We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but came for breakfast - was served at lunch time”
Review of Le Pain Quotidien

Le Pain Quotidien
Ranked #4,798 of 22,564 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Cafe, European, French, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Mayfair
Description: Whether you are on the go or have time to linger, Le Pain Quotidien is the perfect place to catch a break from the city life. The homey interior matches our organic farm food roots; a splendid display of everything from tarts to tartines can be found here at any time of day. And there's always enough fresh bread to go around!
Mauritius
Level Contributor
231 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good food but came for breakfast - was served at lunch time”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Great place, very comfortable casual seating and atmosphere, easy to walk in and grab a cup of tea. The food is very fresh and organic and tastes wonderful. Scrambled egg with smoke salmon was superb and I finished with a cheese cake that was very yum washed down with fresh mint tea.

The only down side for me was waiting 45 minutes for the scrambled egg and chasing the staff to go find out what was happening!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SforSani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    39
    9
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Accra
Level Contributor
154 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Fantastic, tasty, fresh, organic”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

I stumbled upon this place looking for decent bfast and as the name suggested it was French cuisine, I had no doubts it would be good. And it is REALLY good. I am not the best judge on the pricing ad food is important to me, so If you are similar, then you should come here. I had egg salad with smoked salmon on the most amazing fresh sourdough bread, green freshly squeezed juice and good quality green tea. I am a happy camper today, my day started great.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank sister-karamazov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Worst experience ever had in a restaurant”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I went to this restaurant with my future mother-in-law. We both ordered smoked salmon, bread and drinks. My future mother-in-law discovered a fingernail in the most unpleasant way possible, by finding something crunchy in her mouth (needless to say it wasn't one of her own and presumably belonged to one of the kitchen staff). It was a very horrible experience for her. When we showed a waiter what she had found the staff were slow to respond and eventually one of the waitresses came along and apologised and said they wouldn't charge for the meal (as if we would have paid, they are lucky we didn't want to sue them!) and then asked if we wanted anything else instead (as if we would of eaten or drank anything else from that establishment!).

This place clearly needs some visits from health inspectors! How someone in the kitchen can break off part of their nail while preparing food and not notice I don't understand (kitchen staff should not have that long nails anyway). It additionally even had some red nail polish on it and clearly anyone preparing food for another should not have nail polish on.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1IMW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We were looking for a quick meal and decided to give Le Pain a try. It was a great meal - we had a couple of soups and salads - organic vegetarian lentil soup and half a grilled veggie sandwich; very generous servings, qualify food, decent price for the location. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanDeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Excelent breakfast (organic muesli and amazing yogurth) and the spelt bread was one of the best I have ever tasted!
We can have some hot dishes, salads and tartines (check the tuna with humus).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Pain Quotidien also viewed

 

Been to Le Pain Quotidien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing