We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ruskin Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$343
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$329
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$274
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Tower(London)(Great Value!)
US$259
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (610)
Filter reviews
610 results
Traveller rating
165
246
109
47
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
246
109
47
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseast ham stationtube stationsecure parkingpub downstairsdistrict linehigh streetbeansrooms are cleanbooked this hotelten minute walkdecent hotelbreakfast is servedgood sizerecommend this hotel to anyoneyogurtnice breakfastnice stay
Filter
Updating list...
257 - 262 of 610 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel is amazing. Breakfeast was pretty good and staff really helpfull. We were travelling in a family and got a 4 people bedroom. It was huge. The only bad point is that the location is far from the city center.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murilo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Manager at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Brilliant review.


Thank you for spreading the word.

Regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Booked this hotel on accident thinking it was the Ruskin Hotel in Bloomsbury. Though we caught our mistake immediately, manager didn't want to refund our money and wanted to take advantage of an honest mistake. To make matters worse, the clerk at the desk couldn't reach him so we could talk to him in person. We would have to wait three days to speak to him!

This hotel is in East Ham and far from central London where we planned to tour. The neighborhood didn't seem safe for a small group of women, so we were concerned about walking from the train station (1/2 mile) in the dark.

The rooms had recently been refurbished but the bed platforms all had water stains on them. We soon found out why: The barrier-free bath allowed the shower water to stream into the room, soaking the carpet in under three minutes. In trying to stem the flow of water into the room, my friend slipped and cut (later found out also fractured) her nose on the nearby door. The clerk was unable to locate the manager, didn't offer to get medical help (despite copious amounts of blood), and still didn't offer to refund the room.

What kind of hotel has no policy in place for medical emergencies? We were so upset we packed and left--preferring to stay elsewhere at additional cost rather than here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Manager at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Good Evening,

I am truly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Ruskin Hotel. Thankfully this is an extremely rare case. However, it is still not acceptable in my eyes.

I have spoken to the members of staff that you dealt with during your stay.

I was aware initially that you required a refund but unfortunately there was not a valid reason at the time. I appreciate that you wanted to book the Ruskin B & B in Bloomsbury but unfortunately you took advantage of a non-refundable rate that enabled you to save 15% of the total stay. Thankfully Ruskin Hotel is ranked significantly above Ruskin B & B according to tripadvisor members.

With regards to the incident with the slip I will be honest and say that I have not heard your side of the story. My staff member did make me aware of an incident but unfortunately we are not allowed to call an ambulance unless it is a life threatening condition. First aid was all that we could provide at the time unless you wanted to take a taxi to the hospital/walk in centre.

Please send me an email detailing what happened to

james.pararajan@ruskinhotels.co.uk

All the rooms have the necessary safety certificates to ensure that they are safe for guests. Thankfully this is a freak and isolated incident but I am sure it does not make it any easier to deal with. I hope sincerely that your friend has made a full recovery and wish to hear from you soon.

Kind Regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed for 2 nights for £60 per night which in London terms is a great deal. The Ruskin isn’t a luxury hotel but no one booking it believes that is what you can get for £60 a night. However, it does what it needs to do well and for that it is a good choice.

The reception area is attractive and the receptionist alert to your needs. The breakfast is substantial and being in the price is very good.

The area it is in is a depressed but commercially busy. The number of restaurants and food outlets nearby is awesome. The tube is only a short 10 minute stroll away which is fine going into London but seems a great deal further on the return. London is 30 minutes away which you get used to. The East Ham tube station isn’t busy and the tube trains regular.

Just a couple of issues for the management (none relate to the price). The car park is small (10 spaces) and could do with a good clean out. It is not a particularly inviting way to arrive at the hotel. The short walk to the hotel goes by waste bins (should be enclosed) and a rubble strewn short path that would look so much better with a little care.

The room itself was smallish but pleasant enough. The bathroom is modern and small, so you had to be careful when bending down! Nevertheless, it was very clean (except for the silicone in the shower that was mouldy – yuk – sort it out.

All in all a good place to stay on a budget.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stewbob17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P, Manager at Ruskin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thank you for the honest review.

We hope to see you soon.

Regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We had two twin rooms for one night and were very pleasantly surprised by the lovely hotel. Don't be put off by the area of Newham, the hotel which is joint with the Ruskin Arms was modern and clean. The twin rooms have tea/coffee facilities, ensuite bathroom with shower, and Freeview TV. The beds were clean and very comfortable. Included in the price was breakfast which was served in the pub which had breakfast TV showing. Breakfast was cereals, scrambled egg, sausage, baked beans, bread (toast) croissants, pan of chocolate, fresh fruit, yogurts, as well as continental meats, cheese and salad; all very good! Our car was parked in the secure, gated car park at the side of the hotel which was a relief to get if off the streets. The receptionist recommended that we take the National Rail from Manor Park (10 min walk up the road) to Liverpool street to join the underground network as it was quicker to the City centre. All in all great value for money stay in a lovely modern hotel in London. Would definitely stay there again if we were visiting that side of London.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor. Had noisy neighbours (children running up and down the corridor and banging doors until 10.00pm) but I have to say that once they were in their room, we didn't hear them; sound proofing must be good!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnson05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed there for five days. Clean, comfortable and modern rooms, very, very, very friendly staff, breakfast buffet was good quality, 10 min. walk to East ham tube station. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews