We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Menier Chocolate Factory
Ranked #331 of 1,633 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

What a wonderful space this theatre is. The production of Candide was superb. Cast all had beautiful singing voices as well as being super actors. One of the best nights out at the theatre I've had.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 692Pacman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    48
    8
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“outstanding”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Have just returned from a birthday weekend in London and just wanted to say that the highlight had to be the Menier's current production of Candide. What a wonderful up close and personal theatre experience and the cast and band were superb. Everybody was full of energy, humour and outstanding performances. For theatre lovers this venue is a real find.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank kevin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic Little Theatre”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We saw a matinee production of 'Candide' last weekend. What a show! The cast were so full of energy you had to wonder if they would have any in reserve for the evening. Not to worry, I'm sure they did.
We've been to the Menier several times and have always had a great time. Because it's so small, it has a very intimate feeling to it. In this production, several members of the audience were 'pressed into service' so to speak and became part of the show. The Menier's proximity to public transport links makes it very easy to get to and Borough Market and the attendant pubs and restaurants make for a very enjoyable afternoon or evening.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnG2144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A great all rounder”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Six of us went to the Menier, for a review performance of Candide. Ate in the restaurant first, very convenient and have reviewed it separately. We have been coming here for many years, but it was our friends first visit and they absolutely loved the intimate nature of the theatre.
This production in the round, is a very good way to experience the place to it's full potential. We come to most of the shows here, generally preferring it to the West End theatres, but true to say that not all shows hit the mark- this however is excellent and a very good production.
My only issue with the Menier, is that as a summer venue (admittedly many months away), it get's uncomfortably hot.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
686 reviews
290 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Intimate Theatre but Average show”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We went along to see "The Lyons" based on an excellent, if not outstanding, review in the papers. The show is in the "Menier Chocolate Factory" in Southwark, and a short walk from London Bridge on the south side of the Thames, away from the West End. We usually go up to London by train but this time, because the show didn't start until 8 pm, we drove. We were able to park in Union Street behind the theatre, but there weren't many places available, so leave plenty of time to find a space if you go by car.
The Menier theatre is small and intimate, and reminded me a little of the Young Vic, which is not that far away, but it is pretty bare. Seating is on benches - padded and with numbered positions, so there is no problem finding your seat. We had booked the end of the row for access and a quick exit at the end but, a word of warning, access is by a central aisle, so if you are at the ends, you are actually more enclosed than if you were in the centre - the opposite of most theatres.
We didn't think the play matched up to the review, but it was a thoroughly enjoyable show. It's full of black humour, which we usually really enjoy, but somehow, this didn't quite meet our expectations.
Having said that, we did enjoy the show and were glad we went.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rvwr2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Menier Chocolate Factory also viewed

 

Been to Menier Chocolate Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing