We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chinese? Still looking! ” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peking-Seoul Restaurant

Peking-Seoul Restaurant
Ranked #16,372 of 22,225 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Asian, Korean, Chinese
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Chinese? Still looking! ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Having visited China so many times, I have come to realize that Chinese foods as much as the geography varies. Food from the coastal areas is so different from that from central China. North, South, West all have different kinds of food on there menu. One thing however I found out after travelling to various parts of the country is the exotic nature of the various menus. Standard course meals is not like the typical starters, main meal and afters. You could have courses up to thirty at times. So it is a tall order trying to get a real Chinese meal outside China. Most so called meals are so internationalized that it's lost it's through real Chinese nature. So going to this Chinese restaurant on Praed street I did not really expect much and I did not get much. I ordered for fish and all they had was fish with bread crumbs as if that was Chinese. The crab and corn soup was as if they got it from Sainsbury. Service was slow and price was seriously a bit too steep and not really worth it. Surprisingly this restaurant which is about hundred meters from Paddington Station was filled to the brim. I wouldn't go back here for a Chinese meal.

Helpful?
Thank Godsent007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    16
    28
    13
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not the best and expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Visited this restaurant with colleagues on a where should we eat tonight basis?
Basically wished we had used TA before we went not when we had just ordered!

It was ok, but for £28 per head for the set menu you would expect more. The portions were small and cold which reflected our welcome from the staff which was equally cool and left the impression that they had better things to do with their time.

In summary there appears to be better options close by.

Helpful?
1 Thank Todhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
95 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“small portions and expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Well, not much to say, if you are in a hurry, ok it's quick. But don't expect to eat enough (considering the high prices), to be well received (the waitresses are not the nicest) or to even enjoy a nice perfumed dish. Nothing of that i'm afraid.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oneoone042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Average, but convenient for Paddington Station”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Needed lunch before a train from Paddington so tried the Peking Seoul, 200m down the road, corner of Praed St. Glass-topped tables looked clean. Few other customers. On the wall an interesting map of Korea done entirely with small (?Chinese) characters. We love Chinese food but decided we'd try one set Korean meal as well.
Hot & sour soup is my standard test for a Chinese & this was fine, served with some prawn crackers which were a bit soft. As it was 12.00 I suspect they were from the previous evening. We didn't like the Korean 'soup of the day' - watery, few floating greens & tiny tofu cubes, no real taste. We couldn't hear or understand the name of the dish.
Before we'd finished the soup the mains were delivered, so the small table was very full. Again the Chinese dish was OK - tender chicken with mixed vegetables (baby corn, water chestnut, bamboo shoot) & a pile of egg fried rice, all on one dish, no bowl (or chopsticks). Partner tried Bibimap, a traditional Korean dish, illustrated in the menu. It didn't look like the picture, it was very 'brown', no red ingredient (carrot or pepper in the illustration), but rice, mushroom, beansprouts and greyish meat with a fried egg on top, in a heated pot. It was served with a tiny dish of Kimchee (fermented chinese leaves with chilli, hot) & a tiny dish with a few cold beansprouts.
It was standard lunchtime stuff, aimed at getting the clientele in & out quickly, not to encourage people to come back for a more leisurely meal in the evening. We weren't offered chopsticks.

Good points - relatively cheap (£7.50 each for the lunch set meal). For us the Chinese was tastier than the Korean, which may be an acquired taste - we would have appreciated some explanation of the dishes (as the restaurant was empty).
Bad points; Timing - we felt hurried to finish the soup as the main was cooling on the table. Would prefer a bowl to eat the main, with chopsticks. (I think the dinner plate with spoon & fork indicates the target customer)
They could aim higher, especially if they want repeat business in the evening.
Toilet could be cleaner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cornish_traveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't go!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Went in followed the sign wanting some Korean food, strangely, all three staff had straight face and we had to get our plates ourselves. The food was generally ok but one particularly bad and definitely overcharged! Paid the bill at counter because nobody came to serve, but 10 percent service charge still applied! As a Chinese, having been to loads Chinese restaurants, I have to say this is the worst one and will never ever go back again!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leighz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peking-Seoul Restaurant also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Peking-Seoul Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing