We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Less than average” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banca

Banca
Ranked #14,244 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Mayfair
wokingham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Less than average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

This is fine if you're on business expenses but to spend your own hard earnt cash here is a mistake if you take value for money seriously. Service- poor.. we had to ask for the wine list after being seated for 10 minutes..food.. the minstrone soup - this was simply diced vegetables in water with a little stock - tasteless and unattractive (and had to ask for parmesan cheese). Main courses ok but very small portions.. again, had to ask for parmesan cheese for the pasta..final insult was that the staff were so unattentive that we had to get our own coats when we left. Overall a very expensive restaurant offering mediocre food and service which is relying on its decor and location in london to carry itself off. There are far better restaurants than this for the money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Symro01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    12
    3
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“baddddddddddddd”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Simply do no go there. Went there last friday and still asking a question to my self how people open Restaurants and have no idea what thye serve and what they offer to the ppl.
The worst ever experience in London Restaurant.Im sorry to say but that place has no long life.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best restaurant experience we have ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

It was really pure luck that we went to Banca, we were walking down North Audley Street to Prezzos and we saw this lovely looking restaurant and we all commented on how nice it looked inside. We actually had a restaurant reservation booked for the following evening but we cancelled it and booked to go to Banca as it had just really caught our eye. It was a fantastic experience from start to finish, the service was superb and the food was just fantastic. The menu has a wide choice and all the starters can be served as either a small dish or a large dish as a main. The staff were all very friendly, they do not crowd you but they also don't ignore you, it is just the right amount of service. After we had finished our meal, a member of the management team came to ask us if everything had been ok and he offered to show us the private dining room that is located downstairs, this was really interesting as the restaurant used to be a bank and a lot of the old features are still there such as the old safes, this was a really nice touch. We will definitely return here next time we visit London.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anon2453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great meal and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Went for dinner following the London Marathon. Found the service excellent and food preparation superb. We all enjoyed the evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Lazio, Italy
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DO NOT GO THERE/ NON ANDATE FANNO I FURBI”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

I HAVE NEVER write on this website but i really have to share what happened in this restaurant with you all.
The service and the food is very good but THEY CHARGED ON THE BILL higher prices: SWITCHING PRICES WITH SIMILAR NUMBERS(LIKE 98 instead of what stated in the menu that was 86)= really an horrible way of dealing with consumers.
WHEN YOU THINK YOU ARE SMARTER THAN OTHER PEOPLE and you try to take advantage from them YOU NEED TO PAY.
DON'T GO THERE. i really don't have any gain in telling you a lie so don't go there: there are a lot of better italian restaurants in london.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Luciana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Banca also viewed

 

Been to Banca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing