We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Stay Club
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
A To Z Hotel(London)
View Hotel
Igar Hotel(London)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
77
68
64
18
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
68
64
18
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswillesden junctionwet roomstudent accommodationlarge fridge freezermin walk from the tube stationwashing up liquidprivate bathroomcentral londoninternet connectionany queriesclose to public transportbudget staycamden marketa nice place to stayshower headrooms are smallenjoyed my stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

I had a review up prior but since I was harassed & lied on by management after my review I decided to better reflect the company via review. This is not a place deserving of your hard earned cash. Can't take constructive criticism in stride without negativity. Here's to trying to extort a positive review out of me:

-The hotel was dusty before I even stepped foot in. I stepped in and quickly stepped out and told the female at the counter about the bugs and dust.

-They had construction going on and didn't even make guests aware. Only by a letter posted days after I was there although it was going on before I came.

-The basement floor smelled. Plus the basement floor was loud with people slamming their doors and yelling.

-The set up of the faucet in the bathroom was too low

-The room was extremely dusty & dirty

-Freezing in the basement rooms

-The fridge smelt like death

-I was charged $15 extra although they told me it would be .40 pence

-Wifi was out on the first day

-Bugs galore, dead and alive

-The shower I hated but I knew what it was going into it but it was the sole reason why I had bugs (gnats?)

-There needs to be a window to properly ventilate the bathroom

-I spoke to management about my issues (cold and bugs) and he reassured that everything would be taken care of but it wasn't

-Also I thought that the rooms were cleaned every 7 days. In the middle of my trip my room was cleaned. Does that mean that I slept on dirty sheets for the first half of my stay?

- The only ray of light was the fact that I had free wifi the whole trip. Thank you Goran and staff (:

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Mimi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuzi M, Manager at The Stay Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Hi

Thank you for your review.Good bye now. We sincerely hope never to see you again.

xxxx xxx

The Stay Club Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Have stayed for a couple of weeks at the Willesden Stay Club. The accommodation is basic, but functional with a proper fridge freezer, microwave and kettle. The beds are oversized bunk beds. Some of the rooms are very compact and would be difficult for couples. Service has been very good, but the rooms are only serviced once a week. The en-suite is a interesting arrangement and is best described as a wet room. Good cheap accommodation but it's not an hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scruffboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuzi M, Manager at The Stay Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

HI and thank you for your balanced and helpful review.
A real breath of fresh air after some ''reviews'' posted by various deranged individuals
Indeed, this is not a hotel , but student residence where value for money is paramout in order to enable young people from all around the world to experience cool atmosphere of London.
Thank you for your business and do not hesitate to contact us again if you are coming over to London.

The Stay Club Willesden Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The rooms are tiny. The bathroom is miniscule at first just a toilet but a shower and tiny unusable sink are here too. The hotel corridors are like ovens. The worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Like being in prison. Awful, really dreadful and costs more than double what it is worth.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank UKStevieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuzi M, Manager at The Stay Club, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Good thing our 20000 guests since August last year would not agree with you and your review!
We were not impressed by you either. Not the worst guest ever, but almost there.
Keep up your good work if it makes you happy. We do not really care what did you think about us..
Misplaced hostility syndrome is not our area of expertise.
Good bye>>>

Goran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Travelled to London with my mum for a girly break for her 60th birthday, initially chose the hotel as it was listed on another site has being suitable for disabled people and it was surprisingly cheap for a London hotel then read some of the reviews and did panic a little bit as I wasn't sure that it was really suitable.

We arrived at about 10pm on the 20/5 the lady on reception rushed straight to the door to help us through (and remained attentive throughout our stay) and booking in was smooth. When we arrived there were a few people in both the outside smoking area and the communal area, however they showed respect to other guests and kept noise to a minimum.

We went down to our room which was in the basement and unpacked our belongings - the room had a three door mirrored wardrobe; two with small rails and one shelved and there was plenty of room. The kitchenette comprises of three floor cabinets, three wall cabinets, a kettle, twin ceramic hob, a microwave, a sink and ample plates, pans etc. The bunk beds were very spacious larger than single but not quite a double, I slept like a baby every night was lovely and warm and bed was extremely comfortable, there was a collection of books on the shelf besides the bottom bunk and a plug socket and small shelf (large enough for charging your mobile or plugging in an alram clock) on the top bunk. In addition there was a large desk/dressing table and shelves I was even able to put up my mums birthday cards. The bathroom is NOT as bad as many reviewers have made it sound, yes it is small and yes the flooring does consist of 3 or 4 slatted slabs however it is totally suitable for its purpose the shower head is not above anything as some of the reviews suggest neither myself nor my mum are skinny women and we both managed to use it quite successfully, the flooring was fine we just left the door open a crack to aid ventilation and it dried fairly quickly. We stayed here for two nights and didn't see a single bug believe me had we done the entire building would have known and so would tripadvisor.

The hotel is currently undergoing some improvements to the corridors but again noise was kept to a minimal and I'd much rather see an hotel that was undergoing improvements quietly than an hotel that used guests as an excuse to not do work that is required.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuzi M, Manager at The Stay Club, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Hello and thank you for the review.
We are glad to hear that you and your mum had a great time with us.
We hope to see you again at The Stay Club Willesden.

Willesden team : Izzy , Nick, Fernando, Mantas, Marco , Laurence, Arthur, Lisa, 2 Natashas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The main issue we had at The Stay Club was before we had even arrived. Me and my friend booked the hotel to see an event at Wembley Arena as it looked very modern and was good value. It was lucky my friend regularly checked our emails as we received an email informing us (not asking!) that we had been upgraded to the Camden Stay Club instead a couple of weeks before our stay. Obviously this would have been completely out of our way as we had booked the travel to go to Willesden and we weren't (as they had assumed) just going to be walking round London centre. We ran up and after many "are you sure you don't want the upgrade? So you want us to rebook you in at the Willesden?" questions we managed to get another room.
The hotel is very secure with a large gated entry and card scanners at every entrance door. The reception staff were also very helpful and friendly and the entrance was clean and had a pool table, TVs etc. I think maybe a small snack bar is needed downstairs, but it is partly student accommodation so you can't expect top notch hotel facilities.
The rooms were slightly small but had pots and pans provided, a sink, hob, microwave a large fridge freezer. All the cupboards have mirrors and have lots of room for clothes etc. and there is a small desk/chair. The security of the door is slightly worrying as we thought it was locked however someone walked in, apologized and left within about half an hour of us being there!
We never dared use the sink in the bathroom as it is more of a wet room with the shower head in the cieling above the sink. There were very confusing instructions above the sink with an arrow saying that one way activated the sink tap and the other the shower! We didn't fancy getting soaked trying that out so we settled on using the kitchen sink. Also the strange stone slabs on the floor of the bathroom were wobbly and you couldn't get to the toilet without feeling like you were walking through a bomb mine trying to hop from slab to slab to make sure they balanced properly and didn't trip you up.
The bunk beds were very spacious and had a book shelf with an interesting array of books on the bottom bunk. Also there were plug sockets and light switches next to the top bunk which was handy. The beds are a little hard but comfy. The only problem with the beds is that I woke up in the night with the feeling of something crawling on me. In the morning, I had a few bed bug bites on my wrist, which is the main reason for the three star rating. I've stayed in many hotels and have never had bed bugs.
Also getting up from the bottom bunk, you have to be careful as the bunk protrudes a bit more than you think and I banged my head (but I suppose that's me being clumsy, can't really blame the hotel for that!)
The ladder to get onto the top bunk was an extending ladder that came out from a drawer in the bed and was a bit of a death trap as one person had to hold it down to prevent it from swinging around whilst climbing it as it didn't reach the floor.
Neither of us slept as even with the window shut we could hear loud conversations and dogs barking all night and morning. The were a lot of people knocking on doors and shouting through the night as the door didn't hold the noise very well.
The location was good as there were a few 24 hour mini supermarkets/banks down the road and a bus that took you into the centre of London.
All in all, I'm not sure we'll stop at The Stay Club again, but there are many other places in London worse than this to stay.
(P.S., I'm fully expecting a sarcastic and unprofessional reply from the manager either saying that I'm making this up or I'm from a rival hotel)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Hannah182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuzi M, Manager at The Stay Club, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Hi and thank you for finding time to write a long review.
Its not often that we see someone who reads all other reviews first and draws inspiration for writing a new one. But hey, it takes every kind of people...
We hope to see you again in Willesden or Camden.

We have asked TA to take off your litlle jab at the management - it's irrelevant , just like some of the reviews posted :)


regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews