely rare case. However, it is still not acceptable in my eyes.

I have spoken to the members of staff that you dealt with during your stay.

I was aware initially that you required a refund but unfortunately there was not a valid reason at the time. I appreciate that you wanted to book the Ruskin B & B in Bloomsbury but unfortunately you took advantage of a non-refundable rate that enabled you to save 15% of the total stay. Thankfully Ruskin Hotel is ranked significantly above Ruskin B & B according to tripadvisor members.

With regards to the incident with the slip I will be honest and say that I have not heard your side of the story. My staff member did make me aware of an incident but unfortunately we are not allowed to call an ambulance unless it is a life threatening condition. First aid was all that we could provide at the time unless you wanted to take a taxi to the hospital/walk in centre.

Please send me an email detailing what happened to

james.pararajan@ruskinhotels.co.uk

All the rooms have the necessary safety certificates to ensure that they are safe for guests. Thankfully this is a freak and isolated incident but I am sure it does not make it any easier to deal with. I hope sincerely that your friend has made a full recovery and wish to hear from you soon.

Kind Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    235
    93
    42
    33
See reviews for
103
184
44
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed for 2 nights for £60 per night which in London terms is a great deal. The Ruskin isn’t a luxury hotel but no one booking it believes that is what you can get for £60 a night. However, it does what it needs to do well and for that it is a good choice.

The reception area is attractive and the receptionist alert to your needs. The breakfast is substantial and being in the price is very good.

The area it is in is a depressed but commercially busy. The number of restaurants and food outlets nearby is awesome. The tube is only a short 10 minute stroll away which is fine going into London but seems a great deal further on the return. London is 30 minutes away which you get used to. The East Ham tube station isn’t busy and the tube trains regular.

Just a couple of issues for the management (none relate to the price). The car park is small (10 spaces) and could do with a good clean out. It is not a particularly inviting way to arrive at the hotel. The short walk to the hotel goes by waste bins (should be enclosed) and a rubble strewn short path that would look so much better with a little care.

The room itself was smallish but pleasant enough. The bathroom is modern and small, so you had to be careful when bending down! Nevertheless, it was very clean (except for the silicone in the shower that was mouldy – yuk – sort it out.

All in all a good place to stay on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stewbob17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Manager at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for the honest review.

We hope to see you soon.

Regards

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We had two twin rooms for one night and were very pleasantly surprised by the lovely hotel. Don't be put off by the area of Newham, the hotel which is joint with the Ruskin Arms was modern and clean. The twin rooms have tea/coffee facilities, ensuite bathroom with shower, and Freeview TV. The beds were clean and very comfortable. Included in the price was breakfast which was served in the pub which had breakfast TV showing. Breakfast was cereals, scrambled egg, sausage, baked beans, bread (toast) croissants, pan of chocolate, fresh fruit, yogurts, as well as continental meats, cheese and salad; all very good! Our car was parked in the secure, gated car park at the side of the hotel which was a relief to get if off the streets. The receptionist recommended that we take the National Rail from Manor Park (10 min walk up the road) to Liverpool street to join the underground network as it was quicker to the City centre. All in all great value for money stay in a lovely modern hotel in London. Would definitely stay there again if we were visiting that side of London.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor. Had noisy neighbours (children running up and down the corridor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnson05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed there for five days. Clean, comfortable and modern rooms, very, very, very friendly staff, breakfast buffet was good quality, 10 min. walk to East ham tube station. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Ruskin is a great option for someone who visits London for the very first time, when you have to look for a safe hotel in a good area, close to some means of transportation, not very far and always bearing in mind cost! London is famous for so many attractions but also for being one of the most expensive cities. Ruskin is not following this 'policy' and when you arrive you soon smile with your option to choose it, as its great value for money. Rooms are very good and spacious, breakfast was very good also. Hotel staff was very helpful and professional. The pub at the ground floor is a good choice to spent some time for a pint of British beer!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank docklas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gawa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed one night mid week at the Ruskin and was impressed it is newly refurbished so no surprise that it was very clean,the staff were very friendly,breakfast buffet was good quality and the room was a lot larger than expected. I was on the third floor but this was accessed by a lift,the hotel was slightly out of the way for me but this would not stop me returning

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank healyGawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

I'm a New York City tour guide on vacation in London. I love the Ruskin. I booked three nights at Booking.com for £51 per night. Yeah. £51 for London. The hotel is modern and clean. The rooms are small but you didn't come to London to hang out in a hotel room. The bed and bedding is comfortable. The bathroom is modern (no tub just shower) but beware the hot water...it is very hot. There is room service from the Ruskin Arms, a pub downstairs. The hotel front desk gives you a coupon for a free drink if you purchase a main meal. The hamburger was well done. I forgot that since mad cow you can't get a medium rare burger or steak in England. The salads and hummus are great. Breakfast buffet is included in the price of the stay and also served in the pub. There is free wifi in the hotel lobby and in the rooms but fades a bit in the pub. I had many questions for Tanya at the front desk. Tanya was very professional and kind. She answered everything accurately with a smile. Tanya was happy to plug in my depleted I-Pad, suggest a currency exchange, and store my luggage. Tanya made me feel very welcome in London. So why is the Ruskin so cheap? Location. It is located in a East Ham, Newham. This is an immigrant neighborhood with many Indian and Tamil businesses. This actually makes a stay at the Ruskin interesting because you've escaped the banality of a business district. However, it is twenty minutes on the District Line (green) from Central London (Tower Hill Station). It is forty minutes from Westminster Station. Once you get off at East Ham you must head north on North Market Street for a five to ten minute walk depending on the weight of your luggage. It's about a kilometer. If you have your Oyster Card just walk across the street from the station and the 101 or 104 bus which come frequently will take you to Ruskin Avenue (the stop is announced) and the Ruskin Hotel is across the street. The Hammersmith and City Line also comes to East Ham from St Pancras Station for all of you Eurostarring in from Paris. London City Airport is also accessible from the hotel (about thirty minutes) using the District or Hammersmith and City lines to West Ham and then DLR to London City Airport. For Americans the London City Airport is an extremely small but convenient airport that has BA service from New York City plus connections to most of Western Europe. I found staying at the Ruskin not just affordable but staying in East Ham allowed me to see a real neighborhood of working Londoners. It was also convenient for explorations of the Thames Barrier, Canary Wharf, Stratford (Westfield Mall by the ArcelorMittal Orbit), Emirates Cable Cars, and Greenwich. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
9 Thank JamesNYC212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#703 of 1,069 in London
137 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#465 of 1,069 in London
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
White Lodge Hotel
#406 of 1,069 in London
209 reviews
Viking Hotel
#820 of 1,069 in London
656 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruskin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruskin Hotel

Property: Ruskin Hotel
Address: 386 High Street North | Manor Park, London E12 6PH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #577 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ruskin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in East Ham London, Ruskin Hotel has a 24-hour front desk, free Wi-Fi and free parking. It also has a bar, a restaurant, and a TV lounge for guests to enjoy. Each bedroom has an en suite shower room, city views, a desk and a minibar. Guests also get tea/coffee making facilities and air conditioning. Wired internet connection is available in every room and it is free of charge. Room Service is available everyday between 11:30am to 22:30. East Ham underground station is a 6-minute walk from the hotel, and it takes less than 45 minutes to get into central London which boasts Oxford Street, Hyde Park, the London Eye, Tower of London and St Paul’s Cathedral to name a few. Stratford Shopping is 2.5 miles from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ruskin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing