We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for families! Way too pricey...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Pain Quotidien

Le Pain Quotidien
Ranked #1,990 of 22,217 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: South Kensington
Description: Whether you are on the go or have time to linger, Le Pain Quotidien is the perfect place to catch a break from the city life. The homey interior matches our organic farm food roots; a splendid display of everything from tarts to tartines can be found here at any time of day. And there's always enough fresh bread to go around!
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not for families! Way too pricey...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Came here with husband and child prior to a day out at the museums, after a decent lunch to see us through.

Our meals were £9 for prosciutto on toast, £9 for a frittata and £12 for a chicken pot pie (the only thing on the menu my daughter was prepared to try - she is by no means fussy), so £30 in all. The drinks were £3.80 for an orange juice and £2 for mineral water so we thought we'd stick with tap water. The portions were tasty but so so small. The menu was not at all child friendly and the noise levels were outrageous.

After asking for the bill not once, not twice, but three times. We'd definitely had enough.

I would say it's more for people without kids, with money to spare.

Helpful?
Thank Localgirl1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    188
    85
    20
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
572 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Lovely ambience, friendly helpful staff and pleasant food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Really busy at the time we called in but didnt have to wait long to be seated. One of my companions is disabled and staff were excellent in finding us an appropriately accessible table. Despite being busy, our order was brought along very quickly. We only had hot drinks and a quiche type thing, but it was all very good. Not overly pricey and a nice place to while away an hour. Great cafe culture area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Rip - off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We visited this branch of the chain prior to a visit to the Royal Albert Hall. I shall never set foot in one of these places again. The bill came to £32ish, for a small beer, a small glass of wine, two open sandwiches and a discretionary 12.5% service charge. As a London resident, I have always defended the prices charged in the city as what you might expect - this just reminded me of the worst examples quoted in the past. This snack was nothing more than a rip - off of the highest order.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

We visit our local branch in Wimbledon Village on a regular basis, Great food and good for the kids also.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank thehamiwhits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nonexistent service, so I can't review the food I never got”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stopped in here in the morning on the way to the museums. The place was crowded and stiflingly hot inside, so I asked the waitress if I could buy food at the counter and eat it outside at the tables, or if the tables had table service. She didn't understand me, and I ended up having to rephrase this question 3 times until she finally told me to go sit outside for table service.

So, I did. After a relatively long while, she came out, helped the man across from me who'd already been served his meal, and walked within inches of me to go back inside. She made no eye contact, and said nothing. Not, "I'll be with you in a minute," nothing.

So, not wanting to wait around interminably to see if I could ever get some unfriendly service, I went directly across the street to Fernandez and Wells and had a wonderful breakfast served by two servers who were friendly, talkative, and happy to help a customer. The genial conversation I had with one of them is still a great memory from my trip. The sandwich I had there was to die for and I'm rather glad I was ignored at LPQ in retrospect.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FeetsMcGinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Pain Quotidien also viewed

 

Been to Le Pain Quotidien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing